We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anner Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Thurles
Certificate of Excellence
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel last weekend and really loved it. Stayed before and thought location and setting was good but hotel was very basic . Under new management and they are doing great work. Reception staff were lovely and entrance very welcoming . Food is basic but very good. The bar area is lovely but I thought the staff here were not friendly and kept getting orders wrong. Overall thought hotel was very good value for money and we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreeksCork, General Manager at Anner Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Pauline M,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Anner following your recent stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments about the improvements you have seen since your previous visits. In particular thank you for your kind comments regarding our reception team which are much appreciated.

I'm sorry to learn that you experienced unfriendly service in the bar area, please be assured that we take your comments very seriously and that we will work to address these concerns.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you all back in the future when I'm sure you'll see continued improvements.

Kind regards,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    99
    39
    13
    7
See reviews for
118
80
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skibbereen, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is set in its own grounds. There is plenty of parking and the staff were very friendly. The rooms were large there was three beds in room but the bathroom had the smallest sink I have ever seen, you couldn't put your hands in the sink and there was nowhere to put toiletries. The shower was over the bath and there was a support rail for the toilet. I found a glass half full of water in a cupboard in the bedroom. There was no wifi in the room and it could only be accessed from the foyer or bar. Pool was great for families but too busy to lane swim on a Saturday. The cooked breakfast service was slow and I had to leave before it arrived. There was a good choice of cereals and fruit.

Room Tip: No views from rooms and car park is on three sides of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariondp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreeksCork, General Manager at Anner Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Mariondp,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Anner Hotel. Please accept our apologies that we fell below your expectations on some aspects of the product on this occasion. I have addressed the issues you raised regarding your bathroom with our accommodation manager Liz who has asked to be associated with my apologies.

Regarding the WiFi, it is currently provided in the lobby and in the conference center. As part of the ongoing refurbishment programme following a recent change of ownership, I'm delighted to be able to let you know that we are currently in the process of upgrading the WiFi facilities. Within the next 2 weeks we will have a new Wifi facility which will provide complimentary WiFi to all areas of the hotel including the bedrooms.

Thank you again for your feedback, we hope you will choose to stay again on your next visit to the area, I'm sure you will not be disappointed with the improvements.


Yours sincerely,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Loved our stay here, we stayed after a rave party and they allowed extra people in our room no problem - as long as we respected the other people in the hotel and werent noisy which you dont usually get from hotels. Lovely room, lovely staff, and we were allowed a late checkout and everything :) highly reccomended :)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank DarraghOSull92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda K, Manager at Anner Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Mr Dazza,

Thank you for your kind review following your stay with us. We can honestly say that your review is the first we've had from a raver and it certainly brought a smile to our faces. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

enjoyed my stay in thurles....nice car park....nice room.....food good.....pool nice...most of the staff very good....one or two may need few extra weeks in hotel college.....nite food stopped a little early for my taste in summer food should be served until 10pm.....winter could be adjusted accordingly......................

Room Tip: ask for silent rooom.....lift bit on slow side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomhannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda K, General Manager at Anner Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Tom,

Thank you for taking the tine to write a review of the Anner Hotel following your recent stay with us. We're pleased that overall we meet your needs and we thank you for your kind comments and recommendation. We are constantly reviewing our product and service and in light of this we will take on board your comments regarding the food service times.


Kind regards,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Having just returned from Anner hotel I just had to let people know about this gem of a hotel. From the moment we got there nothing was too much to ask. Recently revamped the bar area was excellent, from the grub to the fantastic sun trap patio and gardens the kids can kick a ball around. Pool was great for kids too. Great value for money here folks I for one will be back soon for a relaxing weekend. Special mention to staff member Eamonwho was friendly and helpfull throughout our stay!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank necat155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda K, General Manager at Anner Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Necat,

Thank you for your lovely review posted following your recent stay with us at the Anner Hotel. We're delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay, the food, the gardens and the pool. We're very pleased with the guest response to the newly added patio area is getting, it is a lovely location to sit and relax and enjoy the sunshine while we have some good weather!

Thank you in particular for your kind words regarding Eamonn,who is thrilled to see his name in writing! It's always a nice boost to be recognised for a job well done.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future and we hope that you will continue to recommend the Anner Hotel.

Kind regards,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed in the Anner after two matches this year and found that on both occasions the athmosphere was great the food was fab and great value for money, the staff are very friendly and helpful huge improvements have been made since my last visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sinead212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda K, General Manager at Anner Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Sinead,

Thank you for your lovely review posted following your two stays for the matches this year. There certainly is a great atmosphere here for the match weekends and always great fun and banter between the supporters on both sides in the best traditions of the GAA.

We're delighted to read that you have seen improvements to the hotel since the new ownership, we will continue to work to improve the product and service we provide.

We look forward to welcoming you back next season, do let us know who you are at time of booking as we'd love to say thank you in person.

Kind regards,


Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

stayed here for a night at the wknd, the outside of the hotel is nice, but there is no sign saying where reception is, so we wandered around the side to find it, they have renovations going on at the moment on the other side of the hotel (i can only presume the room we stayed in wil b included in the renovations!), the reception area, dining area and bar etc. are very nice, and the food we had for dinner was lovely, wud recommend the steak sandwich, the servers were very nice and attentive.... our major gripe obviously was the room we were put in, there wer about 5 rooms surrounding it and they were through a door away from the other rooms, i can't speak about the other 4 rooms but ours was a disgrace, the smell of mould and damp when we opened the door nearly knocked us off our feet!, we opened the window wide as soon as we got in there, when really we should have just went back down to reception and asked to be moved, the bed was comfortable except for the fact we only had 1 pilllow each (again, i know, we shud have went down to reception for more!) ..... the shower was lovely and warm, BUT this led to the beginning of our problems! the bath under the shower was obviously leaking ,,, we had gone to bed and were dozing off to sleep when we were woken with a loud knock on the door! i went to the door and ws told it was housekeeping!! at 11pm at night! i said we hadn't asked for any and what did he want, and he asked if we had any leak in the bathroom as there was water going down into the room below and i said he didn't the floor etc. was bone dry, so he said ok thank you, sorry etc. .... only to be woken again 15 minutes later by a phonecall to the room repeating the exact same conversation! we could barely sleep during the night from the smell of damp in the room and when i got up during the night the carpet at the wall adjoining to the en-suite was wet! all the carpets around the walls were stained and coming away from the wall, it was just awful, and im sorry we didnt' complain straight away, we did however mention it to the receptionist when leaving and she said there had been water leaking down and they'd need to get a plumber in, and she gave us the room at half price, all in all, probably our own fault we didn't complain straight away, but never the less, we probably wud stay here again, just in a different room!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank amyoneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda K, General Manager at Anner Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Amy,

Thank you for review following your recent stay with us at the Anner Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you experienced with your room during your stay.

The Anner Hotel has recently changed ownership and as you noted there are substantial renovation works underway at present. To date we have completed the refurbishment of the exterior ad gardens, ground floor areas including the bar, restaurant and Bistro, the Function and next we will be working on the Leisure Club. We have completed some upgrade works in the bedrooms and more is planned over the coming months. We have also completed an order for new exterior and interior signage as we agree with your comment that it's needed.

Regarding the room you stayed in, this has been put off market and will not be occupied until the issue you described has been rectified. There was a leaking pipe under the bath and as you correctly assumed, when you showered water came down into the room below, this was brought to our attention by the guest occupying the other room. I'm sorry that our investigation of this issue caused you to be disturbed however I hope that you can appreciate that such a serious matter needed to be investigated for safety reasons.

Amy, thank you for your positive comments regarding the food and service in Ed's Bar and Bistro. I'm glad you enjoyed the Steak Sandwich and thank you for recommending it to others. The homemade burgers are another very popular menu item which we are getting very positive comments about.

Once again, our sincere apologies for the maintenance issues you encountered, we're sorry that these detracted form your stay with us. I'm glad that Joan adjusted your rate on departure but I'm sorry that we were not aware of your problems sooner as we would have most certainly moved you to an alternate room. I hope that you will return to the Anner and give us an opportunity to get a 5 star rating from you!


Yours sincerely,

Breda Keane Shortt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurles
4.5 mi away
Horse & Jockey Hotel
Horse & Jockey Hotel
#2 of 3 in Thurles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hayes Hotel
Hayes Hotel
#3 of 3 in Thurles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
11.9 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Clonmel Park Conference & Leisure Hotel
23.0 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
20.9 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anner Hotel

Property: Anner Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Thurles, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Thurles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Thurles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Anner Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership and management since April 2014, the Anner Hotel has now been extensively refurbished and upgraded. Family owned and operated, with the vibrant new Ed's Bar and Bistro, luxurious new Lobby and upgrades to restaurant areas and bedrooms, the Anner has introduced new high quality standards and service through-out.Try it, we think you'l like the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Anner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anner Hotel Thurles, Ireland - County Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing