We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Inch House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inch House
Ranked #1 of 6 Thurles B&B and Inns
Limerick
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Country house. Stayed here for one night some time ago. old world character. Great evening meal. The Egans were great hosts. Great conversation about the Egan clan from John. Maureen was very warm and welcoming. Bedroom was old style but v comfortable. Good location to get away from it all.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
62
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Elmsdale, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Beautifully kept heritage home. Five star restaurant with exceptional service and food. Thank you to Nora and Mairin for being fabulous hosts and travel guides. We will definitely come back again. Easy travel to Rock of Cashel, Waterford and the motorway.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is the third time we've stayed in Inch house and it would have to be special for us to come back again and again . The old world character of the house , the warmth of the people there , the quality of food and now the addition of a lovely loop walk all make this a memorable experience . There are only a small number of bedrooms ( 5 I think ) but our favourite is room number 26 . We never asked why it's number 26 but will the next time we stay . It's a lovely large room with an amazing view over the garden and some large fields . We started destressing once we had dumped our bags and were immediately offered afternoon tea . We skipped that and went for a walk instead and met up with their 4 greyhounds who are amazingly well looked after .
After a supper dinner and early night we woke with new energy on Saturday and enjoyed a super breakfast . We then decided to chill and became tourists visiting the Rock of Cashel for the first time . Well worth a visit and free guided tour is a must . We learnt a little about the kings of Munster and an man who was a bishop of cashed ( Protestant ) and Armagh ( catholic ) at the same time and who died aged 100 after being married three times . Inch is a great starting point and there is loads to see and do nearby .
Inch house is a place for a couple to stay for a few days . You will enjoy superb Irish hospitality at a very affordable price .
It's almost mid way between cork and Dublin and we will be back

Room Tip: We loved room 26 but all the rooms have individual character Some large and others small .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eugene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Truly an amazing experience, the warmth of greeting, the rooms, the serenity of the place.... and then there is the most amazing food, from breakfast to dinner. We had a small reception there of 30 people and we were so delighted with the service and quality of everything, from the crisp white sheets to the freshly baked bread and wonderful restaurant food. Absolutely top class in every respect. All of our guests were delighted. Thank you Nora, Sinead and Mairin, R&M

Room Tip: All individual rooms, speak to Nora, Sinead or Mairin and they helped our guests identify what was r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandM364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenagh
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were looking for a few nights R&R and Inch House was recommended by some friends. It is really surprising despite passing by its door on so many occasions and only living 20 or 30 km away from it we never thought to try it, far away hills are greener I suppose. Well we booked in for two nights recently and the only regret is we didn't visit Inch house sooner.
The house is in a working farm and makes optimum use of local produce, this is best observed by the quality of the food it is excellent really very very good. The rhubarb cheesecake we had was one of the best desserts I have ever tasted anywhere a true delight. And boy do I like my desserts. They make their own black pudding also and it is nearly worth the trip for this alone. Breakfast was equally yummy with lovely fresh breads and again using local produce to provide lovely preserves and such like. The service overall is also very good the staff are cheerful and efficient.
Inch House is just perfect for relaxing at night it is so very quiet being in the heart of the country the room is as very dark. Align this with really comfy beds a good nights sleep is all but guaranteed. It is an old house full of character and the furnishings reflect this, don't think there was WiFi but 3G coverage was fine. But that is not really a negative the reason to come here is to relax.
Lunch is not normally served but there is a lovely pub less than 1km away with really friendly service and nice pub grub style food.
Recently they have installed a walk around the perimeter of the grounds which is about 5km in length it is not taxing and is a very pleasant stroll.
Nora is a perfect host and nothing seems too much trouble and this really is reflected in all the staff as well.

We will most certainly be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DonNenagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Inch House has perfected what Irish Country restaurants and guesthouses should be doing. The service is excellent and friendly, food is terrific and the rooms so comfortable and spacious. There are great walks on this lovely working farm. My wife and I really enjoyed our visit and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ardaghman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delgany, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Having met Nora and her crew at the craft fare in the RDS and sampled the pudding We booked a two night mid week break including 3 course dinner both nights ( don't think we could manage the 5 course at weekend ) the food was excellent breakfast and dinner, hard to stay away from the black pudding. Nora and her staff were very friendly and attentive, we had a room overlooking the front lawn and fields with fire place ( no fire ) but did not need it, the bedroom was warm and comfortable. A lovely old house beautifully kept and decorated will keep it on our revisit list.

Thanks for a lovely time
Mart/Susie

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurles
6.1 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
5.5 mi away
Hayes Hotel
Hayes Hotel
#3 of 3 in Thurles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Templemore Arms Hotel
Templemore Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Templemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
19.4 mi away
Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort
14.2 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inch House

Property: Inch House
Address: Nenagh Road | R498, Thurles, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Thurles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Thurles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of County Tipperary’s rich countryside, Inch House offers excellent service and the heartiest of welcomes. Each one of the rooms in this country house is individually decorated to the highest standard. The locally sourced food is of excellent quality and many of the fruits and vegetables are grown at this working, 18th-century farmhouse. The restaurant opens five nights and offers an extensive array of choice for both the food and wine connoisseur. Inch House provides the perfect base from which to explore the surrounding region, including a multitude of walking routes, cycle routes, horse riding, food trails, fishing and hunting, as well as plenty of Gaelic sporting activities to discover. The area has an abundance of Norman & Medieval history, including many castles, ring forts and abbeys and is the home of the famous Rock of Cashel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Inch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inch Hotel Thurles
Inch House Thurles, Ireland - County Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing