We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality exhibition!”

The National 1798 Rebellion Centre
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Enniscorthy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the great visitor attractions in County Wexford.... Fanned by flames of Revolution in America and France, the events of 1798 in Ireland are etched forever on the annals of Irish history. Vividly re-told in an exciting interpretation of events the "Rebellion Experience" at The National 1798 Rebellion Centre is not to be missed. On your visit you will learn in gruesome detail how some 20,000 insurgents faced the might of 10,000 well-trained and well-armed Crown Forces, and learn the significance of the nearby Vinegar Hill Battlefield.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Quality exhibition!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We only found out about the Enniscorthy 1798 Rebellion Centre whilst visiting the Famine Ship in New Ross. We had asked questions there about the Rebellion and they suggested we visit the Enniscorthy display. We're very glad they did. After a tasty lunch in the cafeteria we ventured into the exhibition and were immediately impressed with the quality and informative nature of the interactive displays. We spent almost 2 hours enjoying the display. I knew little about the rebellion and the events leading up to it and left feeling like an expert! If you're at all interested in Irish history, you won't be disappointed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RichardMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WexfordJacquiH, Manager at The National 1798 Rebellion Centre, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Richard. Many thanks for your very positive review of our Centre, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit so much, and found it so informative. We take great pride in our restaurant and 'Rebellion Experience', and strive to give our visitors as much information as they wish, in as interactive and interesting a way as possible. We hope that you can visit us again the next time you are in Ireland. Many thanks, Jacqui and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    38
    4
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
394 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Great factual story”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I was a little surprised that this did not come up on a TA search for 'Attractions' in Enniscorthy. We only found out about it when visiting the Castle in the middle of town ... they offered a good value joint ticket to the two attractions. The Centre is about a 10-15 minute walk from the Castle and is not in the centre of town, however there is some parking at the Centre.

It is well worth a visit if you wants facts on the rebellion ... we learnt a huge amount. The story is well presented in a series of various formats with the concluding dramatic diorama and video. There is a lot to read and take in as you go around ... it is self-guided. My only criticism is that there is not much to keep children occupied if their parents wanted to really get into the info presented ... fortunately, w were on our own.

There is also a nice cafe on site.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui H, Manager at The National 1798 Rebellion Centre, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hello Chris. Many thanks for your positive feedback of our Rebellion Centre, and we are delighted that you found it so informative. Our Centre is a leisurely 10 - 15 minute walk from our sister attraction Enniscorthy Castle, and there is indeed ample parking on site.

In relation to your comment on ‘not much to keep children occupied’, I would like to clarify that we have a range of offerings for children and their parents - including an accompanying workbook for their visit; certificate at the end, childrens’ (and adults!!) dress up area, with an opportunity to handle weapons from the period and take photographs as a rebel or redcoat; interactive displays, and PSI (Pikeman Secret Investigator) clues, hidden throughout the exhibition. We are also acutely aware of the possible time pressures on visitors with children, and we facilitate parents to take as much time as they wish to fully explore the exhibition, or failing that, offer a return voucher, valid for a number of months. None of these additional offerings for families were made aware to you during your visit as they did not apply to your situation, but I welcome the opportunity to clarify for others.

Thanks again for your positive feedback, and we look forward to you joining us again in the future. Jacqui and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent - very informative”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very few original artefacts on display but a great exhibition and very informative explanatory texts and recordings leading up to the final show of the Battle of Vinegar Hill in 1798. We were horrified by the tales of atrocity and torture and left with a greater understanding of recent Irish history. If you're visiting Enniscorthy, do not miss it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank margaret h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WexfordJacquiH, Manager at The National 1798 Rebellion Centre, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Hi Margaret, We're delighted you enjoyed your visit to our Centre, and that you learned so much from it. We hope to add further to our exhibition as we are presently undertaking research on Vinegar Hill Battlefield, and hope this will add to our knowledge and exhibitions. Thanks, Jacqui and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Interesting site”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I am an American student of Irish history, and my wife and I have tried to visit as many historic places as possible on our 4 trips to Ireland. I didn't know much about this failed rebellion site, but I learned quite a bit during our visit. The presentations were well done. My wife was tugging at my sleeve to get me to move faster, but I wanted to read everything I saw. I found it interesting that the foes of the Irish were not called "English." Instead they were called the much more amorphous "crown" troops

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank oosooriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui H, Manager at The National 1798 Rebellion Centre, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Many thanks for your feedback, and we're delighted that you enjoyed your trip to our Rebellion Centre, and found it interesting and informative. Yes indeed we don't say the 'English army' as many of these were actually Irish, which goes to prove the point that the Rebellion is not as 'black and white' as history portrays it...but it is always good to challenge our understanding of history!!! Thanks again, and we hope you can come back and visit us on your next trip. Jacqui and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great expierence”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Visited the new exhibition and it’s really fantastic! Took us at least an hour to go round. Loved the Blacksmith and the final film show.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scubabadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui H, Manager at The National 1798 Rebellion Centre, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Hi Scubabadger. We're delighted you enjoyed your visit, and our exciting new 'Rebellion' Experience. Thanks for your posting, and we hope you visit us again soon. Jacqui and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The National 1798 Rebellion Centre also viewed

Enniscorthy, County Wexford
Enniscorthy, County Wexford
 
Ferns, Enniscorthy
County Wexford, Province of Leinster
 

Been to The National 1798 Rebellion Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing