We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute bliss”
Review of Monart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Monart
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Enniscorthy
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolute bliss”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Have just returned from a one night stay at Monart and had a wonderfully relaxing time. The staff could not be more attentive yet unobtrusive and the facilities were second to none. The breakfast the following day was fresh and delicious and The manager was warm, friendly and efficient.
I will definitely come back soon!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kideez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,182
    267
    94
    42
    24
See reviews for
189
784
56
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Our second trip to Monart was in Nov 2011 after a first, memorable 2 day visit in 2008 at around the same time of year. The place is still very high quality on most counts - pleasant and warm welcome, friendly staff, lovely spacious, quiet rooms with very comfortable beds, good spa facilities and a v.good breakfast - ideal combination of menu and buffet. It is still an ideal getaway for a couple for a few days. Treatments-wise, I had a massage for the first time here and thought it was wonderful. I'll do that again. We had afternoon tea in the bar one day - excellent - but our evening meal in the restaurant was very unspecial, certainly compared to the wonderful meal we had three years previously. This was the one area in which we thought the quality had declined. That said, the cost for the two nights including treatments was at least 25% cheaper than three years ago.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Have just returned home from a weekend from Monart and am very much looking forward to staying there again.

Arrived at about 5:30pm on Friday and after a short check-in we were shown our room. Tastefully decorated, spacious and very comfortable. We had booked dinner in a different restaurant in Enniscorthy that evening based on the recommendation of a friend and I'm sorry that we did that now as the food in Monart was absolutely delicious and way above the standard of where we went. On Saturday morning we had a beautiful breakfast and then made our way to the spa to spend some time before our treatment. The spa area is so relaxing. All needs are taken care of as there are refreshments, clean towels and a recommendation of how to use each room (i.e. steam room, sauna, hydro pool etc.) to get the most out of the experience. There was also a delightful therapist called Sarah giving foot massages (which were included in the thermal spa experience) and generally chatting to the guests. We chose the mud chamber treatment for 2 and had a laugh smearing mud all over ourselves before relaxing in a steam-filled room with atmospheric lighting. "Tropical rain" then fell so we cleaned up and went for lunch with baby soft skin. Lunch was perfect and hit the spot. Afternoon tea later on was even better with devine cinnamon scones in a quiet & private room in the old house. We had already booked dinner when we booked the weekend. Follow the advice of the person that is taking your initial booking and book your food and treatments straight away. We had already booked our mud chamber treatment but were unable to fit in another massage or hair appointment as they were already fully booked with long cancellation lists. I didn't mind this in the slightest as I was delighted to see somewhere like Monart being busy and full of guests! It means they're not going to be cutting back services or closing down or anything horrible like that!

By the way, everyone just wanders about in the hotel robes. There are more guests walking around in robes than in clothes. The only time this changes is towards the evening when guests are starting to have dinner.

*Sigh* When do I get to go back?!!

Staff were wonderful and so warm & friendly :)
Food was delicious :)
Scenery was spectacular :)
Spa was 1st class :)

Room Tip: Not so much a tip for a good room as it is a tip for a better experience... Book treatments and foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agentkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We had 6 massages and 5 were just substandard. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed the destination but the €115 to €90 massages are worth about €15 which is probably what the very tired and clearly overworked beauty terapist are paid. If your a 5 star spa charging €100 odd for a massage you need to provide unforgettable treatments. These girls would not be able to run a massage business outside as they would get no return business. This is by no means taking from the kind people they are they are just not able to massage sorry it all becomes a one star experience after that..

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ardtrasna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We visited Monart for a one night stay in February. This was our second visit, having last been there on 2010.
The Spa experience is excellent - facilities, service, staff, and creates a real sense of relaxation where one can really chill out and take quality downtime. The setting of the resort is really fabulous, and the grounds, gardens and walks are very well maintained - not 'manicured' as such but as close to a natural state that seems to have evolved organically as opposed to being landscaped by garden designers.
We had lunch in the bar area, which was excellent. Great casual food and wonderful service led by the French waiter, Thierry. He is one of the most professional operators I have ever seen in restaurant anywhere - a consummate professional who is a master of his craft and a credit to Monart!
Dinner in the formal restaurant was not at the standard one expects in such a fine establishment. My starter of Papperdelle with King Prawn and a Parmesan mouse tasted of little but pasta and cream. Main course of excellent halibut was let down by a cassoulet of pearl onions and something else I can't recall, but the cassoulet was again quite bland. Side order of trash market vegetables was withered! While we dined late at 9.15, better is to be expected at the prices charged on the A la Carte menu. Dinner let the place down. We regretted not having dinner in the bar from a quite attractive menu. We would return to chill in the spa and dine in the bar and have a relaxing break.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dromadamusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Myself and my husband (aged 30 and 32) stayed here for 2 nights in August for my 30th birthday. Do I think my husband enjoyed it as much as I did?.. No. Unless you enjoy the experience of a spa and the treatments etc it is not worth the money... Thankfully for me I really do enjoy that. Guests wander around the hotel in their robes and relaxation is what this hotel is all about. Rooms very large and beautifully decorated. Food I would give a 4/5. All in all a very relaxing stay in a beautiful 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiaSDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We have taken a while to write this review of Monart because although the overall experience was pleasant, most of the individual parts of our experience there were disappointing.

We arrived on Friday evening at approximately 6pm and had not made a booking for dinner. Our luggage was taken from us on arrival by the porter. We were third in the queue to check in and were directed to a seating area where we waited for approximately 30 minutes before we were processed. At this time the lack of a booking became a discussion point and were were informed that the dining room could only accept us at seven thirty. Fine.

We were brought to our room which was lovely, warm and spacious. However, there was no sign of our luggage so we waited there hoping to freshen up and change before dinner. Eventually, at 7.15, and mindful of the 7.30 slot in the dining room, we left our room without having seen our luggage and went to the bar for a quick drink before eating.

The bar was not really a bar at all. It was a room with lots of tables set for dinner. We were not allowed to sit at any of these because we were not eating there. Close to the bar - just a counter really (no stools) - there were about three tables that were not laid out for dinner and we were lucky to get one of these after standing around for a few minutes. I enjoy a pint of Guinness and ordered one but as soon as I saw it I knew it was going to be disappointing. A flat head and a sour taste. Very unpleasant.

Mindful of the 7.30 deadline for dinner we went to the dining room which was large, cold and practically empty. We were seated in an area remote from the main part of the diningroom. Dinner was ordinary. Not bad, not particularly good. Service was pleasant.

Regardless of the above our memory is that we enjoyed the evening, probably because we were determined to do so.

Breakfast was pleasant and a tour of the spa showed it to be very impressive, modern and interesting. It was very busy. We walked the gardens and thought that they were really well laid out, interesting and relaxing.

We decided to visit Wexford for lunch and a stroll. On our way out of Enniscorthy we had a problem with our car which required the attention of a mechanic. Everyone we approached during this time were warm, friendly and very helpful. The mechanic who helped us refused money and only when pressed asked for "the price of a pint" for his time. He got at least a round out of us. Our experience in Wexford was similar. People could not have been nicer and we had a very pleasant time.

In Monart that evening we had the same experience in the bar and dinner was of the same standard as the previous night. The evening was spoilt somewhat by an event which was upsetting at the time but which was eventually dealt with pleasantly by the hotel management.

I had a treatment next day which was very enjoyable and relaxing but was marred by the fact that the treatment room was very noisy (it was the one adjacent to the spa reception area) and very expensive at 114 euro for an hour.

Checkout was efficient and during this time we met the owner, or "the mortgagee", as he called himself. He was very engaging and affable and distracted us from the fact that the two nights b&b, dinner both nights, three bottles of wine and a few drinks came to just under one thousand euro.

Would we go back to Enniscorthy and Wexford? in a heartbeat. Would we stay in Monart again? Dont think so.Did we enjoy the weekend? Immensely. I know, its hard to explain.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 5WildSwans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniscorthy
2.0 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
20.3 mi away
Seafield Hotel & Spa Resort
13.6 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
2.0 mi away
Treacy's Hotel
Treacy's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Enniscorthy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
18.6 mi away
Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monart

Property: Monart
Address: The Still, Enniscorthy, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Enniscorthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Enniscorthy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Monart 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monart Destination Spa 'The Great Escape' is an Adults Only Destination, to unwind, escape the stresses of modern life, relax and return to one's true nature. Voted in the top three Destinations Worldwide by Conde Nast Reader's Choice Awards. Irish Tatler Destination Spa of the Year 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Monart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monart Hotel Enniscorthy
Monart Spa Enniscorthy
Monart Enniscorthy, Ireland - County Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing