We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and charming staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Placeta Restaurante

La Placeta Restaurante
Reserve with
La Placeta Restaurante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 86 Restaurants in Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$48
Cuisines: European, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Mediterranean dishes using fresh quality local products. Abierto Lunes de 18:00 hs a 23:00 hs De martes a domingos de 12:30 hs A 23:00 hs
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food and charming staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We had two meals at La Placeta at a recent stay near Pollenca and we were very pleased. Both times we had the enthusiastic Alex guiding us through both the menu and our meal. My advice is to follow her recommendations as she was spot on. The Gazpacho is beautiful and the grilled gambas were superb. Serrano Ham with figues and cheese was also very good.

On our second visit we were a big group and the ordering process became a bit chaotic with drinks being forgotten etc. No biggie, but worth mentioning. At our second meal the people who had the paella thought it lacked taste and the same went for the tagliatelle with pesto. Everyone else were happy, though so thumbs up from us.

We were a big party and a

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    59
    22
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Certainly not #3 in Pollensa...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We ate last night at La Placeta, and were certainly encouraged by the strong reviews on TripAdvisor.
Making a reservation was straight forward and we received a very warm welcome from a woman we assume is one of the owners. She was charming and made a real effort to introduce her restaurant. The menu is described as Mediterranean. That being said, we found it rather uninspiring and certainly lacking in any great Mallorcan themes.
Starters wise, we went for the Gazpacho, which was very good, and the Gambas al ajillo, (prawns in olive oil and garlic). These were insipid, undercooked and certainly lacking in the bold flavours this dish should have.
Main course wise, the patron has spoken very strongly of the quality of her beef, so one of us went for the entrecote, whilst others had the grilled chicken, the hake and the tagliatelli with pesto.
The beef was tough and served well done, when requested medium. The hake was accompanied by broccoli, asparagus and courgettes. The latter two were charred to a crisp and the broccoli had been boiled to within an inch of its life, rather disappointing when the fish was fine. Again the tagliatelli was overcooked and the pesto lacking in any real flavour.
The deserts were fine, the brownies home made and goey, the cheese plate a mixture of European cheeses and the sorbets as expected.
All in all, the meal was adequate but disappointing.
Service was conducted by the lady we met and one other waitress, and as the terrace got busy, they clearly struggled to cope.
Pollensa has many fine restaurants to visit, and we wont rush back to this particular one. It is a struggle to understand how it is ranked #3 overall...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfecto!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and I have just eaten the most amazing meal here, i had the gazpacho, my partner the prawns followed by the recommended dishes of sea bass and shoulder of lamb. They were excellent. In fact my sea bass was some of the best fish I've had, fresh and cooked to perfection. The wine recommendation was also exceedingly good. Not only was the food of a very high standard but the service and enthusiasm by Alex and the other waitress made our Saturday evening very special. We will be back! P.s apparently there is live music on a Friday - sadly we won't be able to make it.

P.P.S this is so far our number one restaurant in Pollensa - it is a little pricey (some dishes) but you get what you pay for!!

My advice, go!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Missaliboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Does what it says.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had good service and a great evening meal. The children played outside during courses.

My husband had a lamb shoulder special which was excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank SamPringle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We were looking foward to visiting La Placeta having read the reviews (the restaurant was not open when we last visited Pollenca in March 2012). We can only assume that it has changed hands since the last reviews in November 2013 or Eduardo was on holiday or had a night off. The dining room was run by a very enthusiastic lady. I only wish the food had lived up to her enthusiasm. My husband chose pork tenderloin and apple sauce. My first choice of hake was not available but was told that the alternative, sea bass, was "delicious". My husband's meal consisted of several thin medallions of pork and what can only be described as a "dollop" of apple sauce, 3 slices of courgette and half a tomato. My fish was accompanied by two slices of courgette, a solitary thin slice of potato and half a tomato. The meal consisting of one course and a bottle of wine cost us 55-60 euros. We did not visit again!
.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank anonymous335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Placeta Restaurante also viewed

 

Been to La Placeta Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing