We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Golf Pollenca

Golf Pollenca
Ranked #57 of 86 Restaurants in Pollenca
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: In constant evolution and improvement, Golf Pollença, managed by a new management for a year, offers you the best services and views of the north of Mallorca.
Hawthorn,Co.Durham
Level Contributor
287 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Having visited this restaurant years ago we were pleased to find the service as great as last time and the food just as good. The special menu of the day for 12 euros was Gazpacho soup, and Pork loin with apple. The children had chicken nuggets and chips (sounds boring but the nuggets were obviously freshly prepared and cooked) I could have eaten that myself.
The staff especially the manager were very good we will visit again next time weare in the north of the island.
The food is only available during the day and frequented by ex pats.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    13
    7
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
99 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We went to the Golf Pollenca restaurant for lunch twice during our stay in a villa nearby. There were 6 of us including a 3 year old and a 1 year old, and we found it to be amazing. The views towards the sea and the mountains were spectacular; the staff were friendly, courteous and attentive, and the food and wine were excellent. The house wine was perfect, and my cod was delicious, as was the almond cake with ice cream. My husband's steak was a little too well done for his liking, but he still enjoyed it, and my son in law loved his mussels. The children shared a portion of chicken nuggets & chips and both thoroughly enjoyed it. We could have happily eaten there every day during our short stay in Pollenca if money had allowed, and I would certainly go back there.

We didn't use the pool although it was available if we had wanted, and it certainly did look very inviting. Another time perhaps?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stopped here for lunch on the way to our final destination. It was still quite early, but they were happy to serve us.

The waiter was very friendly and attentive, and although we waited quite a while for the main course to arrive, it was tasty and freshly prepared. The 3-course menu at 16 Euro was good value for money.

The view is beautiful. However, the setting is dated and in serious need of an upgrade. It is a little depressing on the inside! Not to mention the bathrooms, which are in desperate need of an upgrade and a good clean. Unfortunately the setting let them down.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank F2P2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Please change your chef”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We visited the restaurant for lunch twice over the Easter break and were very disappointed with the food on both occasions. If it were not for the stunning views and the friendliness of head waiter Luis we would not be coming back. The food this year seems to be awful and we can only presume the chef has changed. My cod with salad was edible but why put warm cod on top of a cold salad? And can one call shredded lettuce covered in mayonnaise a "salad"? The chef must have a massive bowl of the lettuce and mayonnaise as it seemed to come with everything including the children's chicken nuggets and chips. On the second occasion the Club Sandwich was barely edible with the same shredded lettuce and mayo rearing its head along with chopped tomatoes and funny tasting chicken (tasted like it had been fried in the same pan as some fish).
If you want views, a pleasant head waiter and some drinks then this is a lovely place. If you want a decent lunch I suggest you wait until the "chef" has been changed

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PollencaFoodCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nº 1 in town...absolutely not!!!!! It´s an apaling place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

My wife has just pointed out the surprisingly good Tripadvisor reviews on Golf Pollensa and I felt it necessary to make my own review in order to ward any possible customers off this awful place.

The only plus point in this place is the view, and I have to say, the best thing about the view is the fact that the Golf club is behind you, and therefore out of sight! We were recommended to go there for the view and stayed for lunch, as it seemed like a good idea for our kids to jump in the pool.

It was the worst decision we made during our holiday. Firstly we had to wait ages for the food and when it finally arrived it was completely wrong. The part of the order that was correct was beyond awful.

The "piece de resistance" was Richard, who although acting as the waiter was actually the owner. For sure he was attentive during our one hour wait for the food, but we suspect that he caused the delay so he could spend more time at our table looking down my wife´s top.
This was complemented by endless sexual innuendos and complete arrogance, which both my wife and I found it extremely uncomfortable. We look back on this and put this down to experience and now laugh at the whole thing, especially when we see good reviews of the place.

We finished our food and left quickly, desperate to find a clean toilet elsewhere, as the cleanliness of the bathrooms was inexistent. In fact it suited the general condition of a dump of a golf club.

We mentioned our Richard experience to people we met in the Port of Pollenca later in our holiday only to find out he is the resident conman. Well he certainly didn't fool us as a waiter because he was terrible! He was terrible, the place was terrible and the food was terrible.

Fortunately there are many places in the area where you will have an enjoyable experience and enjoy excellent food, so save yourself the trouble and give this place a miss.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golf Pollenca also viewed

 

Been to Golf Pollenca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing