We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical Family Visit”

Review of Lisheen Castle

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
9 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Thurles, County Tipperary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David L
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Magical Family Visit”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Out family of 12 ages 11 to 71 had a marvelous stay at Lisheen Castle. It was a pleasure working with Zane to firm up the booking and the tour itenerary. The attentiveness of the staff from the chefs and servers was very appreciated. The Irish breakfasts were fantastic and the dinners were very well done. Coach transportation was timely and flexible to our needs. Zane and company delivered an experience our family will always remember.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D
1 review
“Once in a lifetime experience at Lisheen Castle”
Reviewed 8 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Sleep comes easy in the many elegant and comfortable bedrooms in Lisheen Castle. Nearly every one with a private bathroom. Your view in the mornings of rolling hills and endless countryside is a delightful way to begin. The Everard family who own & operate Lisheen Castle provided our group of 13 the perfect level of service and privacy while allowing us full access to the whole property. We especially enjoyed preparing meals together in the commercial style kitchen. Dish washer, microwave, huge fridge, commercial oven & laundry were all appreciated by our group ranging in age from 2 years old to 79. Wifi worked well and kept our young from requiring oxygen. Weather was such that we frolicked, flew kites and enjoyed tea on the patio many times. Zane, who greeted us and guided us through the property was also very helpful providing great information to guide us to local grocers, restaurants & pubs with music and sights and scenes. We are a busy group and travelled easily each day to destinations including Dublin, Cork, Cliffs of Moher, Rock of Cashel, Cobh, Kilkenny and Adare. I saw bunny rabbits every day during our time here but they we too fast to catch on camera. Highly recommend this special place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H
Washington DC, United States
2 reviews
“A Springtime week of Magic in Ireland”
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A few weeks ago our group of 14 friends came together to share a week with Lisheen Castle as our home and base for exploring Ireland. There is still an aura of magic for everyone, did we really live in a lovely restored castle with heaps of comfort and amenities? The setting is perfect, on the one hand quiet and rural and peaceful, yet relatively well situated for day trips to a wide variety of places. With help from owner Zane, we made contact with a local tour company and hired a private motor coach to take us on two 'must see' big day tours The Cliffs of Moher, and Dingle Peninsula.
For us, a highlight was coming together every evening, cooking together in the fully equipped kitchen, drinking plenty of wine, and enjoying sharing conversations about the different things we experienced that day. The castle encourages a wonderful camaraderie while also provides ample space to have private time to ones self.
Everything we needed was just as stated - very comfortable bedrooms, quiet, easy access to groceries and supplies, great kitchen for meal prep, a laundry, and whatever our request Zane was quick to respond. We've seen reviews "once in a lifetime..." and we've already heard friends say "maybe we will return." Springtime, while having uncertain weather was an excellent time to see Ireland without the crowds.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suensharp
atlanta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is a trip of a life time”
Reviewed 20 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

What a fabulous vacation the Lisheen Castle offers. We immediately felt comfortable in our home away from home. The tranquility of the setting immediately takes you in and makes you feel like you are truly a part of the surroundings.
We received excellent service throughout our stay. The food was of the highest quality. Superb choices were offered for all of our meals both breakfast and dinner. The day tours were very organized and well planned. We were able to make adjustments according to our own personal wishes when the need arouse. The flexibility of the driver and tour guide was greatly appreciated. We had evening entertainment in the castle after dinner several nights. The head cook even gave us hands on tips on how she made some of her signature meals. The sit down morning breakfast was such a delicious and fun way to start our day. The availability of a washer and dryer made for light packing.
This was one of the most enjoyable travel experiences we ever had and we look forward to returning to the LISHEEN Castle.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura B
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“1 Week Stay in June”
Reviewed 25 January 2017 for a stay in June 2015

I was so in love with Lisheen Castle! We were invited to stay for the week as guests for a wedding that took place here. The rooms, the grounds, the cozy dining room where we gathered for breakfast… Perhaps, especially, the sunroom looking over the garden. It has been beautifully restored and I feel lucky to have been a guest here!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolyn M
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lisheen Castle is a beautiful place in the heart of Ireland, set in wonderful gardens with great views.”
Reviewed 28 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a wonderful two week stay here with twelve pals, wandering to all kinds of great sites: Cliffs of Moher, Kilkenny, Dublin, Yeats country and more. The Castle is extremely comfortable with lovely rooms for gathering, a large and elegant dining room with delicious local delicacies. Fun times on the roof top, quiet walks in the countryside. And always, a view of the Devil's Bite! We all loved it. And Zane, our host, was always attentive.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irishize7...
Newark, Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just an amazing experience!”
Reviewed 26 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Beautiful castle in an amazing setting. The scenery is gorgeous! The grounds were perfectly manicured. The castle is beautiful on the inside as well. The restoration is unbelievable considering it was once in rubble. The rooms are plentiful, all with their own titles and most their bathrooms as well. The decor is historic and beautiful but comfortable at the same time. Equipped with modern conveniences such as washer/dryer, restaurant style kitchen and wifi throughout. Zane is a very gracious host, he even took us on the roof. Shhhh:) He was also extremely helpful in guiding us to local restaurants and attractions. I'm so glad we didn't choose the B&B hop thing. This was truly a once in a lifetime experience for me and my family!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing