We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service excellent value”

Mitchel House Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Thurles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
galway ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food and service excellent value”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We were a group of 6 and were all impressed with the meal we had, e165 for 6 people is exceptional value even if early bird menu. But these were full sized portions, extra e5 for steaks, and food was very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank patrick043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    47
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thurles, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“5* Excellence”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I go to Mitchel House regularly and it Always delivers. Fantastic service by Michael and all the staff who always make you feel welcome and will cater to any of your needs. I recently sat down with a group of 40 people and again fantastic it never fails! I would thoroughly recommend the restaurant. Food is amazing with a really great selection both for Lunch, Early Bird and A La Carte menus. The value the restaurant offers for the standard of food and service is excellent. It is ideal for couples, groups and families. Don't deny your taste buds give it a whirl you won't be sorry!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aisling C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dinner for 2”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Love this Restaurant the food is very very good and Michael the owner and his staff and so so nice and nothing is a problem to them...always got so well looked after whenever i had a meal there...going there nxt Sunday 4 a meal and im sure it will b fantastic as always...so well done Michael and ur team....

Helpful?
2 Thank Josephine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buncrana, Ireland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great night last weekend with friends!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

A group of us visited here last weekend after the All Ireland Hurling League final. We dined on great food. I felt the wine was good, though some of the aficionados in the group were disappointed! Don't mind them, though! The service was very good indeed, & staff were friendly.
Food was good value, I felt.
Great cheesecake!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martingerardkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
“Top Class”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

I go to Mitchel House at least once a month, and it NEVER fails to disappoint. Warm and friendly staff, wide varied choice of menu, and a superb wine list. Best value for money around. Its brilliant to have a restaurant of this quality on our own doorstep. Well done to Michael and staff.

Helpful?
Thank Mac84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mitchel House Restaurant also viewed

Thurles, County Tipperary
Thurles, County Tipperary
 
Thurles, County Tipperary
Thurles, County Tipperary
 
Thurles, County Tipperary
Thurles, County Tipperary
 

Been to Mitchel House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing