We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and quality”

Bar Restaurante Laup
Ranked #40 of 93 Restaurants in Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$46
Cuisines: Barbecue, Mediterranean, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Restaurante Laup Situado en el Cruze de Cala Sant Vicenc, Pollenca, Puerto pollenca. Se encuentra este bonito estableciemiento en un entorno rural.El Restaurante ofrece servicio de Bar,Snack,Restaurante,Grill.Muy buen trato profesional acompanado de una comida Mediterranea.Dispone de una gran terraza que accede a un parque infantil para los mas pequeno. Museo de Carruajes.
Pollenca, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great service and quality”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Recommended this Resturant by a friend and not disappointed . Went on a Sunday at the same time a large christening party was going on. Amazingly the service did not suffer and the set meal of paella, suckling pig and creame caramel inc a bottle of wine was of exceptional value and quality.

Will definitely return again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 123Landg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    21
    15
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Spot.”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Spotted this restaurant close to where were staying at a friend's house, he hadn't tried it, but as it was the closest place to us, i thought it worth investigating.

I popped by at the end of a bike ride and booked a table for lunch and liked what i saw, the interior a classic old school spanish restaurant with heavy beams and a large fireplace, and outside a large well shaded patio area , i was offered a good table on the edge of the old room looking out so nice and cool, and nicely set with proper cloths , decent glasses and cutlery.

We returned with the kids and in laws about an hour later to a warm welcome, we had a selection of starters to share prawns in garlic, padron peppers, salt cod croquettes and fried prawns.

It was all very good , ingredients were good quality and deftly cooked, father in law enjoyed playing 'russian roulette' with the peppers!

For our main we all had the house paella with meat and seafood, it was all spot on, i thought i could eat a little more to discover we'd only touched about a third of it, Jordi the very accomodating english speaking waiter was soon back with a second serving, and for some, thirds!

My son spotted the playground and was happy playing in there from time to time which all added to to the convenience.

We returned for dinner the next night and had a similar selection of starters but steaks and house special suckling pig which all went down a treat with a vina pomal reserva, only 6e more than Eroski sell it for down the road.

All in all a highly recommended place, it is what i'd call a 'proper' restaurant it is not fashionable or on a popular market square but it does what it does very professionally and is a most convivial place to while away a lunch or dinner, i expect we'll be back before we leave.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunday Menu”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed nearby and noted on two consecutive Sundays how busy the carpark was at lunchtime. On our final Sunday we gave it a whirl. Strangely enough, despite it's proximity to the main road, the traffic can not be heard. The setting is tranquil but I would advice booking a table in the shade (as my lovely wife did before our visit). We were given the a la carte menus but noticed that everyone else seemed to be eating paella. The table beside us kindly informed us that everyone was having the menu al dia, and that we should do the same. It turned out the paella was the starter followed by roast suckling pig or baked cod. The paella is the best I've had, it was succulent, rich in saffron and plentiful. We all chose suckling pig and again it was to die for! For dessert (which we really didn't need) there was plenty of choice. I opted for lemon sorbet chased by a grappa. With wine (decent Rioja) and water included at 18 Euros a head, the best value Sunday lunch I've ever had.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JSM J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great for children, lovely situation.”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Just thought I'd share the experience of a meal we had near Pollenca in Majorca. You sometimes need a child friendly restaurant to visit where the children can play either in between courses or whilst you are having your meal.
We were a party of nine adults and four children aged about 2 to 8. There is an enclosed play area where you can eat and supervise the children at the same time.
The menu is fairly extensive including a children's menu.
There were some lovely starters - but the mains that were wonderful were the suckling pig, shoulder of lamb and the fish risotto.
My report cannot do justice to how good the whole experience was, including a local red wine which was very good and a great contender for being as good as our normal 'rioja reserva'.
The service was excellent and although two of our party were fluent Spanish speaking, I got the impression that this restaurant is set up to please all.
The bill was very reasonable, the toilets very clean, the ambiance very restful and gets 5 stars from me.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank muppet3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R Laup P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Bar Restaurante Laup, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Hello from Restaurant L´Aup.
Thanks for the comment that set over us in Tripadvisor.
A pleasure to serve you in our home.
Regards and see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorks
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

After reading so many good reviews about this restaurant we had pretty high expectations. Initial impression was good; very friendly staff who made us feel very welcome and great outdoor play area for the kids. However, we found the food a much different affair. Our dishes were mediocre at best and overpriced. Both my daughter and I found hairs in our food which clearly were not our own. Really wanted to like this place but in the circumstances I can't rate it any higher.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R Laup P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Bar Restaurante Laup, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
We apologize for the found hair in your food. an error that does not always happen.
What food would a mediocre result.

A greeting.

Jordi
(Waiter)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Restaurante Laup also viewed

 
Pollenca, Majorca
 

Been to Bar Restaurante Laup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing