We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Monart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Monart
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Enniscorthy
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

My experience of the Monart was without doubt the most relaxing experience of my life. The whole focus of the staff is to ensure you enjoy your stay. The staff are friendly and professional in the appropriate measures, not overly stuffy and sterile (which I hate), obviously very well trained.

The location is superb, a beautiful old country house surrounded by gentling rolling hills just outside Enniscorthy. The grounds are fantastic. I would highly recommend leaving the spa to enjoy a stroll around the complex and fantastic views of Vinegar Hill and Mount Leinster.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The bathrooms fantastic, with a large bath and separate shower. It seems impossible not to sleep well in the rooms which are pitch black and silent at night.

The Spa is wonderful with an array of saunas and steam rooms, a small pool, a small gym and various relaxation areas. It is very noticeable that the staff ensure that the changing rooms are kept clean and well stocked with clean towels. Likewise the relaxation areas are kept well stocked with water fruit etc.

It is impossible to write anything negative about my experience. Expensive but worth every penny !

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,161
    266
    94
    42
    23
See reviews for
182
777
55
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

This is just a fabulous spa hotel. Something really special. Lovely spot for a few days away with friends or your partner. Total relaxation helped by the fact that you are told to wear your bathrobe for your entire stay! Main restaurant is too expensive by far for the quality of food- more style over substance on the plate but the barfood is good quality. Spa treatments are a little on the expensive side but they are really some of the best I've had, and you could go and not have any spa treatments and still really enjoy the place,
Just a lovely spot to chill out in - time passes very slowly here. Mobile phone coverage is really poor but actually that helps with the relaxing!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

this is very very nice location and i would recommend to anybody. from our arrival to the departure we were treated very well (ok you pay for it but well worth it). The spa i thought was amazing. its the sort of location you can leave all your worries at home and switch off for a couple of nights. it is a must see. i would be very surprised if you would feel otherwise.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0rdan1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

We loved Monart and felt the service was very good, particularly on arrival where car is valet parked and on departure. The architecture is lovely, sucessfully combining the old house and the new wings where rooms, restaurant and spa are located. Fabulous spa, only minor point was the pool which was a bit small when the spa is crowded. We thought the treatments were good but not outstanding. Treatment rooms were lovely but I didn't think much of my facial to be honest. Food was great and the market menu in the evening was good value- honest irish food, not fancy but well flavoured and generous portions. I really like the fact that spring water is included, the wine list was well priced and well chosen. Breakfast was great, service a bit patchy but still charming. All in all very realxing and we would return if prices remain at reasonable levels.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goessag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

Stayed 2 nights in this Spa Hotel recently for a very special family occasion. From the moment we arrived we were very impressed with the very relaxed atmosphere and excellent service from the staff who met us at the car to those who served the food and drink to the staff in the spa.
Our bedroom on the ground floor was large and very well laid out and immediately impressive as is the whole place whether the restaraunt or spa and especially the rooms in the original house.
While the overall stay is on the expensive side I must say judging the overall stay and food and service value for money.
My only quibble is with the bar and the fact that you have to reserve a table in the bar for evening food if not dining in the restaraunt. Be aware of this if you intend to arrive and expect to get bar food.
Also because of the bar'ssize and layout it lacked atmosphere when the diners left. The reception rooms in the original house were better for having a drink pre or post dinner.
The weekend we stayed was the start of the snow period and it was pretty heavy in Wexford but this added to our enjoyment as the hotel provides wellingtons etc if required to enjoy the walks through the extensive grounds/farmland adjoining the hotel.
Overall we found it a most relaxing weekend with excellent spa facilities and though treatments were not available because staff could not get to work the wide variety of facilities available ensured that we all enjoyed the experience.
Overall a most enjoyable weekend in beautiful surroundings with excellent food. I would certainly recommend it for a very special occasion.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cappa60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

As a birthday treat myself and 4 girl friends went to Monart. The spa is difficult to find and we did pass it. I think this is supposed to be part of its charm. On arrival were were met by a staff member who escorted us to reception parked our car and put or bags in the room. The receptionist escorted us to our rooms . A first for me. This hotel the minute you walk in the door envelopes you in luxury warmth and relaxation. The treatment and food were excellent.
The spa facilities were a little different to any others that I have visited, but in a good way.
The one small thing for me is the pool could be warmer and have more relaxations jets. But this is because a pool for me is one of the most important features of any hotel.
This spa is so relaxing. There is no evidence of the outside world here and a complete switch off destination.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkMaryCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

Stayed in Monart a few years ago with the same friend and we decided to return. Well, what a let down! We saved our bobs for a few months to splurge on some luxury! We are girls who enjoy spa hotels and luxury and are used to nice hotels for our holidays. We LOVED Monart on our first visit, the attention to detail and excellent service. This was not the case, however, on this trip.

1. The jacuzzi and jets in the pool were out of action for the Friday and Sat, staff at the spa desk were quite unhelpful, brushing off that it needed to be reset and would work in the morning - this didn't happen. It took four complaints and then someone attended to the pipes and lo and behold, it was working on our last day!

2. The complimentary foot massages were non existent during this holiday - we had to ask for someone to come and then we were made to feel an inconvenience and the massage lasted one min max!

3. We both opted for a massage and were left waiting over ten minutes for our massages, no apology. It felt quite rushed and the therapist walked in to hurry my friend as she was half naked!!!! V.poor value.

4. The food in the spa cafe was OUTRAGEOUSLY priced and the food was below par - wilted rocket and lack of listed ingredients - spoke with manager (Daniel? PatricK?) who was really helpful and courteous! A most excellent and professional manager.

5. The food for dinner was excellent - definitely the best meal I've ever had.

In general, Monart have cut down on staffing levels and it is quite evident - staff are run off their feet. It was below, in quality and service, many three star hotels I've stayed in.

Good points: Reception staff and manager were excellent, given a late check out for free and spa cafe meal free of charge due to complaint.

I won't return and I doubt given the current economic climate, that people will stand for the level of service provided there currently.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Myriamclancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniscorthy
2.0 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
20.3 mi away
Seafield Hotel & Spa Resort
13.6 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
2.0 mi away
Treacy's Hotel
Treacy's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Enniscorthy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
18.6 mi away
Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monart

Property: Monart
Address: The Still, Enniscorthy, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Enniscorthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Enniscorthy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Monart 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monart Destination Spa 'The Great Escape' is an Adults Only Destination, to unwind, escape the stresses of modern life, relax and return to one's true nature. Voted in the top three Destinations Worldwide by Conde Nast Reader's Choice Awards. Irish Tatler Destination Spa of the Year 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Monart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monart Hotel Enniscorthy
Monart Spa Enniscorthy
Monart Enniscorthy, Ireland - County Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing