We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In response to Cal Lloro Hotel's comments of my review”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Cal Lloro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cal Lloro Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Pollenca
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“In response to Cal Lloro Hotel's comments of my review”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

‘In response to Cal Lloro Hotel’s comments, we are wholly disappointed with the detail contained therein.

We agree that we did raise complaints or concerns during our stay with the exception of the non-application of discount to the restaurant bill.

Raising complaints is not something one should have to do on holiday. The very reason of our holiday was to relax. We did not wish to enter into an adversarial or confrontational situation.

A number of our concerns and criticisms listed would not have benefitted from raising complaints due to the short-termism of our stay, viz. inadequate size of room, poorly functioning comfort-cooling system, 1960s-style television set, no safe and poor breakfast of which which were told ‘was made-to-order’. Furthermore, a number of our concerns were singular events.

I am very disappointed with the comments with regard to leaving the hotel without paying and requesting a 60% discount. I hope that Cal Lloro Hotel’s comments are based on poor memory as they are factually incorrect. I do not wish to believe that Cal Lloro Hotel is posting falsehoods on Tripadvisor.

Pre-payment had been made to the hotel prior to arrival. We checked-out, leaving our key with the receptionist etc. We were not asked for any further payment. We had considered raising complaints upon our departure, however the receptionist did not understand English.

Upon return, we received an e-mail form Cal Lloro Hotel stating that they had not taken payment. This was Cal Lloro Hotel’s error, not ours. We responded with a number of complaints of which were not accepted by Cal Lloro Hotel, simply because we did not raise them at the time. We requested a discount in the region of 15% to 20%, which we believed to be fair and reasonable. We received further e-mails to which we responded and the final e-mail we sent did not receive a response as Cal Lloro Hotel withdrew the payment from our credit card!

I must categorically state that Cal Lloro Hotel have falsely claimed in their posted comments on the issues of receipt of no complaints, leaving without paying, request of 60% discount and no response to three ‘strikes unanswered’, which I can only assume relates to three e-mail correspondences.

In response to ‘Perfect Honeymoon’, I regretfully read the comment ‘I think the previous reviewer must have been staying in a different hotel’. I note the Traveller Rating has 6 ratings between average and terrible ratings. Tripadvisor, as I understand it, functions to provide a ‘heads-up’ to travellers, and contains positive and negative criticisms. I would appreciate in the future that your posts relate to your own experiences and do not criticise our comments, as you simply are incognisant of our experiences. In retort, I must state ‘I believe the proceeding reviewer must have stayed in a different hotel’. It works both ways – see!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    22
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
5
47
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Ate at the restaurant on the edge of pollenca square- nice location. 4 of us opted for the menu of the day. Mistake.

The food was very mediocre, delivered by a frenetic, pleasant but incompetent service team. Wrong starters. Wine returned twice due to cork remenents. Wrong main course for my wife (ordered chicken with veg got kids cut up chicken and chips- when asked for the proper dish was told not possible and given a wilted plate of old lettuce) then one of the children's ice creams came with a bonus short curly black hair attached, anatomical origin unsure but suspected. To be fair they deducted the price of my wife's dinner from the bill.

Wouldn't go back for free.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Fantastic little hotel ! Stayed with my wife from 12th to 16th July in room 3 . Great room overlokking the square with lovely balcony. Nicolas and Andrea looked after us during our stay and were both brilliant. Lovely breakfast , anything you wanted really. Meals at lunchtime and evening were very well cooked and presented. This hotel is as near perfect as you will find. We will return very soon . Steve & Kim

Room Tip: Room 3 overlooks square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tombanellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We have visited Pollenca Old Town on many occasions staying in both private villas and the small hotels.

This year we spent a week in a villa and a week at Cal Lloro Hotel and were absolutely delighted that we chose this hotel.

The hotel is ideally located right in the square. Although there is no pool they have a sun trap terrace at the top of the hotel which is really comfortable.

The rooms were exceptionally clean (and we are very fussy) and the maid does not start work until 10.30 so there was no disturbance which enabled us to have a good sleep. Breakfast was by far the best we have had at the hotels in Pollenca Old Town. They are really flexible with you and on many occasions when we slept in they still served us to our table with a selection of croissants, meats, cheeses, yogurt, Jam, wonderful coffee (one of the best in the square) and fresh orange juice. Every day they ask if you would like eggs cooking. Other hotels we have stayed in Pollenca have been self service.

The team two Nicholas, Andrea were brilliant throughout and made us feel really welcome. They surprised me with cava and chocolates in the room on my birthday. They went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect for our stay.

We will be back for the weekend again in September.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin,ireland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

My husband and I stayed in this charming hotel in May. We were touring around Majorca and stopped for some lunch at the hotel.The service we received from waitress/manager Vanessa impressed us so much that we decided to stay in the hotel and explore Pollenca for a couple of days.
We were very happy with our decision. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean with a view over the front square. This proved to be very fortunate as we looked over a wonderful array of flowers on Saturday when the weekly market takes place. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful and the owner gave us a brief history of the hotel which has been in the family for generations and showed off, with obvious pride, some photos and furniture which were family heirlooms.
I see that the vast majority of reviews posted here are positive and am totally puzzled by the negative review posted last August. It is very strange that anyone would stay in a hotel which had so many 'problems',especially as they did not seem to raise them with management - particularly as they say they are experienced world travellers - but even stranger that they would checkout of a hotel without paying, which I thought was illegal, and then complain that the hotel took the money which was due to them.
This is in total contrast with our experience.Vanessa whom I mentioned earlier is one of the best representatives of the tourism business we have ever met. She is fluent in half a dozen languages, is unfailingly smiling and helpful and made our stay a real pleasure. The owner is also gracious and fluency in a language is not always necessary to communicate a welcome to guests.
Overall we can recommend this small personal hotel - it certainly gave us some good memories of Pollenca to take home.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front of the hotel face on to the square and have little balconies from which to so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goggsDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Just got back from three night break. I think the previous reviewer must have been staying in a different hotel because I cannot fault this hotel. Beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting - the rooms are spotlessly clean, breakfast was gorgeous and the staff were lovely. Cannot say enough nice things and would love to return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bevid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed here for one night in July 2012. Good rooms, great service really friendly.

There was fruit and chilled water waiting in our room when we arrived.

We would recommend this hotel. It is right in the centre of Pollenca old town which is beautiful. No pool or beach if that's what you are looking for.

If you have a hire and want to explore this gorgeous island it is a perfect option.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TallDadTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pollenca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Son Sant Jordi
Hotel Son Sant Jordi
#5 of 20 in Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.0 mi away
Son Brull Hotel & Spa
Son Brull Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Desbrull
Hotel Desbrull
#4 of 20 in Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Juma
Juma
#2 of 20 in Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Hostal Hotel de Interior
4.8 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cal Lloro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cal Lloro Hotel

Property: Cal Lloro Hotel
Address: Calle Antonio Maura 38, 07460 Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cal Lloro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a privileged location, in the market square and in a pedestrian area, Ca’l Lloro is one of the town’s historical buildings which has been completely renovated. The hotel is a perfect blend between old tradition and modern style in a unique way, where every detail has been taken into account with the utmost standards of comfort. Ca’l Lloro is a familiar and cozy hotel which offers a personal, exclusive treatment to all its clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Cal Lloro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cal Lloro Hotel Majorca/Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing