We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely peaceful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hemingway House B&B Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hemingway House B&B Apartments
Bicknacre
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Lovely peaceful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

I spent a week here with my fiancée with the intention of exploring Slovenia. It turned out to be the perfect base! The location couldn't be better, the village is well equipped for active tourists with healthy appetites.
The apartment was brilliant. A lovingly restored old house with a mixture of antique and ikea furniture. It had everything we needed, including a wood burning stove.
Maria was the pleasure too. Always happy to offer advice and give tips on things we may otherwise have missed.
Thankyou

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomandSusanBicknacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed at Hemingway House, a beautifully converted old house with a very relaxed atmosphere. Amiable hospitality seems to be the name of the game here, provided by the owner, Marie. It's located right in the heart of the town, but still quiet and tranquil indoors. Our apartment was clean, very spacious, and yet cosy too. Sitting out on little communal verandah in the morning, drinking coffee, overlooking the picturesque storage barn surrounded by stunning mountains, was a peaceful delight.
As to the surrounding area - the roads are very well maintained, but get a good map and navigator, or pay a little extra for satnav; one wrong turn (directed by a large roadsign,) took us miles down a narrow unsurfaced track.
Scenery is absolutely breathtaking at every turn, and there are lots of adventure activities associated with the terrain all easy to book right in the town centre, and endless hiking opportunities.
Everyone speaks English, and everyone we met was very friendly and helpful. We didn't see or hear of any evidence of rowdiness, (not on the drunken loutish stag weekend itinerary.) Prices are low for everyday things, although tourist prices are beginning to show their ugly head, at certain times or for certain goods.
I certainly hope to visit Soca valley again, and would definitely stay at Hemingway House apartments if I do.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidmmcdade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

We spent two weeks in two different apartments at Hemingway House. The first apartment, the "Martha" apartment, was my favorite as the window overlooked the back yard and charming stone barn, and there was a little table on the terrace outside the door that was great for having a morning cup of coffee. The wifi connection was excellent.

The Martha apartment was not available for the entirety of our stay (we decided to extend our stay and the room was already booked), so we moved down to the "Hadley" apartment. At first I was concerned that it would be noisy since it's at the front of the house on the ground floor, right next to the street. Although it wasn't completely silent, I hardly noticed due to the snug construction of the house. The wireless signal was strongest near the door and bathroom.

Marie is a kind, helpful and relaxed host who is a traveler herself and has ensured that the atmosphere and amenities go beyond what other places have at this budget price point. Each apartment has a small wood burning stove; both a French press and a Bialetti pot, and the coffee stocked is high quality; there is plenty of kitchen equipment for cooking full meals; and the bathrooms have heated towel bars and wooden bath mats.

Hemingway House is located one block from the Kobarid bus stop and it's only a few blocks further to a great pizzeria and a few grocery stores. There are a number of gorgeous and historical hikes nearby - no car necessary, just start out the front door. We were very reluctant to leave HH and Kobarid, and apparently we were not alone as another couple we met also extended their stay at HH by a full week.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsAsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

After hearing about the Soca Valley for so long, I finally managed to get over for a quick reccy. I am so going back - and to this lovely place of Marie's! Brilliantly placed in Kobarid, an ideal location for exploring the charms of this lovely country, Hemingway House is a charming, well-decorated and very good value destination for both the mid-range budget holder and the budding adventurer. Marie was very informed, helpful and supportive and gave us some great tourist guidance. When I get pix I'll add them! Great place, check it out.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KABUL
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

What a wonderful place! I stayed here for 2 weeks while exploring the area of Slovenia. The host is very gracious and very informed with local info about where to go and what to do. Local bar just down the street is as good as any local American Pub. Best restaurant in the area is the Oven Fired Pizzeria across the street. There are lots of hiking trails in the area, local museum recounts the history of WWI and WWII. Biking, rafting and fishing are high on the list of things to do in the area. Hemingway House was a perfect place to sleep and relax after a busy day of seeing the sights

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAME H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Just a perfect place to stay in the mountains of Slovenia. Nice launching pad for daily hikes, rafting, fishing, visiting the local museum. The Host is very nice and welcoming. I will definitely be back to stay again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon09320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed there with my young daughter around Halloween and had an amazing time. The accommodation is lovely – situated right in the middle of historic Kobarid – with gorgeous views of the surrounding mountains.
We really enjoyed the fact that we could walk right from Hem House to an amazing – and very child-accessible – hiking trail network that takes you through the remarkably well restored First World War Italian Line of Defence and the ruins of an alpine Roman village. It was by far the most interesting hiking experience we have ever had.
Plenty of good restaurants and bars line the streets, making it a very pleasant place to hang out at night too, and if you want to cook, the local markets have plenty of produce, meat, fresh bread, local delicacies and wine on offer.
The woman who runs it, Marie, really makes you feel welcome and is a serious font of information about the area and its fascinating history.
There are many adventure sports activities on offer in the immediate area and my daughter, who is 7, wants to go back for the horseback riding and rafting.
I strongly recommend flying into Venice, spending a day or two there, and then driving on to to Kobarid.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kobarid
6.4 mi away
Hotel Dobra Vila Bovec
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hvala-Restaurant Topli Val,Kobarid
6.4 mi away
Hotel Alp
Hotel Alp
#4 of 4 in Bovec
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Rooms Pri Lovrizu
Rooms Pri Lovrizu
#4 of 6 in Kobarid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartments Masera
Apartments Masera
#3 of 19 in Kobarid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartments Pri Nas, Kobarid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingway House B&B Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingway House B&B Apartments

Property: Hemingway House B&B Apartments
Address: Volaricheva ulica 10, Kobarid 5222, Slovenia (Formerly Hemingway House Guesthouse Apartments)
Region: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Kobarid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Kobarid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemingway House Bed and Breafast is a fully restored 19th century townhouse right in the centre of Kobarid. There are 5 self-contained apartments: 1 twin studio which sleep 2; 1 queen studio which sleeps 2; 1 double and single studio - sleeps 3; 1 suite with king and double - sleeps 4; Attic Floor - king, double and single - sleeps 5. Breakfast is offered at an additional cost. There is also a secure barn for storing sporting equipment. There are grocery stores, bars, restuarants, adventure sports company within 150 metres of the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hemingway House B&B Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemingway House B&B Apartments Slovenia/Kobarid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing