We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem of a place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Placa Major

Placa Major
Ranked #4 of 31 things to do in Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gem of a place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had hired a car and visited Pollenca for lunch.The main square had a variety of restaurants to choose from and the locals happily sat amongst the visitors. We chose the Ca n'Olensa , Restaurant and Pizzeria. 6 year old was happy, husband and myself had the Mallorcan paella which was lovely. Staff were refreshingly unable to completely understand my English . Gem of a place. Pollenca has Roman ruins which are a must for Historians.On a hot day , best to drive to top of the steps. We stood at the bottom looking up and realised 6 year old wouldn't make it on a hot 37 degrees day with 80% humidity.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Deby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    86
    15
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great market on Sundays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Take your shopping bag and stock up on local fruit and veg each Sunday. Some craft and clothes stalls too but not as touristy as other markets in Puerto Pollenca and Alcudia. Great cafés enclose the square for meals and drinks. we tried several and all were good. Try buying cakes at their shop around the side and then eat them on the terrace with a drink at Il giadino.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lynmar86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
321 reviews
177 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“car parking in pollenca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

the plaza is as good as ever one thing i have forgot to mention in previous reviews which i think will help t/a readers who visit pollenca in a car parking is a great problem but if you drive up carrer de cecili metel (the road where the public buses TIB run) opposite the petrol station there is a road which leads to a large car park which is free (there is no signs) it is only a five minuet walk to plaza mayor even on market day i have never had a problem parking hope this info helps

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank frances292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Atmospheric location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Historic square right in the centre of town. A great place for drinks, food, and watching the world go by. Lots of side streets to explore for shopping and sightseeing. Traffic free so great for kids too. Great evening atmosphere!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Lovely place to sit and watch the world go by or have a nice meal. There are many quality restaurants around and just off the square and they are family friendly too. The square livens up as the evening progresses and many children play in the centre of the square while adults can sit and have a drink or linger longer over a meal. The Sunday market is definitely worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Topsy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Placa Major also viewed

 
Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia
 

Been to Placa Major? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing