We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay, very friendly & welcoming”

Abbeyvale House Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbeyvale House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 6 Thurles B&B and Inns
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay, very friendly & welcoming”
Reviewed 18 November 2010

We would highly recommend this B&B.
Mary makes you feel right at home with tea/coffee when we arrived in the late afternoon and delicious home made bread & cakes. The location was excellent for our needs as there for a family christening just down the road. A few minutes drive into Thurles, which by the way is the nearest ATM.
The house was spotless and nicely decorated and a very comfortable. It felt like we were staying with relatives, not someone we had just met.
(There is a pub straight opposite called the Abbey Tavern, which if you are having problems finding the B&B ask for that. Its a nice quiet pub for a few drinks and a stroll accross the road to bed).
The breakfast is excellent, again cooked by Mary to your requirements, full Irish Breakfast is offered, as well as toast /fresh soda bread & a selection of cereals, juices, tea & coffee.
We had a lovely stay there & will go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandachops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burke, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Ed and Mary make you feel right at home with tea/coffee in the late afternoon and delicious breakfasts made just for you. The location is excellent, affording access to Thurles, Cashel, Cahir and Tipperary Town. The home is spotless and nicely decorated and a very comfortable place to be. You will feel like you've known your hosts for years and will want to return time after time. We're already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKF14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch-Stouffville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We only stayed one night due to travel arrangements but love staying with Mary and Ed, it was our second visit, they are very welcoming and extremely friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Home is very spacious and comfortable and location is great. Thanks to Mary and Ed for a great visit

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolfsberg
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2010

this B&B, situated a few miles north of Cashel in the village of Holycross has all the qualities that a traveller could be looking for: at a rather moderate rate you get a very nice room, an extremely friendly and helpful hostess and all the quiet that you need for a good night´s rest; the breakfast was excellent and the lady of the house helped us to work out a very interesting/scenic route south the the coast and on to Killarney.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We stayed at Abbeyvale House, Holycross, Tipperary on a driving holiday around Ireland. Holycross is a very pretty little village and is worth a stop if you are driving through Tipperary. We had not booked in advance however our hostess Mary welcomed us warmly with afternoon tea and made us feel very much at home when we came knocking on her door.
The house was beautifully decorated and our room at the back of the house overlooking the garden was extremely quiet and comfortable and conducive to a good night's sleep.
The bathroom was roomy and well kept and even had a hair dryer, something I found to be missing in most other B and Bs. We were able to walk to the hotel beside the river for dinner and also explored the Abbey.
Breakfast the next morning was served in the conservatory overlooking the garden and was generous with plenty of choices, even scones. Mary was a warm and friendly hostess and made our stay very enjoyable.
We would highly recommend this establishment for its wonderful hospitality and confortable rooms.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nellie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We were touring around Southern Ireland and were very happy when we discovered Ed loved bikes and owned one himself. Offered garage faclities for our bike and enjoyed good biking conversation.
Ed and Mary were very helpful in directing us to local attractions, they offered to give us a lift to a restaurant.
The house itself is first class in beauty and style. Ed and his wife Mary could not be any more friendly. Mary sat with us and we had a lovely chat, what a wonderful warm personality.
The village is idyllic with great facilities, including Tavern across the road . The Abbey should not be missed, you can look around free of charge and we had never seen anything like it.
We only stayed one night at Abbeyvale but would definitely like to return for longer next time.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolesmall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oost Souburg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2009

With the four of us we stayed there.. My brother with with his daughter and I with with my daughter. Both girls had a extendetd room ,my brothter and my a room downstairs. Both very nice. Started with a warm welcom on arrival on our motorbikes. Comming from the Netherlands I stayed for two nights , my brother four. In that short period we faced the warmt and kindnes as we know from Ierland out of the books.If you are in the vicinity and looking for a stay.I highly recomand this B&B. Willem & Dave

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank offshorecaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurles
9.3 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
366 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
9.7 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Castle Country House B&B
14.9 mi away
Inch House
Inch House
#1 of 6 in Thurles
124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boherna Lodge B&B
Boherna Lodge B&B
#3 of 6 in Thurles
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbeyvale House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyvale House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Abbeyvale House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Cashel Road | Holycross, Thurles, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Thurles
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Thurles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Abbeyvale House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyvale House Bed And Breakfast Thurles, Ireland - County Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing