We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see !!”

The National 1798 Rebellion Centre
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Enniscorthy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the great visitor attractions in County Wexford.... Fanned by flames of Revolution in America and France, the events of 1798 in Ireland are etched forever on the annals of Irish history. Vividly re-told in an exciting interpretation of events the "Rebellion Experience" at The National 1798 Rebellion Centre is not to be missed. On your visit you will learn in gruesome detail how some 20,000 insurgents faced the might of 10,000 well-trained and well-armed Crown Forces, and learn the significance of the nearby Vinegar Hill Battlefield.
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent facility in the middle of enniscorthy, must see for history lovers. Brilliant informative staff and excellent visual and audio tour for very reasonable price.

Thank Rebecca900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui H, Manager at The National 1798 Rebellion Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hi Rebecca, thanks very much for your review, and we are delighted that you found both our staff and experience 'a must see'. We hope we'll see you again soon. Jacqui and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"vinegar hill"
in 36 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 14 reviews
"all ages"
in 7 reviews
"scones"
in 5 reviews
"interactive displays"
in 3 reviews
"own pace"
in 3 reviews
"actual battle"
in 3 reviews
"interactive experience"
in 3 reviews
"great exhibition"
in 4 reviews
"bring visitors"
in 2 reviews
"blown away"
in 2 reviews
"final battle"
in 2 reviews
"small kids"
in 2 reviews
"minute walk from the castle"
in 2 reviews
"easily spend an hour"
in 2 reviews
"chess pieces"
in 2 reviews
"friendly staff"
in 5 reviews
Filter

125 - 129 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

The National 1798 Rebellion Centre is a really interesting place, well-presented, informative and captivating. it has multi media presentations offering moving experience of the events of 1798. A really well presented exhibition! Highly recommended!!

Thank bustraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui H, Manager at The National 1798 Rebellion Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hi. Thanks for your very positive review of our Rebellion experience, and for your post. We're delighted that you enjoyed the experience, and hope that you will visit us again soon. Jacqui and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We only found out about the Enniscorthy 1798 Rebellion Centre whilst visiting the Famine Ship in New Ross. We had asked questions there about the Rebellion and they suggested we visit the Enniscorthy display. We're very glad they did. After a tasty lunch in the cafeteria we ventured into the exhibition and were immediately impressed with the quality and informative nature of the interactive displays. We spent almost 2 hours enjoying the display. I knew little about the rebellion and the events leading up to it and left feeling like an expert! If you're at all interested in Irish history, you won't be disappointed.

Thank RichardMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WexfordJacquiH, Manager at The National 1798 Rebellion Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Richard. Many thanks for your very positive review of our Centre, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit so much, and found it so informative. We take great pride in our restaurant and 'Rebellion Experience', and strive to give our visitors as much information as they wish, in as interactive and interesting a way as possible. We hope that you can visit us again the next time you are in Ireland. Many thanks, Jacqui and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I was a little surprised that this did not come up on a TA search for 'Attractions' in Enniscorthy. We only found out about it when visiting the Castle in the middle of town ... they offered a good value joint ticket to the two attractions. The Centre is about a 10-15 minute walk from the Castle and is not in the centre of town, however there is some parking at the Centre.

It is well worth a visit if you wants facts on the rebellion ... we learnt a huge amount. The story is well presented in a series of various formats with the concluding dramatic diorama and video. There is a lot to read and take in as you go around ... it is self-guided. My only criticism is that there is not much to keep children occupied if their parents wanted to really get into the info presented ... fortunately, w were on our own.

There is also a nice cafe on site.

Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui H, Manager at The National 1798 Rebellion Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hello Chris. Many thanks for your positive feedback of our Rebellion Centre, and we are delighted that you found it so informative. Our Centre is a leisurely 10 - 15 minute walk from our sister attraction Enniscorthy Castle, and there is indeed ample parking on site.

In relation to your comment on ‘not much to keep children occupied’, I would like to clarify that we have a range of offerings for children and their parents - including an accompanying workbook for their visit; certificate at the end, childrens’ (and adults!!) dress up area, with an opportunity to handle weapons from the period and take photographs as a rebel or redcoat; interactive displays, and PSI (Pikeman Secret Investigator) clues, hidden throughout the exhibition. We are also acutely aware of the possible time pressures on visitors with children, and we facilitate parents to take as much time as they wish to fully explore the exhibition, or failing that, offer a return voucher, valid for a number of months. None of these additional offerings for families were made aware to you during your visit as they did not apply to your situation, but I welcome the opportunity to clarify for others.

Thanks again for your positive feedback, and we look forward to you joining us again in the future. Jacqui and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very few original artefacts on display but a great exhibition and very informative explanatory texts and recordings leading up to the final show of the Battle of Vinegar Hill in 1798. We were horrified by the tales of atrocity and torture and left with a greater understanding of recent Irish history. If you're visiting Enniscorthy, do not miss it.

Thank margaret h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WexfordJacquiH, Manager at The National 1798 Rebellion Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Hi Margaret, We're delighted you enjoyed your visit to our Centre, and that you learned so much from it. We hope to add further to our exhibition as we are presently undertaking research on Vinegar Hill Battlefield, and hope this will add to our knowledge and exhibitions. Thanks, Jacqui and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The National 1798 Rebellion Centre also viewed

Enniscorthy, County Wexford
Ferns, Enniscorthy
 
Enniscorthy, County Wexford
 

Been to The National 1798 Rebellion Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing