We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely retreat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monart
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Enniscorthy
Certificate of Excellence
Province of Munster, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here recently for few nights. Overall we enjoyed our stay. It was very busy while we were there and maybe therefore best to go at a quieter time. Be advised everything needs to be booked in advance, even eating in the bar at night, you can't walk in at any time for your meal in the bar unfortunately. Spa treatments book up v fast also and need to be booked early if you want certain times. Spa facilities v good and treatments were nice but you felt like you were on a conveyor belt, in and out and next person after you. Other spa hotels I've been to offered smoothie drinks or fruit kebabs and personal music after your treatments which were lovely touches, all I was offered was water or some hot herbal tea/ water. There were two bowls of fruit in rooms alright but no plates or knives around to cut your grapefruits!! We felt they were understaffed and the staff were quite young and we sensed it needed a more senior staff manager around the place which I didn't see while there. I just felt like a number really.
In general hotel extremely clean, esp public toilets everywhere, plenty of towels in spa area and changing rooms which was good,and a reasonably priced in -house hairdressers which was a nice touch.
I enjoyed the idea of going around in robes for the day esp for breakfast. For dinner you got dressed.
Bedrooms are spacious but plain, bathroom nice though, rooms warm, no air con and didn't really sleep that well while there unfortunately and felt bed too soft for my liking, but that's only my preference. Tea /coffee facilities would have been nice/ ironing board but we survived!!
Food was excellent, for breakfast and dinner esp the restaurant. The waiter Dermot who has been mentioned by previous reviewers was v friendly and happy to answer any questions we might have had regarding food or wine.
It is a beautiful and stylish hotel, a mix of old and new intertwined well, a small bar in the old house might be nice for people to escape to after their dinner as you really don't have anywhere else to go unless there is a table free in bar otherwise it's off to bed!
All in all it's a lovely experience in a beautiful setting , it just needs that extra wow factor to make it one of the best spa destinations in the world, I just wasn't blown away on this occasion unfortunately.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EJ1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonartGM, General Manager at Monart, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear EJ1966,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us in Monart.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us for the most part, and thank you for your kind comments regarding Dermot. He will be thrilled.

I have taking on board all your comments and suggestions, which I would like to thank you for.
Feed back is most important for us, as it allows us to look at all our offerings and we will do what we can and what is feasible to do.

I hope we will have the pleasure of your company in the not too distant future.
Your sincerely
Mark Browne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,140
    263
    93
    42
    23
See reviews for
175
772
54
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was my second time to Monart. My partner and I noticed a different in standards since the last time. One of the big annoyances for us was the amount of groups of women that seemed to make noise where ever they went, in the spa and a particularly noisy bunch that were under our balcony smoking till all hours. The rooms were very warm and with there being no air con, we had to have the balcony door open. This lead to the smell of smoke coming in to the room from the noisy bunch of clucking hens below us. There are a few little things that would have improved our stay, such as having tea and coffee making facilities in the room and a fridge. Part of their reason for not having these in the room I assume is so that you spend more money on room service and to prevent you from bringing your own drinks and food. The offers they provide are good and very competitive but be prepared to spend a lot more money as the food and drinks are quite expensive. The food was generally good although on one occasion the waitress forgot to put our order in so we had to wait a bit longer. The menu in the Garden Lounge didn't seem to have changed since the previous year which was a bit disappointing. I think the fact that we came at a busy time affected our stay. Little touches that we had seen the first time were just not there. So I would recommend going at a less busy period. Having been there twice now I don't think we would return a third. I'd give Monart 4 starts on our first stay in September 2013 and 3 stars for our second stay in August 2014.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciaransw88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonartGM, General Manager at Monart, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Ciaransw88

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. I am disappointed to read that we did not live up to your previous visit.
Monart has enjoyed a very busy season this year, and as you stated there are very popular packages available . We strive to ensure that all of your valued clients enjoy the tranquil setting of Monart and its facilities .
We constantly change items on all our menus seasonally , and yet some of our favourite dishes remain due to popular demand.

Feedback is very important to us, where it allows us to look at all our offerings.
I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of your company in the future.
Regards
Mark Browne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcullen, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

My siblings & I brought our mam to the Monart for her 'significant' birthday treat. We had a triple and a twin room. The rooms were really lovely -well designed and spacious with each having its own balcony.
It was wonderful from the time we drove up the avenue to the moment we left -24 hours later.
We felt spoilt by the excellent service, fabulous food and of course the spa area itself.
We will be back again for sure!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonartGM, General Manager at Monart, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear CarolineM,

Thank you for your very kind review and lovely comments.
I am delighted to read that you and your Mother enjoyed your time with us and especially for your Mothers birthday celebrations.

Hopefully we will see you all back in Monart very soon.
Thank you again and best wishes,

Mark Browne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from a one night stay ( not enough time ).. From arrival to departure everything was perfect. Relaxation to the max. I Like the no newspapers , no wifi! Get away from everything.

The room was huge and the decor was top quality. Lovely balcony off the room on the second floor. Highly recommend asking for second floor.

The spa, nothing more to say than perfection. Both relaxation rooms were lovely and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It was busy but yet everyone was just relaxed and chilled. My wife said her tropical renewal treatment was her best ever treatment she's had done in any spa.

The restaurant food was beautiful and our waiter Dermot was extremely friendly and well up on his wines, great recommendation on the wine and his manor was lovely. Some banter but didn't go over the top. Thumbs up for Dermot.

All in all from the valet parking, luxury robes, perfect location, food and drinks top quality. Top 5* resort.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ianmc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Manager at Monart, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear IanMc23,

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us here at Monart. I am genuinely delighted that enjoyed your time here and it was everything that you expected from your stay.

I will be sure to pass on your kind words and commendation to Dermot also, who I am sure will be delighted.

I very much look forward to welcoming you to Monart again soon.
__________________________________________
Monart Destination Spa ‘The Great Escape’
Monart is an Adults Only Destination, to unwind, escape the stresses of modern life, relax and return to one’s true nature. Voted in the top three Destinations Worldwide by Condé Nast Reader’s Choice Awards. Tatler Spa of the Year 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here 3 times and each time is better than the last.
Food is excellent, rooms are beautiful , the whole experience is Zen like . No wifi reception except in the main house , so put away the phones and forget about the world for a day or two. The relaxation room is the best We've been to. The spa is sublime, service there is outstanding and staff are friendly but unobtrusive . When can I go back ?!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grainne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Manager at Monart, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Grainne K,

Many thanks for your review of your stay with us here at Monart, I am delighted that you have enjoyed each of your stays with us and very much hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again.
__________________________________________
Monart Destination Spa ‘The Great Escape’
Monart is an Adults Only Destination, to unwind, escape the stresses of modern life, relax and return to one’s true nature. Voted in the top three Destinations Worldwide by Condé Nast Reader’s Choice Awards. Tatler Spa of the Year 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerusalem
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We headed down to the Monart for a long deserved break. The hotel's surroundings are just perfect for walks or sitting out and enjoying the lake and watch the ducks. The room was large and perfect for resting and enjoying the green all around. The staff was great- especially Mark who was very attuned to help at all times. !

Room Tip: needed wifi - and when we asked for a land connection - i did get a connection. book spa treatment i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brendann20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Manager at Monart, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Brendann20,

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us here at Monart. I am delighted that you enjoyed your great escape and very much that we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.
__________________________________________
Monart Destination Spa ‘The Great Escape’
Monart is an Adults Only Destination, to unwind, escape the stresses of modern life, relax and return to one’s true nature. Voted in the top three Destinations Worldwide by Condé Nast Reader’s Choice Awards. Tatler Spa of the Year 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from a two night stay and the Monart and it was just lovely. Second time here and it has lost none of its appeal. Spa and treatments are great. Bedrooms ants lovely. Food is lovely. Staff are brilliant and friendly. All in all a 5 star resort. Downside is it comes with 5 star prices. Most definitely for a special treat the Monart will not disappoint.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Glebe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Manager at Monart, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Glebe1,

many thanks for your review of your time here at Monart.

We are delighted that your second trip was all that you had remembered from your first and very much look forward to welcoming you for a third trip soon.
__________________________________________
Monart Destination Spa ‘The Great Escape’
Monart is an Adults Only Destination, to unwind, escape the stresses of modern life, relax and return to one’s true nature. Voted in the top three Destinations Worldwide by Condé Nast Reader’s Choice Awards. Tatler Spa of the Year 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniscorthy
2.0 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
20.3 mi away
Seafield Hotel & Spa Resort
13.6 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
2.0 mi away
Treacy's Hotel
Treacy's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Enniscorthy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
18.7 mi away
Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monart

Property: Monart
Address: The Still, Enniscorthy, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Enniscorthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Enniscorthy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Monart 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monart Destination Spa 'The Great Escape' is an Adults Only Destination, to unwind, escape the stresses of modern life, relax and return to one's true nature. Voted in the top three Destinations Worldwide by Conde Nast Reader's Choice Awards. Irish Tatler Destination Spa of the Year 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monart Hotel Enniscorthy
Monart Spa Enniscorthy
Monart Enniscorthy, Ireland - County Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing