We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Weekend Away”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Anner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anner Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Thurles
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Lovely Weekend Away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Thurles is a nice little village and for us, situated a short hop away from Limerick that we could avail of a Groupon voucher weekend there.
The Anner hotel has lovely decorated rooms, clean bathrooms and great entertainment at weekends. The bar is a lively place, it does great food and there is a swimming pool which is just perfect if you have kids or you fancy a dip yourself. We have stayed here a few times and never been disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren_R_Beckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda K, General Manager at Anner Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Darren,

Thank you for your kind remarks about the Anner hotel following your recent stay with us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and particularly as a return guest we glad to hear that you like the changes. Thank you once again for taking the time to post a review, it is greatly appreciated. We hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again soon.

Your sincerely,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    100
    39
    13
    7
See reviews for
120
82
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The new ownership are terrific; the main areas are outstanding for lounging; breakfast and atrium were super; dining and bar areas, very cozy and inviting; meals excellent; outside patio with chairs and umbrellas great to sit; wine selection very good as well. gardens are just lovely.

we were so surprised and pleased......a small amount left to do in the rooms but overall
this is the place to stay in Thurles......the mouldings, windows, paint etc. very lovely.

stayed for 2 nights 3rd week in June.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bertherel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda K, General Manager at Anner Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Bertherel,

Thank you for your lovely note about the Anner following your recent stay with us. Please accept my apology for the delay in acknowledging your kind remarks due to the refurbishment works underway.

We are so pleased that your like all the changes we have made to date in the Anner. It is especially pleasing that you noticed not only all the physical changes but also the more subtle changes in areas such as food and service.

Please be assured that we are still working to continue our improvements and we hope that on your next visit you will see even more to meet with your approval. Thank you once again for taking the time to spread the good news about the new look Anner, we're really chuffed to read your review and we hope you will continue to recommend us.

Kind regards,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We went here in June 2014 for one night. We ate from the bar menu - food was plentiful and very tasty.
The swimming pool was great, the staff were very pleasant and helpful and the rooms were quiet.
In the morning the breakfast was very nice with a good choice. Everything was going well until we were packing our bags to check out and I found a sock belonging to someone else under my bed This wasn't very nice because it shows that the floor underneath the beds weren't cleaned. The rest of the room and bathroom were clean. So other than the the dirty sock under my bed our stay was very enjoyable and nice.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Young_warthog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda K, General Manager at Anner Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Young warthog,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Anner Hotel. We glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel, bar food breakfast and the service.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the sock that we missed under your bed when cleaning the room. This is completely unacceptable and and our accommodation manager Liz has asked to be associated with my apologies to you. All our rooms are thoroughly serviced daily and individually checked by the accommodation manager or supervisor prior to being returned to reception for the next arrival. I'm sorry that on this occasion we failed to notice an issue prior to returning the room as cleaned and inspected.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Anner Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurles, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel has been bought and is being re vamped by the new owners, what a transformation in a short space of time it has gotten a new lease of life. What was once a tired hotel is now freshly painted and attractive building, the gardens also have gotten an overhaul as well as the décor and furniture inside. The food and the service lives up to the new standards also. I have tried the bar food and it is really lovely and the staff are attentive and friendly. I really hope that people give this hotel a chance once again to impress, with a fantastic location just a five minute walk into the town square you are so central and I can now happily recommend this hotel to friends wanting to stay in the town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aisling C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda K, General Manager at Anner Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Aisling C,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review of the Anner Hotel following your recent stay with us. Thank you for your positive feedback, we're really glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you saw positive changes since our recent change of ownership. We're continuing to work to improve the facilities here and hope that you will return to see even more improvements in the near future.

Thank you again Aisling and we hope you'll continue to recommend the Anner Hotel.


Regards,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

The Anner Hotel - Thurles ticks all the boxes, (a cliché is often needed).
I'm usually disapointed when staying in countryside hotels but under new ownership this establishment is of excellent quality.

Amenities are plenty with onsite fully furnished leisure centre with all assets to let the users enjoy a relaxing afternoon.

I guess I better "tick the boxes"

Food - √ 8.5/10
Bedrooms - √ 8/10
Service - √ 8/10
Bathrooms - √ 8/10

I write this from room 235 and I believe this is a 3* hotel.
For the price the Anner hotel is nothing less than exceptional.

It is safe to say you will enjoy your days knowing you'll be under the roof of the Anner hotel in the night time.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda K, General Manager at Anner Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Edward K,

Thank you for your recent review of the Anner Hotel and your kind comments. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you most sincerely for the 5 star score you gave us. We hope that you will continue to recommend the Anner and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardfert, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

From the moment I walked into the Anner on Saturday evening I was blown away by the lovely warm welcome and the very relaxed atmosphere from all the staff.Joan on reception was particularly helpful as we were not sure who our room was booked under.I was meeting friends from Kerry,Cork,Wicklow,Galway,Limerick and Monaghan so we chose the Anner as it was so central for our reunion.The bedroom was very spacious and clean with a lovely view of the newly landscaped garden.We had our evening meal out on the patio and the service was second to none even though the bar and restaurant were very busy inside.We were late down for breakfast the following morning but it was no problem.Again the breakfast was delicious and the staff could not have been more accomodating.Parking was free and it is only a two minute walk to the town centre.The leisure centre is an added bonus to this newly renovated hotel and the pool was just the perfect temperature.Our bags were taken to the car the following morning by Michael the proprietor of the hotel,a real gentleman.This hotel offers everything you would want for a break away with family or friends.We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryNenagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bantry, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Welcome back ,the town of Thurles has a hotel to be proud of ;new ownership ,new vision.We were so pleased with the service , meal and attentiveness of all staff at a recent family occasion . A lovely venue ,great food and friendly caring staff.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Sileg808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurles
4.5 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hayes Hotel
Hayes Hotel
#3 of 3 in Thurles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
11.9 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Clonmel Park Conference & Leisure Hotel
23.0 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
20.9 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anner Hotel

Property: Anner Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Thurles, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Thurles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Thurles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Anner Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership and management since April 2014, the Anner Hotel has now been extensively refurbished and upgraded. Family owned and operated, with the vibrant new Ed's Bar and Bistro, luxurious new Lobby and upgrades to restaurant areas and bedrooms, the Anner has introduced new high quality standards and service through-out.Try it, we think you'l like the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Anner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anner Hotel Thurles, Ireland - County Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing