We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Great aspects”
Review of Gran Hotel Soller

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Hotel Soller
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Soller
Certificate of Excellence
Norther Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Some Great aspects”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived the receptionist was wonderful, spoke very good English, service was a little slow at Lunch, orders seem to get mixed up with tables, and other people got food before others, staff very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MorganNortherIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    108
    27
    14
    13
See reviews for
64
192
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here with my family in April, we decided to return for a drink whilst we were visiting the town on our return to Soller and show our friends who were interested in staying there in the future.( we staying in the port this time) .
Very disappointed to be given very poor service. The waitress messed up our very simple drinks order on our first round, the forgot the glasses with our sangria on the second round, with not much apology.
When they found out we weren't staying for lunch the staff were rude & took away most of our table explaining in a not so diplomatic way that there were busy!
The lunch service was busy the staff clearly could not cope & this showed I. Their faces & attitude!

Such a shame that the charm & politeness when were were paying 440 euros per night to stay there back in April was not extended to our return trip for a drink...

Disappointed & will never return or really want to recommend now to friends or family

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

this review ididn't come easy one way or the other it wasn't bad i..it was not excellent .... and it was just well a little unusual. A nice hotel with a traditional frontage and newbuild behind it A clever trick which provided good accommodation in the heart of the town which is a delight and with easy access to the port with the tram stop out front .
what is there not to like - don't hastate to go you won't make a mistake .. amazingly it had the feel of allo allo or Fawlty Towers - don't think this is necessarily a criticism it was rather charming The hotel did not appear to be run by a strict manual (if you ll pardon the pun) .... a very hard-working French manager and assistants (German Spanish Majorcan) did at times give you cause for a smile! all nice people and working together (a sort of chaotic efficiencyl if only the EU could manage it likewise.!
We had a nice time here! thank you

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a wonderful hotel. The hotel is even more conveniently located than I expected and yet, with space around it, it remains quiet and an oasis in a fairly busy town. The room was modern, clean and well kept. The food was good and reasonably priced and the rooftop pool was fantastic. It is true the terrace and the pool are both quite small but this works well. I doubt many guests are there to spend the whole day by the pool rather preferring to travel around and so there was no shortage of space or of chairs while we were there.

However, the truly outstanding point is the quality of staff. Rarely have I stayed anywhere where the staff were so uniformly friendly without being overly solicitous. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were treated superbly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DTMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
171 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We needed a room for one night and we needed it in a hurry. A recommendation meant that we found ourselves at The Gran Hotel in Soller. The hotel was fine, the room small but clean. The staff were friendly, the view from the roof terrace rather nice certainly nicer than the view from our bedroom which was of the carpark. Breakfast was plentiful, if not of the highest standard. All in all this is a good four star standard hotel in Soller and what it offers it succeeds with.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharAp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just stayed in this hotel for a week and amazed that it is classed as a 5*. Yes, the facade of the hotel is beautiful, and yes, it is very well positioned next to town square and tram stop.
BUT - the pool area is tiny, and actually very scruffy. There wasn't enough shade - a fixed sail-type of shade which meant it wasn't adjustable - we had to ask them to get an umbrella from somewhere. Not enough sun beds, and the ones they had were really uncomfortable. Also there was a wasp nest in the wall cavity, which meant there was even less room up there. The manager kept spraying insect spray but it has to be dealt with professionally, not just an insect spray. It was still there when we left.
The TV in our room was an old portable - positioned on a high stool sideways on to the bed. Ridiculous. At first it was only black and white - until we complained and it was changed, or repaired. Only 2 English channels - very poor.
Lots of other niggles - but finally, the choice on both the half board and the A la carte menu was very poor. Only 3 items. And food was lukewarm. We had half board option but went out after the first few evenings as we wanted more variety.
This hotel should be re classed as 4*.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Wonderful hotel in beautiful setting. Just returned from 11 nights at the Grand hotel Soller and would recommend it to all. Facilities are very good with excellent food and even better service. All the staff were friendly and went out of their way to make the holiday perfect, especially Sebastian. Location was just what we were looking for, a quiet Spanish village set in a mountain landscape close to the coast and accessible via a tram (running every 30mins) from almost outside the hotel. Some wonderful restaurants in Soller itself only a few minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank volcano1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soller hotels
2.6 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aimia Hotel
Aimia Hotel
#1 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Avenida
Hotel L'Avenida
#3 of 37 in Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#10 of 37 in Soller
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#26 of 37 in Soller
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Finca Ca's Sant
Finca Ca's Sant
#9 of 37 in Soller
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Soller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Soller

Property: Gran Hotel Soller
Address: Calle Romaguera 18, 07100, Soller, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Soller
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Soller
#12 Luxury Hotel in Soller
#18 Romantic Hotel in Soller
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Soller 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gran Hotel Soller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soller Gran Hotel
Gran Hotel Soller Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing