We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A comfortable, relaxing stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Hotel Soller

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gran Hotel Soller
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Soller
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A comfortable, relaxing stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

The first thing that struck us about Gran Hotel Soller was the excellent customer service from the staff. Never intrusive but always warm and welcoming, we felt well extremely well looked after during the 6 days we stayed. In particular, the staff looking after as at breakfast on the roof were attentative and genuinely kind and considerate to the guests.

Other highlights were the beautiful building itself and the views from the roof were a treat. It as nice not to stay in a hotel that looks like any hotel in the world. We had a standard room which was peaceful and comfortable. And thankfully a proper double bed that was not two beds pushed together as seems to be more often the case! The bathroom was spacious with a good power shower.

The hotel is also in a perfect location in Soller, a stone's throw away from the main square and at the tram stop - although the tram was often full by the time it got there so it was better to walk to the station.

My only criticism would be that while the interior is smart, clean and comfortable, I would agree with the last reviewer that some of the faciities are not 5 star, for example the "spa" in the ground floor. When we were there the weather was extremely hot and the room the pool was in was unbearably airless and stifling. The spa is functional but not particularly pleasing aesthetically and feels a bit like it has been put into a building where it should not be! We also found limited outdoor spaces to sit. The roof terrace is lovely but small and very hot in the summer. Similarly the gardens are beatiful but small and not somewhere you can "sunbathe". As our room did not have a balcony we felt a bit restricted.

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel. If you are looking for a relaxing getaway, in an authentic part of Majorca away from purpose built resorts this is the place to go. Soller itself is beautiful, the tram to the port is a brilliant system, and for those that want to walk, head along the road out the town to Binibassi and beyond.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony you have to upgrade to a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindsay072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    106
    26
    14
    13
See reviews for
63
182
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed for 5 nights - the room was first rate and food at the hotel restaurant 'Can Blau'and at breakfast was superb at all times. The hotel makes the most of the small plot it occupies but being honest, some of the facilities on offer are a bit too small - e.g pools and gym. The service at the restaurant 'Can Blau' was at times a bit poor - not enough waiters/waitresses for the number of guests meant that we were sometimes left waiting long periods for our food; staff were also sometimes a bit 'stand offish which was totally the opposite to what we experienced over breakfast on the roof terrace - with some superb views aswell. The hotel is well located in the beautiful historic town of Soller and just a short tram away for port de Soller. Mountains nearby are great for walking and biking up - I would recommend doing the 61 hairpin bends up and down Coll De Soller too!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We were nervous booking Gran Hotel as it was not rated as near the top of the hotel ranks as we usually stay in however i have no idea why?!

The hotel's mixture of grand and modern works very well. The external facade is really special and i witnessed very few people walk past without stopping to gaze admiringly. The garden at the front is a lovely area to relax after a day of sunbathing or exploring. The roof top pool was great (although a little windy at times :-) ) and the setting for breakfast was the best start someone could ask for to their day. The breakfast was of a good quality all freshly made and the orange juice was so tasty.

We stayed in one of their suites which was huge, with a fantastic terrace however we did see the other rooms and they were also very nice and comfortable.

The staff were lovely, the female receptionist was always smiling and very helpful. A pleasure to be greeted by every morning. Also the waiting staff were very friendly and unlike certain 5* hotels we never felt "nameless". They would always bring my "cafe con leche" and an ashtray to me as soon as i sat down and also their spirit measures certainly ensured we didn't require many. Their menu prices are reasonable for the type of hotel they are, and lower than some in town.

As others have mentioned the tram stops outside the hotel and if at the front of the hotel it does get a little noisy at night however i am a real light sleeper.

The hotel i would say is not suited for children as it is quiet, and we did not see much for kids to do.

A few other very small points i would agree with others on is the repetitive psuedo music can grate, a few more english speaking tv channels or a dvd player would be good. Their wi-fi was very low in signal which could be improved and lastly I would have loved a tea/coffee maker in room. None of which would put me off returning, which i am sure we will at some point.

Quick points on soller, we usually travel long haul however fancied trying somewhere closer to home this year, Soller Town was a great base for visiting some of the best of what Mallorca offers. We stayed for two weeks which is unusually long for people to stay i believe but there was plenty of other villages for us to visit as the square could get repitive if there for a longer period. We loved seeing the saturday market and i bought the obligatory wicker basket (you'll understand if you go)! I like to go for a walk during the day and although their are many proper walking trails for people way more energetic than us, there was so many little streets to wander around and stop for a beer here or there whilst marvelling at the beauty of the area which certainly beats tourist tack shops found in other more bucket and spade resorts.

We are youngish (early 30's) and we like to have a wine or 3 of an evening and a good meal and possibly a bar after. One thing soller the town lacked was any where that played music but we visited the port one evening to give us a change from the sound of chatter that fills the square. Lastly i finally located somewhere which has a lot of tourists but no mcdonalds!

Back to the hotel, the location of it is fantastic as although a couple of minutes walk from the square it does not feel it and has a really relaxing ambience to the hotel.

I got exactly what I wanted in my soller solace! A great little hotel and a truely fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carolinel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

A gorgeous quaint hotel with the most unbelievable service! The staff can't do enough to help. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexypii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Recently had a 3 night stay in a really nice suite located on level 3. A nice room with lots of space and nicely furnished with quality fittings. Food and service were very good with a relaxed atmosphere in the hotel and very helpful staff. We would certainly consider staying at the hotel again as it is well located and has good facilities. We would avoid the festival period - which occurs for a week in late August as one night the music kept going until 5am in the morning!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OkayTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

This is an excellent hotel situated close to Soller's main square. The hotel combines an historical building with modern state of the art facilities. When we stayed the service (particulary from the manager Sergio) was outstanding. The house restaurant is beautifully situated in the grounds and the food quality is excellent, although perhaps the menu choice could be widened. The views of the mountains from the small roofside pool are stunning.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Set just off the busy Plaça de la Constitució and next to a Port de Soller tram stop, this hotel is perfectly situated to explore the Tramuntana area. The hotel is quiet with nicely appointed air conditioned rooms with excellent staff happy to help in any way they can - and with a smile! It manages to create an air of peace and solitude in very pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paddysinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soller hotels
2.6 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aimia Hotel
Aimia Hotel
#1 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Avenida
Hotel L'Avenida
#5 of 37 in Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
SENTIDO Porto Soller
SENTIDO Porto Soller
#4 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Vila
Hotel La Vila
#14 of 37 in Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#11 of 37 in Soller
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Soller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Soller

Property: Gran Hotel Soller
Address: Calle Romaguera 18, 07100, Soller, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Soller
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Soller
#13 Luxury Hotel in Soller
#18 Romantic Hotel in Soller
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Soller 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Gran Hotel Soller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soller Gran Hotel
Gran Hotel Soller Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing