We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a piece of heaven!”
Review of Nebesa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nebesa
Pittsburgh PA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It is a piece of heaven!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Perched high above the town of Kobarid in the Soca ("Socha") Valley of Slovenia, Nebasa, which means "heaven" in Slovene, is a one of a kind place that makes you gasp in appreciation of the beauty that you view from this property. From this location you can soak in the view of this Alpine region with snow capped mountains and Italy in one direction and the valley floor below where the Soca River winds through the valley with water of a blue color that I've never seen before. It is stunning...add to that soaring mountains in every direction.
There are four A frame cabins, designed for efficiency in a somewhat Scandinavian manor and are suited for 2 people. They are not luxurious by some standards ( but you will marvel thinking about how they were designed and built here!) but when you look out of the glassed fronts of the chalet you see the vastness of this view and it makes you feel like you are touching the mountains that surround you. They are immaculately clean and cozy with warm hardwood floors and a stylish bath and kitchen and a porch on the front. There is a small pull out sofa in the living area but the main sleeping area is is up the steps to a lofted area with sloped ceilings and open to the downstairs. With the high peaked windows, you awake to the view that is breathtaking once again. The kitchen is well equipped and is stocked with yogurts, cheese, jelly, fruit of some kind, tea, coffee, eggs, etc.
The main house, where the owners live (Katya and Bojan), has a large meeting area with a long table and chairs and another kitchen with breads and other refrigerated foods for you to take as you wish. On the lower floor of this house is a room where there are dry meats on slicers for you to have and a wheel of cheese as well as two vats of table wine and carafes to fill. There are also finer wines of local origin (and Slovenian wine is very good!) that you can take and just pay for on the honor system.
Also on this level is a indoor pool, hot tub and dry sauna as well as an exercise studio for you use.
When you are not basking in the view, you can hike the mountain or head to Koberid to see the WWI museum which depicts the battles fought in this valley where over one million deaths occurred in this place where now you find tranquility. In the warmer weather you can raft the Soca. Mountain biking is popular as well. The weekend we were there, a bike race and a Strukli Festival were taking place in Koberid. There is skiing in the area and we are told the road is always clean since it is an important link to the Italian border.
If you want a restaurant, there are a few in Koberid with the best being owned by Katya and Bojan's daughter, Ana. It is called Hisa Franko and it is very famous. People drive out to this area just to eat at this restaurant. The reputation of the restaurant and the chef are well deserved. The food is creative and delicious and the service is impeccable. The wines are also pretty amazing! Other restaurants in the area are more traditional in their menu but very good.
This is a place to be on your own...the owners are there and we enjoyed our talks with them very much. But it is a reflective spot to relax and unwind. Getting to this area of Slovenia requires some interesting but beautiful driving. There are no highways to Nebasa...in fact, when we left we took the drive up and over the mountain in Triglav National Park to go back to Ljubljana. It was amazing but it does close in winter. There are 25 switchbacks up and 25 down! Almost everywhere you drive in Slovenia is incredibly picturesque!
I will not post photos because my camera would not do this justice...check out the website for some better photos and when you want to be close to heaven, make your way to Nebasa...

Room Tip: All of the chalets are the same design. My only wish was that there were more sofas in the chalet...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank kathyPittsburghPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
56
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Definitely a different type of experience. Not for you if you want room service, etc. However the owners are the primary staff on property; with only 4 villas it is nice and quiet. Me and my family took up two of the villas which were very comfortable and had everything we needed. The property overlooks Soca Valley and the Soca River which was beautiful. There is items stocked in your fridge and in the main dining area for you to take free of charge....you can also cook if you want since there is a full kitchen. Owners are very helpful with dinner reservations.....most of the restaurants we went to were so good. The town is small but we kept ourselves occupied with outdoor activities and adventures which was very fun. X-point was the tour company we used and they were great! I highly suggest this property for family or couple that wants to get away from city life and explore and be adventurous. Lots of outdoor sports and activities to do down in the valley. FYI: the drive up and down the mountain can take some time, I would say about 20 minutes until you get to the main town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMiamiUrbEx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapoli
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I'm not sure how much there is to add. I think the fact that every reviewer has left a 5/5 mark pretty much says it all. We spent 4 nights here and Nebesa is unlike any place we have ever lodged: the property and surroundings were beautiful, the food and wine were excellent, and we greatly enjoyed talking with the owners. You pretty much feel like you have your own home there. During the days we would hike in the surrounding hills (the cows had just gone up to pasture and you could visit them there), went for drives, or explored some of the nearby towns. The owners are quite helpful if you have any questions about activities. Their daughter owns a restaurant Hisa Franco outside of Kobarid that is probably the best meal we have ever had. Cannot recommend this place enough. We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

In reading over the previous reviews, I could not help but notice all 31 previous reviews rated this property excellent. Let's make it 32 in a row. One of the most memorable resorts/hideaways we have ever visited. The owners do everything right. Location on a cliff overlooking river and mountains and small towns is stunning. We had the feeling we were personal friends visiting from afar. The villa we had included a nicely furnished bathroom, generous living room, kitchen, and upstairs bedroom with comfy queen bed. Sheep are in sight. Hiked up the mountain and took a look at Italy, maybe a mile away. Help yourself to local grown apples, high mountain cheese, fresh sliced salumi, and your choice of white/red wine from the cellar. Nicer wines available for purchase.

Room Tip: All rooms the same, I don't think you could get a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJH161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The Soca Valley is a very special place - extremely beautiful, unspoiled (not too many tourists), historically significant, excellent local food, wine, lots to do, very nice people.

Nebesa is THE place to base yourself for a totally relaxing and enjoyable time in this area. The location and views are truly spectacular, the cabins are VERY comfortable and equipped with everything you need. The main area is fantastic, very private and included in the price is a wonderful selection of 'goodies' - various cured meats, organic cheese, bread, fruit, wine, spirits, beer - as much as you care to enjoy. Also a great indoor pool, nice yoga/stretching room - all with fantastic view.

The four cabins are situated so you feel totally private and can relax and just take in the fantastic view of the mountains and valley as the clouds roll by in front and below you. Also, nice hiking trails right there and the outdoor museum (WW 1 bunkers and trenches) is well worth a visit.

The service and hosts are perfect - including the 2 big Newfoundlands that cruise around and keep an eye on things. Highly recommend Nebesa and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: any of the 4 cabins are perfect......all fitted and laid out exactly the same and although they'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAB430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Lovely spotless chalet house. Furnished in a minimalist but comfortable style. Comfy bed, good shower and terrace with wonderful panoramic , dramatic views of the mountains. Friendly, helpful hosts. Wine and snacks included. Indoor pool, guidebooks, games and fitness room. Great location near Kobarid in the Soca valley. We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 446clairel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

We only spent one night here. .but thoroughly enjoyed. The scandanavian architecture sits beautifully in the rolling hills. The views.over the river Soca are breathtaking.

The service is faultless and genuine with every detail taken care of from fresh bread to local produce available 24/7 as part if your room rate and the honesty bar for.local wines is a lovely touch. We ate dinner and Hassa Franko which.was truly spectacular.. clear to see why it was voted one of Slovenias best restaurants..

Recommend both!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miak008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kobarid
9.6 mi away
Hotel Dobra Vila Bovec
3.3 mi away
Hotel Hvala-Restaurant Topli Val,Kobarid
9.5 mi away
Hotel Mangart
Hotel Mangart
#2 of 4 in Bovec
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Tourist Farmhouse Kranjc
Tourist Farmhouse Kranjc
#1 of 21 in Kobarid
85 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gostisce Jazbec
Gostisce Jazbec
#2 of 6 in Kobarid
29 reviews
3.1 mi away
Apartments Pri Nas, Kobarid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nebesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nebesa

Property: Nebesa
Address: Livek 39, Kobarid 5222, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Kobarid
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Kobarid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nebesa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a site, where the modern and the traditional design meet, where exterior mingles with interior in a unique experience. Staying at “Nebesa” is a privilege inspired by the natural landscape that creates a panoramic curtain, which allows constant rediscovery. The mountain retreat at Livek near Kobarid consists of four chalets with wellness centre. It is an architectural challenge ennobling this beautiful location and enabling the functional self-sufficiency of the condominium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS and Priceline so you can book your Nebesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nebesa Hotel Kobarid
Nebesa Slovenia/Kobarid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing