We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location, perfect house, perfect Irish...”
other travellers have booked this property
Stunning Tipperary Farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning Tipperary Farmhouse
driveway to the road with private electric gates view of garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Stunning Tipperary Farmhouse
driveway to the road with private electric gates
view of garden
Front Lobby
Front sitting room with tv, sound system, dvd player and fireplace
living room with wood burning stove and flatscreen tv
view to kitchen from living room
The Aga is the Heart of the kitchen
Kitchen/dining room with antique table and room for 10
Front door
downstairs shower room /electric shower
top landing with a bedroom on either side
Master bedroom (bedrm 1)
double bedroom at the front with shower and whb (2)
main bathroom
twin bedroom (3)
hallway to bedroom 3 and main bathroom
main bathroom
attractive and well maintained walled garden with fish pond
fish pond now has many water lilies and fountain at one end. Be careful with children
driving down to the house on driveway
Downstairs twin bedroom with ensuite
Garden
view from upstairs landing
View from Patio to flower garden and lawn
View from Patio to side garden
view of lawn from garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Thurles, County Tipperary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JW1987LW
Newport
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location, perfect house, perfect Irish experience”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Could not have wished for a better holiday in this house. The owners were very helpful as we struggled a bit with the Aga and hot water, very good to know they're only a few minutes away. The gounds are amazing, garden practically buzzing with bumble bees and amazing plants. One evening we chased the sun across the garden moving the patio table with us every half hour. If you want real Ireland then this is the place to stay. And make sure you go to 'the monks' on a Wednesday night!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
Thanks so much for reminding us of the local irish musicians as yes, its quite an experience. And its at 10pm too! You were perfect guests and welcome back any time. Deirdre
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rustic feel but yet has all mod cons
Liked least: Only had 2 nights booked 😂😂
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
Thanks for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed the house and the facilities. We like to make our guests feel 'at home' and also get to know the Hidden Ireland where we are located.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah M
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Absolutely lived the house and grounds....perfect for us and my parents plus our 10 year old and her friend. The children loved the go kart and basketball (truth be told we all did )
The house is beautiful, the grounds and garden even more so. As we had great weather whilst we were there, we ate outside for breakfast lunch and dinner ! Just amazing to be able to do this. Beds were comfortable and plenty of dvds and books to keep you entertained if you wanted to stay in (we didnt - we mostly adventured and took advantage of the sun)
Loved seeign all the wildlife, took a walk into the woods too which was fun.
Trampoline for kids, fish pond and comfy outdoor furniture meant there really was chance to keep busy but relaxed all the time.
The owners were very helpful and friendly and even the neighbours visited and were very nice and chatty.
No shops in nearby walking distance.....you will need a car without doubt. But only a few minutes drive to local corner store, butchers and Tower Bakery (lovely soda bread)
Nearby Horse and Jockey hotel is nice for food and has spa, restaurant and deli/bakery.
Nearby supermarkets are Lidl, Tesco and Aldi (this is nearest - about 5 min drive)
Cant emphasise the size of this place, the space you will get and the sheer character of the house and its grounds. Perfect getaway ! And very reasonably priced too.....we loved it and hope to return next year x

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2016
Sarah and her husband and family, including her parents were super guests. They were easy to communicate with, found the way to the farmhouse, even with my funny directions, and really were very positive about the house and the area. Lovely to feel that Hidden Ireland is alive and well. Welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathie560
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

What a place! Just stayed for a week for a family holiday incorporating a wedding & this was the perfect place for us. It is a real home from home there is nothing you could want that isn't there! We had a "pretend" Xmas Day as our daughter was visiting from Australia & it was perfect location - we had a full Xmas lunch followed by drinks in the beautiful gardens on the sunshine. It is really peaceful place, lovely house, beautiful gardens & abundant wildlife ( birds, rabbits etc). Highly recommend this lovely place as a home from home!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2016
So happy that kathie and family had a good stay and enjoyed the house and surroundings. Yes we love our garden but are delighted when others like it too. Lovely guests welcome to return any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel S
surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A TRUE IRISH EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I have been to Ireland millions of times over the years, my mother is from Thurles in fact but staying here we had such a relaxing, stress free time,the farmhouse is amazing the gardens are beautiful and it is so quiet there. The kitchen has everything you need but we only cooked breakfast there, we ate out nearly every night, we went to Hayes hotel in Thurles town centre and the Horse and Jockey which is on the outskirts of Thurles, both have wonderful food.We spent a lot of time visiting family there but there are lots of things to see and do in this part of Ireland For a great night out and a true Irish experience, Thursdays only though, get there for about 10pm and expect to leave in the early hours of the morning,go to Jim O'Mills, it is a cottage turned into a pub, it has singers and musicians there and they are brilliant it was voted as Ireland s number one pub please go, in the welcome pack are taxi numbers we used Tommy Lyons he knew where this place was, it takes about 20 mins to get there,but make sure you book a taxi for coming back. Myself my wife and my mother stayed at this stunning farmhouse for a week we loved it I have told all my family and friends to stay here book up or miss out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Couldn't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2016
Dear Noel, we are so glad that the house lived up to expectations, that it was all that you wanted. Thurles is part of Hidden Ireland with so many places to still discover and wonderful experiences such as you had in that venue you went to to listen to local musicians. Loughmore nearby also has a No 1 voted coffee shop so yes keep coming visitors and discover more! Noel was a perfect guest he left the house prefect. Thanks Noel and your family!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMendelss...
County Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pictures do not do this justice”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I've been on a few self catering cottages in my life. It's my "go to" style of travelling.
This has been one of the best experiences I have had so far. The pictures really do not do it justice! The place is amazing: Rustic , stylish, well kept, and so very homey.
With sprawling gardens, grazing cows in the fields, your own forest to explore, staying was just a joy.
Added to that was the hospitality of the owners, with Joseph welcoming us with wine, superb scones and bread (and excellent jam) we could not have been happier.
Would totally return, and am planning to already.

Thank you Deirdre and Joseph for having us, it was a pleasure. My only complaint? Its prettier in real life :)
Update the pics guys :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and grounds are oustanding
Liked least: Wifi reception was sketchy in certain parts of the house, but then again, it is quite huge.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
This review is most welcome and it is good to know that N and his family enjoyed their stay there. Im grateful for the advice on the pictures and will do my utmost to get better shots! N and his family are more than welcome any time, they were marvellous guests they left the place sparkling clean! Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;