We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One for Victoria Wood?”
Review of El Guia

El Guia
Ranked #81 of 167 Restaurants in Soller
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The restaurant, one of the oldest in Soller (since 1860), is recommended and recognized by several generations (grandparents, children and grandchildren). Classic cut, simple, elaborated with correct and native materials. Fresh fish, paellas and typical Mallorcan dishes cooked in the classic way. It is mentioned in many publications, including the Michelin Guide.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One for Victoria Wood?”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Agree totally with previous reviewer, "joanpatkelly" - I couldn't put it better! Our evening experience was equally grisly/hilarious. The food was unremarkable which is more than you could say about the service which was just embarrassing. The two waiters were constantly vying to fill our glass, move a dish, push a knife around the table - anything to keep themselves from total boredom. One of them yelled out of the window at regular intervals - presumably to his mate in the alley below. We ate on a Friday evening in October and there was one other couple eating at the far end of this huge and soulless dining room. We got through the ordeal in 50 minutes and were SO glad to get out of there and have a coffee in the main square. John Cleese would have had a field day!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    25
    12
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One for Gordon Ramsey to dust off”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

In all my time using Tripadvisor this is the first occassion that I needed to say something negative. Having spent a holiday in Soller 2 years ago I was amazed how many people in our hotel recommended this restaurant. Everyone told us it was a little strange but the food made up for it. We looked in a few nights but as it was always empty, decided to bye pass.

Last week on our return to Soller I met a coulple who again referred to the restaurant and said it was worth a visit. Again they mentioned that it was a little strange. So off we went and sure enough at 20.00hrs there was only one lone sole eating in a restaurant with a capacity for at least 60 people. Food acceptable - even though there were various option unavailable. No atmosphere even when we finished there were only 6 people dining. That was at 21:00hrs as the unemployed waiters were overly efficient and were ready to serve main course just as you were about to finish your starter. What a rush - I felt it was like a business lunch and they were trying to get me back to work on time. Each time we drank the wine or water the waiter attended our table and topped our glasses up. Very frustrating and like as if they wanted you out for another sitting.

In summary food acceptable but over priced compared to others in Soller. Very uncomfortable with waiters hovering all the time and so silent that you needed to whisper to avoid been heard.

I got the feeling that people may have been recommending this restaurant similar to passing on a chain letter. In other word given that they had to go through this torture felt someone else should as well.

I would love Gordon Ramsey to take it on as a project and to see if he could knock some life into it.

Avoid if you have any sense.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joanpatkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great traditional mallorcan food + service”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This is the fourth year running that we have enjoyed delicious mallorcan dishes at the Ei Guia. The hotel and restaurant have a gentle old world charm - an oasis of calm close to the main square. The service is also really good - particularly the maitre d / head waiter who looks after his restaraunt and his patrons with considerable care and attention - in a very old school but nice and reassuring kind of way.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank selbyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Next to Soller station”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Unfiortunately, this restaurant in the El Guia Hotel seems to be overlooked at lunchtime. A small hotel next to the station, it is too tucked away for people to notice its restaurant when exploring Soller. So go and find it -you won't be disappointed. We had teh menu del dia and was very impressed with the quality. Unfortunately, they didnt have the dessert I wanted, but as it was baked apple and we turned up just before the kitchen shut, I was not really surprised.
If you get the train in from Palma and arrive at lunchtime, take a turn to the right and stop for lunch before exploring. I'm glad we did.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Val-Director
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food fantastic but atmosphere/service very uncomfortable”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We tried this restaurant as it was recommended in our guide book.

The food was absolutely delicious and prices were reasonable.
However, we felt uncomfortable throughout our meal and as such would not go back.

The waiters were smart (white jackets) and the restaurant clean and smart. The head waiter made good recommendations for food and the house wine was good.

However, the service was very awkward and seemed very dated. There were only 2 other tables filled, but we were all put next to each other in the huge room (near the window!). Everyone felt they had to whisper and talking was very awkward. The service was too rushed: as soon as we finished a dish and put cutlery down, it was whisked away and the next dish arrived shortly afterwards. Bill was brought without us requesting it, straight after dessert. The waiter topped up wine glasses practically after every sip. He also paced around and around the dining room while we were eating, ready to pounce on plates/top up wine glasses.

This quality of the food and prices should mean this restaurant is packed every night which would improve the atmosphere. We tried to go on a week night earlier in our stay but chickened out when we couldn't see anyone in there. We went back on a Friday night.

They could improve the restaurant so easily: turn off the bright main lights, put some candles on the table; play some soft background music; and tell the waiter to sit down while people are eating!

Still, I don't think we've discussed a restaurant in such detail on any meal out! I was surprised to see so many good reviews on Trip advisor - but with very similar comments to ours!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PengBath_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Guia also viewed

 
Soller, Majorca
 

Been to El Guia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing