We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful as Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Monart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Monart
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Enniscorthy
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Blissful as Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Just back from our annual trip to Monart and am glad to say it's as good as ever. The staff make Monart extra special, special mention to the young Irish porter who saw me struggling with my key to get into room 66, a long way from reception who hared down to get me a new key. We has a lovely view over the lake to see all the tiny ducklings swim frantically behind their parents,but this was the only frantic thing in the whole place . It seems to run seamlessly , each staff member professional yet friendly . I had a facial and Reiki and floated out from both , whilst my friend had a facial and a wrap and nearly spent the night in the dark relaxation room , so relaxed as she was. Dinner was a master class in presentation and the boneless rack of lamb was beautiful. We ate both in the bar and restaurant and enjoyed each thoroughly. Our one regret was missing Patrick, whom we have met each year since we stare our annual pilgrimage , but there is always next year!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank HarveyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Manager at Monart, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear HarveyIreland,

Many thanks for your wonderfully kind words regarding your recent stay at Monart. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your annual trip to us.

I personally am sorry to have missed you this year, but alas next time need not be too long.
We look forward to seeing you then.
__________________________________________
Monart Destination Spa ‘The Great Escape’
Monart is an Adults Only Destination, to unwind, escape the stresses of modern life, relax and return to one’s true nature. Voted in the top three Destinations Worldwide by Condé Nast Reader’s Choice Awards. Tatler Destination Spa of the Year 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,163
    266
    94
    42
    23
See reviews for
182
778
55
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Just spent the last 2 night's in the fabulous monart, this has being my fifth visit, spa was so relaxing, beauty therapist's Emma was just brilliant with my treatment,rooms as always so comfortable, breakfast lunches & dinners could not be faulted, but the best part of my stay has to be the staff, so friendly and helpful, special thanks to patrick who has always made my time in the monart so special every year, probably the reason I keep returning here, can't wait for my next visit.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Manager at Monart, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Sandra H,

Thank you for your review of your stay recently with us here at Monart.
We are delighted with your high praise and commendation.

I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Emma who I know will be delighted.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
__________________________________________
Monart Destination Spa ‘The Great Escape’
Monart is an Adults Only Destination, to unwind, escape the stresses of modern life, relax and return to one’s true nature. Voted in the top three Destinations Worldwide by Condé Nast Reader’s Choice Awards. Tatler Destination Spa of the Year 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Everything about this place is great. The grounds, rooms, facilities, food, bar, service. It's not cheap but great for a special occasion. I particularly like the contemporary style and design. A lot if Irish hotels are old fashioned but monart is very slick.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickydavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Manager at Monart, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear MickyDavid,

Many thanks for your review of your stay with us here at Monart last September.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your great escape, and very much hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.
__________________________________________
Monart Destination Spa ‘The Great Escape’
Monart is an Adults Only Destination, to unwind, escape the stresses of modern life, relax and return to one’s true nature. Voted in the top three Destinations Worldwide by Condé Nast Reader’s Choice Awards. Tatler Destination Spa of the Year 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

from the moment the gates open , heaven awaits...... total pampering, total relaxation, staff so willing to help, food in lounge and restaurant only delicious, and breakfast to die for, just back and wish i was going again

Room Tip: every room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Manager at Monart, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Joey Michelle D,

Many thanks for your review of your time with us here at Monart. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and very much hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.
__________________________________________
Monart Destination Spa ‘The Great Escape’
Monart is an Adults Only Destination, to unwind, escape the stresses of modern life, relax and return to one’s true nature. Voted in the top three Destinations Worldwide by Condé Nast Reader’s Choice Awards. Tatler Destination Spa of the Year 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here last week for a one night getaway with friends. The grounds and hotel are really lovely and so relaxing especially the bedrooms overlooking the ponds complete with gorgeous ducklings! The spa, we found to be extremely modern and had so much to enjoy in the thermal suite. One small complaint however, would be the apparent lack of organisation or leadership in the spa front of house, we had to wait around and ask several people before we were shown around the spa itself and changing rooms. This said, everything else was perfect and the staff very helpful and friendly, will definitely be back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dolly1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Manager at Monart, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Dolly1912,

Many thanks for your review of your time with us here at Monart recently. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Please be assured that your comments relating to our Spa, have the fullest attention of all the team.

We very much hope to welcome you to Monart again in the Future.
__________________________________________
Monart Destination Spa ‘The Great Escape’
Monart is an Adults Only Destination, to unwind, escape the stresses of modern life, relax and return to one’s true nature. Voted in the top three Destinations Worldwide by Condé Nast Reader’s Choice Awards. Tatler Destination Spa of the Year 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I have just returned from my 5th visit to Monart, and I am just so very disappointed. I am a therapist myself and had been following the building of Monart prior to its opening with abated breath. I have worked in several hotels in cork, as Spa manager over the boom years and was so looking forward to the opening of Monart.
Myself and my husband got engaged at Monart in May 2007, and WOW what an experience, food, treatments, accommodation and service everything was just amazing. We returned in 2009 for our first wedding anniversary and again were blown away by everything. We returned again in November 2012 to celebrate our 12 week scan of our first baby and we were disappointed in the food but the service and treatments remained excellent. That year we were treating our best friends to a weekend trip away and decided to go to Doonbeg instead as both our friends are real foodies and after our last visit we felt they would have been disappointed in Monart, even though we do nothing but rave about it to everyone, and as you can tell it is a very special place to us.
On my fourth visit back in November 2013 I took my sister in law with me, when we checked in I was asked if it was our first trip here but I explained no it was my 4th time and that I love it so much I was bringing my sister in law, as we had both just had babies and it was our first trip away from them. I explained to reception that I had booked it in my maiden name and that is why they probably couldn't see I had been before. Yet again everything, including the food, was amazing and we thoroughly enjoyed it. What I love about it most is the robes to breakfast (although very much a rule in the beginning, it has become some what lax and now you have a situation at breakfast with some people wearing robes and some not and both feeling a bit out of place, when it was a 'rule' it was much better and far more enjoyable), so I love the robes at breakfast and I love going to the spa, having a sauna, swim etc then taken for your treatment and then the piece de resistance, the dark relaxation room, this is just sheer haven, when you have that fuzzy tired feeling after your treatment nothing does the soul more good than a power nap in here, its just amazing, you cannot fight it, and usually ends up being an hour long. Then going back to your room , showering and getting ready for dinner.
On this occasion the 6th of April, I was bringing a dear friend with me, to whom I have raved about monart to over the years. We were staying the one night and as usual had prebooked, well in advance our treatments. I was having a full body deep tissue followed by a facial and my friend was having a facial. We both left our homes early to get there so we could enjoy the spa thoroughly. We both arrived around 1pm. Again I was asked if it was my first trip here,? no my fifth. I was told rooms were not yet ready and so we would have to wait. I remembered when I went with my sister in law the same thing happened and we were told to take our swimming togs etc and go to the spa and our rooms would be ready when we came back, which we did. On this occasion I suggested we would go to the spa and could collect our room keys on the way back. To which I was told 'No' you must have checked into your room before you can go to the spa, strange, and disappointing as check in isn't until 3pm and our treatments were booked for that time. I was also told I had no treatments booked for myself??? On further investigation my treatments were located (interesting considering what happens next). The lovely lady Jenny on reception got a wriggle on with our room once it was discovered I was a returning guest and we had treatments booked and within a flash we had our room keys. Myself and my friend then went and had lunch in the bar. At 2.30pm we checked into the spa reception. No tour was given, nor was it requested as I had been there before. We went on to the relaxation room as there really wasn't time to get a sauna and swim in first before our treatments. As we were sitting there some of the staff came and put cushions on the outside loungers, it was beautiful and warm outside so we asked if we could sit out on them, we were told no problem but we said we wanted to make sure we wouldn't miss our treatments, and we were told no we wouldn't. As us women are prone to doing we got nattering and before we knew it, it was 3.20pm. We went out to the main reception saying that nobody had come for us for our treatments. We were brought down to the end of the corridor and a therapist Fiona, came down the stairs and with attitude proceeded to tell us that we must wait in this exact spot 15 minutes prior to our treatments and that nothing could be done, we had now missed our treatments??? Hang on one minute I have been here before (why is nobody listening to me) and on EVERY other occasion the therapist came into the relaxation room and called the persons name. Fiona told me that because people had complained about this practice they had changed their policy on this. I told her if you change the policy how was I supposed to know and that reception should have told us but they did not. Thankfully at this time Jenny reappeared. I was told I could have my facial rearranged for the morning and have a half hour back massage now? I had not wanted me friend to miss out on her treatment so she took the 4pm slot allocated for my facial. Now I am severely pissed off, its just a comedy of errors today. I was taken up and put on the bed, then Fiona came back in to tell me she had another appointment at 4pm and would it be possible to reschedule me for tomorrow morning instead. At this stage I just wanted out and agreed. I went back to the room and watched TV until my friend returned. I suspect in hindsight no bookings were made for me at all, as on check in I was informed I had no treatments booked, when I informed jenny otherwise they were found. However if the therapist had come looking for me at 2.45, and was aware from spa reception that I had indeed checked in then she didn't look very far to find me. I suspect they were delighted I wasn't waiting at 'x marks the spot' as they were extremely busy.
When my friend came back I was ready to go to dinner, so we headed down. I ordered the trio of pork, Fillet of beef and key lime pie. The trio was horrible and the beef was only okay but the pie was amazing. I felt extremely rushed and hovered over and once we were done our plates were whisked away. There were a few trainees on that night, which I hadn't seen before, but based on the day I was having, perhaps staff turnover is high, and we all know what that can sound for a hotel 'death knell'. The food definitely wasn't up to what I had had on previous visits. A dead give away also was the fact that a ratatouille was served as one of the vegetables i.e left overs from yesterday mashed up, I had never had that there before. The manager did come and ask us if everything was okay but by his manner it was a routine thing to ask and he was gone as quickly as he said it, and at this stage I was just didn't want to ruin anything further for my friend, so I let it go.
We had a great nights sleep, as usual, the beds are amazing, and the following morning I rang the spa to cancel my treatments as they were booked from 10 -12. Check out is 12 and I didn't want to be rushing breakfast and wanted to enjoy the time left with my friend. We went to breakfast in our robes and again I was surprised by the number of people not wearing robes, one guy was even on his mobile phone, totally defeats the purpose of relaxing at breakfast and I feel this should be totally discouraged like it always was. I was still eating my fruit plate when the lady serving the hot breakfast whisked it away and as she was doing so asked 'are you finished with that' - seriously?? a bit late now you have it gone. The French toast was not good, it was like soggy brown bread. I can vouch for the eggs benedict as I have had them before but this was my first time having the French toast - stay away not good, my friend had the same and we both agreed.
In the end I was actually looking forward to the two hour drive home just to get away. On check out I spoke with Jenny and told her how disappointed I was with the treatment fiasco, she acknowledged my disappointment but did say there are signs down at spa reception asking people to go to this designated area before your treatment time, again I told her I was a returning customer and did not get the memo that their policy on calling someone's name in the relaxation room had changed, I advised that everyone should be made aware of this by spa reception staff. Jenny went to speak with the manager. He did not come near me, and jenny returned to say that he was happy to comp my friends treatment but that there is a sign in the spa reception etc etc. I thanked her for the complimentary treatment but I was annoyed even more now because it was reluctantly given and nobody was accepting responsibility for what had happened. The customer is always RIGHT. I was a returning customer for the 5th time, I have more than paid for that complimentary treatment in all my time there and the fact that it was reluctantly given and that the manager didn't even come out to speak with me himself, as he advises in other posts on here, did it for me. I DID consider this MY hotel but as of now I shall not be returning anytime soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SusieQ1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Manager at Monart, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear SuzieQ1978,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us here at Monart.
As the Manager on duty throughout your time here, It is saddening to read your comments such as they are.

I would very much welcome an opportunity to speak with you directly, regarding the circumstances that lead to your review. Please ask for myself (Patrick) or indeed our General Manager, Mark Browne. Either of us would be delighted to learn from more this and reinstate your once high opinion of us.

We are committed to providing the very best in customer service and care; it is with this focus on excellence that we have consistently been recognised as not just 5 star, but a world leading 5 star destination SPA.
__________________________________________
Monart Destination Spa ‘The Great Escape’
Monart is an Adults Only Destination, to unwind, escape the stresses of modern life, relax and return to one’s true nature. Voted in the top three Destinations Worldwide by Condé Nast Reader’s Choice Awards. Tatler Destination Spa of the Year 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wexford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Myself and my daughter in law spent two wonderful days in the fabulous Monart spa hotel. Monart is set in a beautiful woodland in Enniscorthy Wexford. You are spoiled from the time you arrive at the entrance. The peace and tranquility you feel on entering is just wonderful.Bedrooms are very spacious, bed very comfortable and a beautiful bathroom. Staff very helpful and friendly, food is beautiful, I can't find words to express how wonderful and relaxing Monart spa is, all I can say is its just what the doctor ordered. It is well worth a visit, can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, second floor rooms have a lovely balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WexfordJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Manager at Monart, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Wexfordjoan,

We are so delighted that you and your daughter in law enjoyed your time with us.
We very much look forward to welcoming you again soon.

We are committed to providing the very best in customer service and care; it is with this focus on excellence that we have consistently been recognised as not just 5 star, but a world leading 5 star destination SPA.
__________________________________________
Monart Destination Spa ‘The Great Escape’
Monart is an Adults Only Destination, to unwind, escape the stresses of modern life, relax and return to one’s true nature. Voted in the top three Destinations Worldwide by Condé Nast Reader’s Choice Awards. Tatler Destination Spa of the Year 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniscorthy
2.0 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
20.3 mi away
Seafield Hotel & Spa Resort
13.6 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
2.0 mi away
Treacy's Hotel
Treacy's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Enniscorthy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
18.6 mi away
Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monart

Property: Monart
Address: The Still, Enniscorthy, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Enniscorthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Enniscorthy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Monart 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monart Destination Spa 'The Great Escape' is an Adults Only Destination, to unwind, escape the stresses of modern life, relax and return to one's true nature. Voted in the top three Destinations Worldwide by Conde Nast Reader's Choice Awards. Irish Tatler Destination Spa of the Year 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Monart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monart Hotel Enniscorthy
Monart Spa Enniscorthy
Monart Enniscorthy, Ireland - County Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing