We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic vacation”

Review of Lisheen Castle

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
9 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Thurles, County Tipperary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DanielleJ...
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic vacation”
Reviewed 19 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Lisheen Castle is not a destination to be missed! Zane was extremely prompt in answering any questions we had before the stay and during. The castle was spotless and the 14 of us were quite comfortable the entire week. It was a wonderful home base to come back to everyday as we toured all of Ireland. Don’t hesitate in staying here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrequentF...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fabulous!”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Our family group - three generations - stayed at Lisheen Castle for a week in August. The castle itself is fabulous! We had more than enough room for our group, with lots of places to spread out. We spent a lot of our time around the table in the country kitchen - so cozy. The grounds are beautiful, and the scenery is breath taking. We loved watching the sunsets over The Devil's Bit (the mountains behind the castle). The bedrooms were beautiful, and the bedding was the most comfortable I've ever had. Everything is luxurious. This is a five-star accommodation disguised as a castle - I highly recommend staying here, and we plan to come back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smw57mlw
Briarcliff Manor, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expectations Exceeded at Lisheen!”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

In planning for a 60th birthday family holiday we discovered LIsheen Castle and questioned if it was "too good to be true?" Our party of 13 from the US ranged from 83 years old to 3 months and all of us had the vacation of a lifetime. Zane helped us arrange meals, transportation, entertainment and even a guitar soloist on the rooftop! Spacious en-suite rooms, traditionally served home cooked Irish breakfasts and dinners and plus a few rainbows and shooting stars made for a magical week at Lisheen..

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbreslan
Hinsdale, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vacation of a lifetime”
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect location. Close to many legendary sites, and adventures. Everyday was filled with exciting things to do. 13 of us; children, teens, grown up and seniors. All loved every moment. Lisheen Castle is a story book experience. Beautiful grounds, marvelous accommodations. Zane, was a wonderful host. Treated us like family and guided us through our time there. Finally, if you want to have a beautiful memory that will last a lifetime; visit Lisheen Castle.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bibliogno...
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Too Much Crack For One Week!”
Reviewed 10 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were a party of 13 from the U.S.A. and France and booked the entire castle under the all inclusive package. So glad we did as this package allowed us a stress free vacation. All that was required of us was to show up, and the day was planned by Zane and his staff. Can't say enough good things about the staff as they were attentive to our needs and anticipatory of them. Ursula and Sharon were our chefs providing outstanding meals. Ursula went above and beyond her position. When we had difficulty in getting to the train station it was Ursula who drove us in her own car. There were many more acts of random kindness from Ursula and other staff during the week. Zane has an excellent staff he can be proud of. Joe was our tour guide and also did double duty in keeping the whole day humming and running interference for any problems. Joe also played guitar and sang Irish songs holding all of us in the palm of his hand. A few highlights were the harpist after dinner in the castle and the outing to Chez Hans and our time with Zane. I highly recommend this place, you will not be disappointed. Come and make memories and get ready for laughter.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraL4...
1 review
“Most enjoyable vacation EVER!”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Lisheen Castle was our home-away-from-home for one week in late July 2017. 18 of us, covering 3 generations (ages 1 to age 63) enjoyed every minute of this glorious castle and its grounds. The highlights included the outstanding staff and owner, Zane! The memories we made will stay dear forever! We recommend the full tour package, as the bus and driver were great. Our weather was perfect the entire week and we even had a double rainbow as a backdrop for our formal photos! We strongly recommend this lovely estate. The David Lance Family, Calhoun, GA USA

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen R
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely magical!”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in April 2017

It was a dream come true for our family to stay at this castle b/c this was the actual birth place of our ancestors in the early 1900's. There is a picture hanging in the library of our grandparents and 2 oldest aunts (as children) - taken at the front of the castle. It is truly a "castle" with historical décor and modern amenities. It is centrally located for day trips. Covh, Blarney Castle, Cliffs of Moher and Galway Bay were some destinations well worth checking out.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing