We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inch House--Exceptional Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inch House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inch House
Ranked #1 of 6 Thurles B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Inch House--Exceptional Experience”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

After a horrendous first day in Ireland, with no reservations, we were warmly welcomed by Nora and the staff. They couldn't have been more accommodating and empathetic to our situation. The breakfasts are elegant. No farmer's breakfast here. The dinner menu is limited but absolutely sufficient. The chef is imaginative and creative and the quality is second to none. You'll not have a better meal in Ireland. Nora and her family have shown great courage in tackling the restoration of this elegant old manor house. I'm only sorry that we had only two days before we had to move on. If you have the chance to stay here, don't pass it up.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
61
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wokingham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Travelling with our cousins from Canada, we stayed at Inch House for our first of 6 nights in Ireland. We received a very warm greeting and enjoyed the comforts of the house along with an absolutely lovely dinner and breakfast. Cannot recommend it high enough - our only mistake was that we stayed only one night!

Room Tip: From what we saw, all rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank conwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Inch house is a romantic and beautiful property. The house is reached after a private driveway and is beautifully situated in the middle of the fields. Inside it has antique furniture and nice pictures on the walls everywhere We stayed here for two nights in September 2013. On arrival we could choose between a couple of bedrooms. Our choice fell on the largest bedroom. The room was very comfortable including a sofa and arm chairs. Downstairs is a large cosy sitting room that also includes a bar. Inch house also contains a restaurant. The food is very good, also for vegetarians. Do not take the trouble of going to Thurles for dinner! The family who runs it is extremely friendly and hospitable. Highly recommended is you visit the area (Cashel, Cahir).

Room Tip: The big one bedroom, up the stairs and to the left, is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RWald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I went over for a weekend break. Stayed one night only and second night was not available. Beautiful old house with antique furniture in living, dining and bedroom areas. Excellent food and service. All the staff was accomodating and friendly.Would go back anytime!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stellinabubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Our two -night stay ay Inch House was one of the highlights of our trip to Ireland. The 300-year old manor house is set in a working farm made for a relaxing and authentic experience.

Hosts, Nora and John, showed genuine warmth and friendship. They went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. We greatly appreciated to tea and cake that greeted us on arrival and the advice on seeing the local sights.

The sitting room and dining room were lavishly decorated with antiques. Breakfast and dinner were both superb. Gourmet food - fresh local produce cooked to perfection, and more than enough for our large appetites.

The bedroom was spacious and the bed comfy, and the few minor problems in the bathroom didn't detract from our overall experience.

We found that phoning to make a reservation was the most effective way. Inch House is set well back from the road and we would also recommend getting directions from the owners to help find your way there as the google map didn't help us much.

We will be recommending Inch House to all our friends as a must stay when visiting Ireland.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Whereever you come from, wherever you`re going this a home for you!
Thank you ever so much. We really felt welcome. Had a wonderful stay, perfect location, very peaceful. Great Irish breakfast with home made pudding and lovel brown bread.

Room Tip: I honestly don`t think it matters. All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We only stayed the one night and wished it could have been longer. It is a family run country house hotel with a very personal touch. The food is exceptional and I would recommend that anyone visiting stays for dinner. Our room was enormous with views out over the front of the house.We were made to feel very welcome and would recommend anyone to visit it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauld16b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurles
6.1 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
342 reviews
9.6 mi away
Horse & Jockey Hotel
Horse & Jockey Hotel
#2 of 3 in Thurles
580 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hayes Hotel
Hayes Hotel
#3 of 3 in Thurles
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Templemore Arms Hotel
Templemore Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Templemore
83 reviews
19.4 mi away
Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort
14.2 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inch House

Property: Inch House
Address: Nenagh Road | R498, Thurles, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Thurles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Thurles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of County Tipperary’s rich countryside, Inch House offers excellent service and the heartiest of welcomes. Each one of the rooms in this country house is individually decorated to the highest standard. The locally sourced food is of excellent quality and many of the fruits and vegetables are grown at this working, 18th-century farmhouse. The restaurant opens five nights and offers an extensive array of choice for both the food and wine connoisseur. Inch House provides the perfect base from which to explore the surrounding region, including a multitude of walking routes, cycle routes, horse riding, food trails, fishing and hunting, as well as plenty of Gaelic sporting activities to discover. The area has an abundance of Norman & Medieval history, including many castles, ring forts and abbeys and is the home of the famous Rock of Cashel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inch Hotel Thurles
Inch House Thurles, Ireland - County Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing