We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful- can't wait to go back!”
Review of Monart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Monart
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Enniscorthy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Monart is absolutely stunning and i have no doubt i will be back. I don’t think i have ever felt as relaxed in my entire life!

I am however giving it 4 stars rather than 5. The reasons are:

- The lack of Jacuzzi/hot-tub. Given that they have a salt grotto, 4 varieties of sauna, steam room etc it seems odd to not have a Jacuzzi.
- The evening meal- a little disappointing. The food was dry and really could have been a lot better, although the wine list is superb. (It should be noted that breakfast was infinitely better than dinner- fabulous hot menu and very extensive buffet too)
- The treatments- at 100 min a pop, you expect something very special and really they are fairly average.

In contrast, here are my pluses:
- The entire place is immaculate- i cannot grasp how they keep it so clean! Literally not a speck of dirt to be found ANYWHERE.
- The layout and architecture of the hotel is exceptional- the amt of glass used in the structure gives a great feeling of natural light throughout. At night the walkways are candlelight and it's just beautiful.
- The staff are all very pleasant and helpful- particularly in the restaurant.
- Being able to wander around the entire hotel in the robe/slippers is just wonderful. Most other spa hotels i’ve been to only encourage this in the actual spa area, but in Monart because it’s a ‘destination’ spa, everyone is be-robed all day.
- The 2 hour thermal suite experience is really fabulous and you feel a million dollars after it
- The rooms are gorgeous- very spacious and each one has a balcony outside- although ask for a room with a view of the lake at the back, as opposed to the wooded area at the front!

Next time we won’t bother with treatments, order food and champagne to the room and not get out of the robes for the ENTIRE stay! I will definitely be back despite my comments about the food etc- it is a fabulous place and i was raging we only stayed one night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view, rather than the rooms at the front which have a less impressive vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WonkaBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,452 - 1,458 of 1,728 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

This by far has to be the most relaxing hotels and comfortable that i have stayed in. I don't sleep to well in any hotel but i got a whole nights sleep and more here.....

When you arrive at the gates a the entrance you buzz reception who open gates and welcome you at the steps into the old house. You don't carry your any of your bags in you leave them in the car and is valet parked. You go through the old house through glass corridor to reception are. Here you are welcomed with a shot of fresh smoothie. Everything is explained to you and you are walked to your room and shown around the room ie on how everything works where the switches are etc.

Nothing is too much for the staff here and you are encouraged throughout your stay to unwind and leave the outside world behind. Much of the day is spent in your rope from breakfast with the exception that you must dress for dinner. Mobile phones are requested to be switched off, newspapers are available in the old house and you are asked to leave them there. It in some ways this place would remind you of the Priory clinic but in a good way. (I haven't been there but hope you understand my comparison)

Rooms are spacious and very clean. The colour's are neutral tones quite pale. The bed was fabulous extremely comfortable best i have had to date. Bathroom big with power shower and nicely decorated. Only downside to the room was the TV, very cheap model with poor sound quality. There is a selection of DVD's at reception but the sound was too crackly so didn't watch them.

The decor and furniture throughout the hotel is stunning.

The Spa was spotless and had everything you needed. A little downside was the hydro pool was quite small for those who would have liked a swim. There was complimentary foot massages from the staff while you soaked your feet. I could go on but overall it is easy to understand why it is rated one of the top destination spa's in the Europe. The hotel is built around the spa, you go for the Spa and have the advantage to get a night s sleep also.

I found the food and drinks a little on the pricey side, in saying that the restaurant was fabulous very informal and relaxed. The breakfast was brilliant such a great selection from the buffet all fresh and healthy best i have had to date.

In essence this hotel is somewhere you go to escape and forget about home, work and all the rest of the stress. I stayed for 3 nights and would most certainly advise a minimum of 2 nights to really avail of the benefits.

Room Tip: Ground floor, as you can sit out on patio which over look landscaped gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hjs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed here from 9th to 11th March 2012. The Good ....Nice setting, Attractive building inside and out. Large rooms with comfortable bed. Food 80% of the time. Staff very courteous and helpful,
The Bad....Spa is a group of rooms that are just a few saunas with different temperatures, steam room and small house sized pool. It is really overcrowded also.
Banging doors... I'm sorry doors should not bang when closed, they should be soft close so you don't wake everytime someone enters another room.

Food is great at times...burnt waffles for breakfast is not something i expect in a 5 star place.Breakfast is like a cattlemart at the weekend.

Way Overpriced for what you get. There are other far better spa hotels that are less pricey in Ireland.

Pointed some of this out to receptionist when booking out. She said she will mention it someone senior. But me? I just had to lump it.
Don't believe "best spa in europe hyperbole"

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bazzad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

A fabulous setting , maybe a great get away if you are completely exhausted . A bit over priced for these days and dare I say a bit boring. The spa is just a lot of saunas really , no jaquzzi or hot tub. Rooms nice, breakfast fab, dinner nice but small choice on menu and again overpriced.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roziemurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This was my second time in Monart and the high standards have remained despite recessionary times. I was really wowed the first time I visited to be greeted at the front door by the receptionist but on this occasion it was actually very busy when we arrived so it was the more usual hurried check in you get in hotels as the receptionist was on her own. The package was good value. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the atmosphere is very relaxing. The food is good but I would agree with other reviewers that the food in the restaurant is not as amazing as I remembered it being a few years ago. However it is very good none the less. The breakfasts are the best I ever had, marvellous variety, and so relaxing to be able to have it in your bathrobe. The spa is top class and it is nice to have tea in the front rooms in the old house.( Incidently (if Mr Griffin is reading this!) I think they could make more of these rooms, they could do with more comfortable sofas, it is all a bit hard edged, black and grey, like a plush office space, and it would be nice to retreat there after dinner to lounge but we found the decor and lack of comfort a bit off putting). All in all a great getaway and good value of a high standard.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackytabacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Have just returned from a one night stay at Monart and had a wonderfully relaxing time. The staff could not be more attentive yet unobtrusive and the facilities were second to none. The breakfast the following day was fresh and delicious and The manager was warm, friendly and efficient.
I will definitely come back soon!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kideez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Our second trip to Monart was in Nov 2011 after a first, memorable 2 day visit in 2008 at around the same time of year. The place is still very high quality on most counts - pleasant and warm welcome, friendly staff, lovely spacious, quiet rooms with very comfortable beds, good spa facilities and a v.good breakfast - ideal combination of menu and buffet. It is still an ideal getaway for a couple for a few days. Treatments-wise, I had a massage for the first time here and thought it was wonderful. I'll do that again. We had afternoon tea in the bar one day - excellent - but our evening meal in the restaurant was very unspecial, certainly compared to the wonderful meal we had three years previously. This was the one area in which we thought the quality had declined. That said, the cost for the two nights including treatments was at least 25% cheaper than three years ago.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniscorthy
2.0 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
20.3 mi away
Seafield Hotel & Spa Resort
11.5 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Treacy's Hotel
Treacy's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Enniscorthy
717 reviews
18.6 mi away
Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa
13.2 mi away
Clayton Whites Hotel
Clayton Whites Hotel
#5 of 5 in Wexford
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monart

Address: The Still, Enniscorthy, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Enniscorthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Enniscorthy
Price Range: £226 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Monart 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monart Destination Spa 'The Great Escape' is an Adults Only Destination, to unwind, escape the stresses of modern life, relax and return to one's true nature. Voted in the top three Destinations Worldwide by Conde Nast Reader's Choice Awards. Irish Tatler Destination Spa of the Year 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Monart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monart Hotel Enniscorthy
Monart Spa Enniscorthy
Monart Enniscorthy, Ireland - County Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing