We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room with a view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esplendido Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Esplendido Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Soller
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Room with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Our second visit to this wonderful hotel. Laid back, stylish, cool swedish feel. Rooms have incredible views across the bay, out to see and the port. Excellent lounge area on the top floor, with a retro record collection and player.....lost a whole afternoon up there with a good bottle of wine when we last visited in 2005. We were worried that it might have changed since our last visit 9 years ago or the decor might look tired but it was even better than before with an addition of a small indoor pool, gym and spa. Restaurant overlooking the port serves great fresh fish, asian fusion food but also has a childrens menu to keep the smaller patrons happy. You can have breakfast downstairs if you prefer an adult only setting and outside the school holidays obviously there are quite a few small people around but such a great atmosphere and the staff are very friendly and on hand for lots of advice on other restaurants to try. We did walk up to the Jumeriah Hotel at the top of the cliff and sampled a drink at their terrace bar and it had great views, service, pools, peace etc but feel that Esplendido offers better value for money, in a more convenient position.
Its the little things that make these hotels special, like the complimentary mini bar, the free wifi and late check out.....plus breakfast til 11.00! What's not to like? We will be back...thank you! xx

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NudgeCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    109
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
188
330
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I spent a weekend with my family at the Splendid hotel and enjoyed our stay so much that I decided to write my first review on Tripadvisor. The location is perfect, right in front of the sea and the hotel is beautiful. The service is wonderful. You can feel the harmony and good vibes on a team that combines local and foreign employees. The breakfast is full and good and we loved being able to squeeze our own orange juices. We also enjoyed putting vinyl records in the music room (It's nice djing again with technics!). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niki a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I love this place.

We visited in April and there is so much going on. People off cycling, hiking, to play tennis at hotel court, stand up paddle boarding in the harbour, and all the great cafes and restaurants of Port Soller.

The rooms are great, with the views from the sea facing rooms amazing. Breakfast is great. Wifi is throughout the hotel for those checking on work. I didn't sit still long enough to make the most of the pool (or Spa) but it seems like a great spot to relax.

The location is great too. Close to the mountains, but by the sea with lots going on in Port Soller.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rupertbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Booked last minute family holiday and ended up here, fantastic position in stunning fishing port. We stayed in family room for 1st half of week and then upgraded to presidential suite. We have 3 girls under 10, family suite is perfect, interconnecting rooms, decent size and plenty of room even with extra single bed in one of the rooms (other 2 shared a king sized bed). The only downside to room is there is no sea view and to us that is what the hotel is all about, the sea views. This is why we upgraded to presidential suite which had 2 balconies with gorgeous views, 1 with a hot tub on it ! This suite had a bedroom to front with fab views, another double up a spiral staircase and a sofa bed in a lounge area.The bistros restaurant has some pretty decent evening food and the breakfast which is inclusive is very good, lovely fresh juices, fab fruit and chef on stand by to cook fresh eggs. Staff are friendly and decor all round is very contemporary. Only criticisms are they advertise the pool as being heated but it was freezing and the doors to the rooms do not have child locks in the inside I.e no bolt. You can turn the lock on the inside to stop it being opened on the outside but a child can easily open from inside. In the family room the children's bedroom is the first bedroom so nearest the front door so it is a bit of in issue, we got round it by moving a sofa in front if the door when we went to bed. They have a very nice touch in this place of free mini bar, water topped up every day and beers / wine replenished I think every couple of days. We went 1st week of school holidays and was very quiet so no problems with staff coping but it did strike me it could be an issue in the summer when flat out, same with local restaurants. All in all, fantastic place to stay and we will definitely consider returning.

Room Tip: Family room is good choice for up to 3 children (2 sharing a king) but the lack of sea view is a big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GMason1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

This Hotel has thought of everything to make a visitors' stay wonderful. It is in prime location
overlooking the beautiful bay of the Port Soller. Having the bottles of water in the fridge replenished each day is a major bonus as the weather was excellent and we walked miles to explore this lovely island. The staff at the Esplendido are friendly and helpful - it is very difficult to think of any negatives regarding this establishment.
A bonus might be valet parking as the local roads work on a one way system known only to
the Spanish!.
We would definitely recommend this Hotel to our friends

Room Tip: Fourth floor sea view for lovely views over bay and no need for balcony as lots of public seating
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Lovely hotel. Shame about the hordes of unruly children at breakfast. It was half term. My review would be 100% glowing if not for Welcome drink being disturbed by a tantrum and evening drinks by another. Room was perfect, spa perfect, food excellent. Could have done with more staff on duty at breakfast!
Parking is easy if on arrival you have the guts to drive down the street with the tram saying no unauthorised access. You are allowed to drive down this road to unload car.
The weather changed so we made more use of the indoor spa than the outdoor pool areas, which were nonetheless lovely.
The spa was a haven. Beautifully kept and clean.
Whole hotel was immaculate and had a very relaxed feel to it. Loved the Swedish arty decor.
We were on the second floor and views were stunning.
I had a fabulous facial, great treatment rooms.
Drinks in the bar were to die for.

Room Tip: Pay for room with a balcony or terrace overlooking the sea. The best part of my day was a coffee on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha6319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Is it not refreshing when - for once - two hotel truisms are found not to be true?

1) The best views are never from your room

Well, at Esplendido, not only do you get the fabulous views from any room so labelled, but there are generous communal sea-facing terraces for those who pick garden-facing rooms. We absolutely loved not only the views, but also the sensation of falling asleep and waking up to sound of the waves lapping the shore outside.

2) The better the view, the less you can trust the rest on offer

This hotel delivers on all other aspects, at least those that matter to me: food and drink, service and key facilities: pools, gym etc - none of us tried the spa, so cannot comment.
We lunched, dined and had drinks several times during our time at the hotel and were never disappointed.

The crowd when we were there: mix of well-behaved Brits, Scandis and Germans in their 30s, 40s and 50s, some with their children, some without.
The few critical reviews I have seen have focused on the disturbing presence of children...and those reviewers are right: if the mere presence of children unnerves you on your hotel stay, go somewhere else, preferably where they are banned!
For the rest of us, if you can take the odd bread-crumb on the carpet below your table as you have a breakfast at 10am and drinks/dinner after 8pm, chances are you will have a perfectly tranquil and pleasurable experience, enjoying the fabulous setting....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ex-expat-1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soller hotels
0.3 mi away
Aimia Hotel
Aimia Hotel
#1 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.3 mi away
Es Port Hotel
Es Port Hotel
#3 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
SENTIDO Porto Soller
SENTIDO Porto Soller
#4 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#11 of 37 in Soller
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel L'Avenida
Hotel L'Avenida
#5 of 37 in Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplendido Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendido Hotel

Property: Esplendido Hotel
Address: urbanizacion Es Traves 5, 07108, Soller, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Soller
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Soller
#6 Romantic Hotel in Soller
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplendido Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Esplendido Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplendido Hotel Soller, Majorca
Hotel Esplendido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing