We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Tasty taster menu”

Cal Bisbe Restaurant
Ranked #56 of 163 Restaurants in Soller
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Sa Tafona restaurant is part of the Hotel Ca´l Bisbe. As the residence of Bishop Nadal at the beginning of the 19th Century, Ca’l Bisbe is now restoring its historical heritage to offer the quality, comfort and personalised style that is so important today. The restaurant has magnificent views of the mountainous countryside of Artà village. In the evening, meals are offered in the charming dining room, or during spring and summer on the beautiful terrace surrounded by the greenery of the Ca’l Bisbe gardens. Although the restaurant specialises in Mallorcan cooking, it also offers grilled meats and vegetables prepared with fresh local produce. There is an extensive wine list of Spanish and particularly Mallorcan wines.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Tasty taster menu”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Had a wonderful meal here recently. We had the taster menu, which was preceded by complimentary amuse bouche of shot of creamed pea soup ( I'm sure I haven't done it justice there! )
Starter was scallop ceviche, followed by a delicious risotto. We had opted for the 4 course menu, as we thought 5 courses may be too filling, although I'm sure we could have forced ourselves......
For main , I chose the cod fillet, and suggested ( ! ) to my husband he may like the pork knuckle... a good suggestion, as he looked as if he was about to burst into song after tasting it !
The orange dessert was a collection of orange delicacies including ice cream,orange cake and candied orange.
Every course was beautifully presented, and staff had just the right balance of being helpful and knowledgeable without being formal. Our waiter matched wines to each of our courses which complemented them perfectly.
This was a really lovely evening, set in the hotels peaceful garden area, I would recommend anyone to visit and try this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LINDA3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    21
    10
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Tasting Menu”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This restaurant provides a tasting menu with matching wines of an exceptional high quality. We enjoyed everything about our meal. The night we were there it was very busy, but we did not feel rushed and the staff were very helpful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 186338SarahS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
329 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Delightful Setting, Wonderful Service, Great Food”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Cal Bisbe Restaurant is attached to a very charming looking hotel in the heart of Soller. The outside seating area is on a terrace overlooking the hotel's swimming pool and gardens. Even though it is right in Soller itself, the garden is very private and not overlooked so you would not think you were in the centre of town. The menu is a set menu and it was delicious the night we were there. We had risotto, followed by fish, followed by pork, followed by a delicious orange dessert. The portions are perfect, so at the end of the meal you are very satisfied, but not over full. They also offer other options for children, but proper food, not nuggets and chips!!!!! The service was attentive and friendly. The restaurant was very busy the night we were there and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty63Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely excellent”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This restaurant serves the best food in Soller ! The staff and service is excellent. VERY HIGHY RECOMMENDED.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick&AnneHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Mallorcan fine dining in a lovely setting”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We ate outside on the terrace by the pool with the mountains as a backdrop - just beautiful.

the menu changes every two weeks. It's a set menu and is well-judged so that you can get through the whole thing without feeling you're going to burst!

Someone in that kitchen can really cook. Everything was at least competent and most of it was really very good. in my ideal world, I think I would go for one fewer ingredient or twiddle in every dish, but please don't let that put you off - the food is really good. As an example, we ended with a dessert that included a sort of white chocolate mousse (it's an insult to call it this, but I can think of no other way to describe it!). I can't see the point of white chocolate - no cocoa flavour and all sugar - but this thing was a creamy, gentle delight. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HerniaBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cal Bisbe Restaurant also viewed

Soller, Majorca
Soller, Majorca
 

Been to Cal Bisbe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing