We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with a excellent location”
Review of Gran Hotel Soller

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Hotel Soller
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Soller
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with a excellent location”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 9 nights at the end of Sept. this is a wonderful hotel with a slightly old fashioned class to it. The rooms & their facilities are very good. The location of the hotel could not be better right in the heart of Soller. The dinner menu in the hotel we felt was not of a 5 star standard, especially when there are so other many excellent restaurants in the area giving 5 star standard of food & service. Not a great selection on the menu either & pretty basic. Breakfast on the terrace in the mornings was very good & the selection of food on offer was superb compared to dinner, despite this we still really enjoyed our stay at this hotel & the staff were very helpful & courteous.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    117
    28
    14
    15
See reviews for
74
201
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is an excellent hotel, staffed by excellent people and providing excellent service and great value for money.
Okay, it was not without some minor shortcomings at breakfast time but these were more a reflection of a certain very likable quirkiness about the place and, for my wife and I, they were more than compensated for by the genuine friendliness and helpfulness of every single one of the staff that we met during our week's holiday. We really appreciated and valued this.

An ideal location, especially for couples of all ages.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I really enjoyed my stay as did my sister and my mother. Its not really a five star but notwithstanding this, its a magical place...the courtyard where all meals are served is truly beautiful. Further the pool on the rooftop has literally unbelievable views. I have traveled alot and honestly, I can say that the views from the rooftop were some of the most aesthetically pleasing of anywhere I have been.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeePoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

third time we have stayed here so central and peacefull,Stayed for dinner on first night exellent meal,second day my wife got stung by a bee the staff were very helpful especially sebastion who went straight to the pharmacy to get her some anticeptic cream and then told us where the clinic was really friendly hotel. mike&lynn.

Room Tip: front facing rooms are large & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penrithmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The plus points are the amazing mountain views, Hotel Architecture and the very helpful and friendly staff.
The negative points are the spa, particulary the gym which had several pices of kit unusable, no staff at any point. The Steam room never worked for the whole week nor looked as if it has done for many months. The indoor pool ahd at least 4 large panes of glass broken and open to the elements and these were located over the poolside loungers.
The breakfats are adequate but not 5 star and you could die of thirst as the waiters are not attentive where drinks are concerned.
Use the 100 year old Tram to the beach once each way for the experience but it's cheaper by bus and taxi. Equally the same for the majestic train ride in the 101 year old wooden train to Palma through 8 long mountain tunnels.

Room Tip: Choose a rear facing room overlooking the mountains, particulary up on the 3rd floor. East Facing so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We booked the Gran Hotel via Teletext Holidays In Luxury website and were very pleased by the standard of the hotel and it's location. It is very near to the main square and there is tram stop outside the hotel (the hotel is set back from the road so you won't hear the trams fro your room unless you are really listening).
We stayed in a basic double room but it was really big and so was the bathroom (double sinks were a nice touch)- would have loved to see what the suites were like!
All the staff were very friendly and helpful and made the stay very enjoyable.
The pool is not big and there were very few children staying at hotel (probably because Soller is not by the beach and so may not appeal as much as Port Soller for young families). However the pool area is lovely and quiet and you get a great view of the mountains from the pool.
We didn't end up eating at the hotel as we were out and about most days but the menus for Can Blau did look very good.
Breakfast was good with lots of choice but the service in relation to hot food was a bit hit and miss. On the days we wanted to go out for day trips we gave a hot breakfast a miss as it took a while to come out but there was adequate choice of bread, cheese, fruit, cereals, croissants etc from the cold buffet. The freshly squeezed orange juice was very good.
The hotel also has an indoor pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi which we used when it was raining outside.
All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a good central location.

Room Tip: We were in Room 305 which faces the front of the hotel but if you can afford it, you may want to go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HorshamBibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

lovely hotel, upgraded to what must be the best room 402 not only in hotel but soller. lovely reception staff. for us the let down was breakfast its basic at best plus agree with other comments about the indoor breakfast room and excuse of weather, its to make things easier for staff. i rate it 5 for room and staff but breakfast needs a re think , it lets the hotel down and could be sorted easily .

Room Tip: 402 the buisness
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkTufty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soller
2.6 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
822 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#25 of 37 in Soller
419 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aimia Hotel
Aimia Hotel
#1 of 8 in Port de Soller
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Vila
Hotel La Vila
#21 of 37 in Soller
339 reviews
3.7 mi away
Belmond La Residencia
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Avenida
Hotel L'Avenida
#3 of 37 in Soller
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Soller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Soller

Property: Gran Hotel Soller
Address: Calle Romaguera 18, 07100, Soller, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Soller
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Soller
#13 Luxury Hotel in Soller
#18 Romantic Hotel in Soller
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Soller 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Gran Hotel Soller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soller Gran Hotel
Gran Hotel Soller Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing