We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the quietest family hotel in Pollenca”
Review of Cal Lloro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cal Lloro Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Pollenca
Reviewed 21 May 2014

- still much the same as in previous years, simple but comfortable rooms, excellent plumbing in en-suite bathroom with bathtub, shower, bidet and modern lavatory fittings. An extensive local cuisine at reasonable prices in the restaurant on the square just in front of the hotel entrance, helpful young staff and an easy-going owner/manager who opens his charming hotel from May until late September, clearly the most appropriate season for a successful visit to Mallorca.
- Add to this the comfort of huge king-sized beds, sheets changed on a daily basis by a diligent lady who even manages to add a few words in English to her cheery morning greeting, and you have all the ingredients for an enjoyable stay.
- The downside, you may ask?
- Frankly, difficult to pin down. Breakfast choice is limited but adequate, with toasted baguette, butter and local fruit jams, cheese and local ham, yoghurt and fruit salad, but sadly eggs and bacon are only available as a supplement. On the other hand, Florence, who speaks fluent English, has fully mastered the art of preparing a typically British pot of breakfast tea. Remind her to bring a separate jug of cold milk!
- Cuisine in the outdoor restaurant is varied, but similar to many other restaurants around the principal square in Pollenca. Service is friendly and not too slow. A good idea is to have a word with the chef if you have a special request. This is another advantage of this small, family hotel.
- Did I mention additional services? You may need to confirm your return airline reservation before you leave. Nicolas will organise this with you and print out your boarding card, thus saving time at the fairly hectic Palma airport. I have never been charged for this service.
- On the question of the choice of room, I think that in our stays over the previous four years we have tried all the rooms overlooking the square on the second floor. Room three is my favourite, big, comfortable and with a broad balcony where you can sit enjoying the activities of the people in the square. Rooms have simple air-conditioning and a small refrigerator as well as adequate storage room for clothing. A small safe is provided in most rooms. Each room has a sat-tv and a phone line, while Wi-Fi is provided throughout the hotel. Personally I found that I was unable to send emails via my two German ISPs, but this could be a problem caused by recent restrictions imposed for financial gain by the ISPs. Local coverage appears good and most apps function on iPad and iPhone. But not all of the time.
- All in all, a very satisfying holiday experience. Add to this the new opportunity offered by the hotel in autumn 2014, the possibility of taking a basic Spanish course with native speakers within the hotel, as part of a package inclusive of board and lodging and a choice of meals taken, all at a very reasonable price. This Spanish course takes up only part of the day, leaving ample time for visits to the nearby beaches and tourist sites, an elegant way to learn the language and put it into practice.

Room Tip: Try one of the three rooms (3,4 and 5) with a balcony overlooking the square, all on floor 2, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at Cal Lloro for 5 nights from 5 October. The hotel is perfectly located especially if, like me, you have difficulty in walking. We had room 3 which was spacious with a balcony overlooking Placa Major. The bed was enormous and comfortable. The bathroom was modern and spotless with plenty of hot water. The room included a small refrigerator and satellite
television. The staff were welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. We were very satisfied
with the hotel which was excellent value. We shall return.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony-room 3 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank javelin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

In a word - awful.
Just back from the worst meal we've ever had in Mallorca.
Shocking service - we got one cold starter before our drinks.
They only realised later the rubber they called calamari was for another table.
Later then next albiet hot starter arrived.
We ordered chicken/green bean paella, it was awful.
Anorexic chicken thighs, very little meat, green beans , a few butter beans and hard rice with little flavour.
It was like pre cooked savoury rice with some chicken leftovers.
We complained, to get the excuse of the table mix up and how paella is all in the flavour of the rice.
Two staff for so many tables was woefully short.
The table behind us never got the wine they ordered, the lady finished her main before her husband's starter arrived, the service was that bad. The staff managed to get their desert order wrong as well. They just did not want to complain

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank 5starmybackside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We returned as planned to the Cal’Lloro Hotel in September 2013, following our previous visits in September 2012 and May 2013.
We were not disappointed. Some previous reviewers appear to have had a poor time, but reading between the lines it would seem that they may have had limitless expectations. A pity.
For those of you who appreciated the excellent qualities of Andrea, Vanessa and Nicolas, who all made a supreme effort to make every guest welcome, you may like to know that Andrea has left to join her family in Chile and Vanessa has moved on in her professional life. Our thanks go to all who made our visits so successful. Nicolas, the young and ever-smiling manager, made us as welcome as on previous occasions. His two helpers, Nico and Yvan showed exceptional skill in serving at table in the square in front of the hotel and both were friendly and courteous in the extreme. A good choice, Nicolas!
We had Room 4 this time and if you have the choice, go for this one, as it benefits from having a comfortable balcony overlooking the square, perfect for a drink before supper in the restaurant below. A great place to watch the world go by and to appreciate the locals at work and play – or just doing nothing, which appears to be such a relaxed way of living in the heat of the day. Take your camera if you go to Pollenca, and take pictures of the local people. They are so full of character.
Our room was perfectly clean. The sheets were changed every day, as were the towels in the bathroom, where improvements to the water supply mean that you can take a decent shower at any time. An anecdote: while waiting to check in online for our return flight in the reception of the hotel, a rather indignant guest asked a strange question of the manager: “Why is the stone fountain in front of the hotel not functioning?” He appeared not to understand that Mallorca has a quite severe water shortage and that there is insufficient pressure in the system to make the fountain function.
The cleaning maid was the same lady we had met on previous visits. Her pride in her work is quite remarkable. Why can’t all hotels have staff like this?
All in all, a very satisfactory stay. So much so that we have decided to book again next May. We can only hope that this hotel will continue to operate in the same way.

Room Tip: Recommend room 4 with balcony equipped with chairs and table for drinks overlooking the square in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

‘In response to Cal Lloro Hotel’s comments, we are wholly disappointed with the detail contained therein.

We agree that we did raise complaints or concerns during our stay with the exception of the non-application of discount to the restaurant bill.

Raising complaints is not something one should have to do on holiday. The very reason of our holiday was to relax. We did not wish to enter into an adversarial or confrontational situation.

A number of our concerns and criticisms listed would not have benefitted from raising complaints due to the short-termism of our stay, viz. inadequate size of room, poorly functioning comfort-cooling system, 1960s-style television set, no safe and poor breakfast of which which were told ‘was made-to-order’. Furthermore, a number of our concerns were singular events.

I am very disappointed with the comments with regard to leaving the hotel without paying and requesting a 60% discount. I hope that Cal Lloro Hotel’s comments are based on poor memory as they are factually incorrect. I do not wish to believe that Cal Lloro Hotel is posting falsehoods on Tripadvisor.

Pre-payment had been made to the hotel prior to arrival. We checked-out, leaving our key with the receptionist etc. We were not asked for any further payment. We had considered raising complaints upon our departure, however the receptionist did not understand English.

Upon return, we received an e-mail form Cal Lloro Hotel stating that they had not taken payment. This was Cal Lloro Hotel’s error, not ours. We responded with a number of complaints of which were not accepted by Cal Lloro Hotel, simply because we did not raise them at the time. We requested a discount in the region of 15% to 20%, which we believed to be fair and reasonable. We received further e-mails to which we responded and the final e-mail we sent did not receive a response as Cal Lloro Hotel withdrew the payment from our credit card!

I must categorically state that Cal Lloro Hotel have falsely claimed in their posted comments on the issues of receipt of no complaints, leaving without paying, request of 60% discount and no response to three ‘strikes unanswered’, which I can only assume relates to three e-mail correspondences.

In response to ‘Perfect Honeymoon’, I regretfully read the comment ‘I think the previous reviewer must have been staying in a different hotel’. I note the Traveller Rating has 6 ratings between average and terrible ratings. Tripadvisor, as I understand it, functions to provide a ‘heads-up’ to travellers, and contains positive and negative criticisms. I would appreciate in the future that your posts relate to your own experiences and do not criticise our comments, as you simply are incognisant of our experiences. In retort, I must state ‘I believe the proceeding reviewer must have stayed in a different hotel’. It works both ways – see!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Ate at the restaurant on the edge of pollenca square- nice location. 4 of us opted for the menu of the day. Mistake.

The food was very mediocre, delivered by a frenetic, pleasant but incompetent service team. Wrong starters. Wine returned twice due to cork remenents. Wrong main course for my wife (ordered chicken with veg got kids cut up chicken and chips- when asked for the proper dish was told not possible and given a wilted plate of old lettuce) then one of the children's ice creams came with a bonus short curly black hair attached, anatomical origin unsure but suspected. To be fair they deducted the price of my wife's dinner from the bill.

Wouldn't go back for free.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DJAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Fantastic little hotel ! Stayed with my wife from 12th to 16th July in room 3 . Great room overlokking the square with lovely balcony. Nicolas and Andrea looked after us during our stay and were both brilliant. Lovely breakfast , anything you wanted really. Meals at lunchtime and evening were very well cooked and presented. This hotel is as near perfect as you will find. We will return very soon . Steve & Kim

Room Tip: Room 3 overlooks square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tombanellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pollenca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Son Sant Jordi
Hotel Son Sant Jordi
#4 of 20 in Pollenca
260 reviews
1.0 mi away
Son Brull Hotel & Spa
Son Brull Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Pollenca
358 reviews
0.0 mi away
Juma
Juma
#2 of 20 in Pollenca
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
L'Hostal Hotel de Interior
0.0 mi away
Hotel Desbrull
Hotel Desbrull
#5 of 20 in Pollenca
93 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cal Lloro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cal Lloro Hotel

Address: Calle Antonio Maura 38, 07460 Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Pollenca
Price Range: £69 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cal Lloro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a privileged location, in the market square and in a pedestrian area, Ca’l Lloro is one of the town’s historical buildings which has been completely renovated. The hotel is a perfect blend between old tradition and modern style in a unique way, where every detail has been taken into account with the utmost standards of comfort. Ca’l Lloro is a familiar and cozy hotel which offers a personal, exclusive treatment to all its clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cal Lloro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cal Lloro Hotel Majorca/Pollenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing