We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Thurles
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Coffee”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

As a regular visitor to the Horse and Jockey I am a bit confused by the review Irelandbobo posted about the cappuccino at the Hotel.
The coffee has always been of great quality. In fact Horse and Jockey is a favourite for business people hold meetings due to its location and fantastic range of homemade pastries/ cakes and great coffee.
Will continue to stop here.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chinch40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    191
    71
    50
    27
See reviews for
152
205
22
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a lovely meal here recently. It was perfect for what we were looking for. Great food and friendly service from our waitress Becka!! Pretty gift shop there too. We will definitely call in again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom054, Owner at The Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank You for your kind review, it is indeed gratifying when people appreciate the effort the staff make during our busy period.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Myself and my girlfriend booked a last minute night away last weekend. Really enjoyed the hotel. The room was massive with two king doubles and we'd a free standing bath in the bathroom. Beautiful dinner and a few beers. With change from €200 all in including dinner you can't ask more from a 4 star hotel. Perfect for what we were looking for.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Ryano114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom054, Owner at The Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Horse and Jockey and thank you for going to the trouble to write a review which I have passed on to the staff.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The Horse & Jockey is a well known "stop off" for travellers coming from the South of Ireland to Dublin/elsewhere. We used it for a coffee break - but stopped because the coffee is just awful - a cappo is really just a cup of hot milk..however, we decided to give it another chance this weekend - we should have saved ourselves the trouble - another cup of hot milk - disgusting..please PLEASE Horse & Jockey please buy yourselves a decent coffee machine to entice your customers inside!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank IrelandBobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom054, Owner at The Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
It is difficult to understand why you would go to the trouble to write a review complaining that your cappuccino was too weak when all you have to do is ask the server to add a extra shot of coffee which would solve the problem. It also should be remembered why people order cappuccino's is because they like weak coffee.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
1,053 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I read the reviews before booking, I did not read the recent terrible reviews. I have written more than 400 reviews across the globe and very few in the terrible category. When you arrive look at the common areas, then the leisure center. Yuk is the best I can say, it doesn't look as these have been cleaned in months. The room was fine, but could not figure out why the air conditioning was struggling to cool. Figured it out the next day, the underfloor heating was on at full whack. Don't look at the carpet, it will not improve your appetite.

Breakfast the next morning was interesting. We started to grab a plate for the hot buffet and noticed dried food on it. Took the next one, but it was glued to the first with food. about 5 plates later found a clean one. The lady behind us asked what we were doing and showed her. She then started the same process of digging through the pile.

Go to the pub. Tables are barely wiped and food on the seats and old grunge on the tables. I could go on, but do not need to. If there is an HSE in Ireland, they would shut the food service immediately.

Staff were fine, but never ever will we return.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JimOB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom054, Owner at The Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
On looking up your reservation which was booked and confirmed through Booking.com, you reserved two rooms for the day before you arrived, there was no cancellation made which meant we lost revenue from four customers at the height of our season.
There is no underfloor heating in our bedrooms so it could not have been on "full Whack"!!. I checked the carpet in the room and it is not stained.
The breakfast plates should have been checked more carefully by the night porters and for this I apologise.
The bar area is one of the busiest food areas in the country and sometimes during service crumbs can fall on the seating and floors but I can assure you that the area in cleaned thoroughly daily.
I find your last sentence regarding the HSE both arrogant and threatening.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A great hotel, a very enjoyable stay. The room was brilliant, 3 four foot beds, a full couch, loads of space, high ceiling. Restaurant and bar staff very friendly. Food was/is excellent, both for breakfast and restaurant.
If I had to "give out" about something, then it would have to be about, some, not all, front desk staff being not too friendly, now they weren't rude but could just make a little more effort.
Overall the experience was very, very enjoyable and we will be going back again and again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 111Marko22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom054, Owner at The Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank You for going to the trouble to write such a excellent review. We are glad you enjoyed the family room and that all the meals were satisfactory. We were obviously offering good value judging from your heading.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I didn't stay in the hotel but stopped in for coffee and cake. I've been I'm quite a few times and my experience has always been good with a few caveats.

The place itself is nice but service is a little slow and they need to remember to clear the tables a bit more often.

Having said that, I'll be back again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GT-MPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom054, Owner at The Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank You for your kind review. Our coffee area is indeed very busy as all the products on display are baked daily in our Bakery which is opened 7 days a week (there is very few places where you can get fresh bread on a Sunday). I will look at ways to speed up the service.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurles
4.5 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
366 reviews
8.4 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
596 reviews
18.0 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
17.8 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
413 reviews
19.8 mi away
Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse & Jockey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse & Jockey Hotel

Property: The Horse & Jockey Hotel
Address: Thurles, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Thurles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Thurles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Horse & Jockey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heartland of Co Tipperary just off the M8 Motorway at Junction 6, half way between Cork & Dublin & approximately 1 1/2 hours from all main cities. Trading continuously for over 250 years the hotel has recently been extended & our facilities now include an award winning restaurant, traditional Irish Bar, two coffee bar & in-house bakery, 67 luxurious bedrooms featuring plasma TV & Wi-Fi, superior conference centre comprising of 10 meeting rooms and a tiered auditorium for up to 200 delegates.Leisure complex includes a 21m pool, steam room, sauna, Jacuzzi, hydro-therapy area and gymnasium. Spa includes 10 treatments rooms & in-house hair-dressers Q Salon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Horse & Jockey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse And Jockey Hotel
Horse Jockey Thurles
Horse Jockey Hotel
The Horse & Jockey Hotel Thurles, Ireland - County Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing