We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming little place.”
Review of Ca'n Isabel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ca'n Isabel
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Soller
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed in Soller for 4 nights to celebrate our 25th Anniversary and thanks to the contributors here, opted for the Ca`n Isabel.......we weren`t disappointed.
The location is ideal being 10 minutes away from the bus stop, 2 minutes from the centre of town and the electric railway to Palma is just outside the back gate.
As mentioned elsewhere, Alicia speaks very little English but her helper Miguel is pretty good with English and German so absolutely no problems.
The Red Room was lovely......simple but tastefully decorated, not too large, not too small but with an amazingly comfy King Size bed that didn`t want to let go in the mornings.
The only downside was the bathroom however, foreign plumbing is usually a matter of patient trial and error to figure out which way to turn/push/ or bend the levers, wheels or knobs......Us old gits like a hot tap and a cold tap ;-)
Breakfasts were taken in the garden at the rear and were a yummy experience.

To sum up, friendly, comfortable and perfectly located......If we return to Mallorca, we know where we`ll be staying.

Room Tip: Rooms at front could suffer from traffic noise in the summer if double glazed windows are open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheWuffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

Good service, even the lady didn't really speak english she tried to explain us the nice restaurants, places, how to get somewhere,…
The people working at the hotel were really friendly and helpful!
Our room was amazing with a big shower, great bath and a lovely terrace where we could have our apero with a nice view on the mountains.
The breakfast was ok, good variations and fresh orange juice!
A wonderful 4 days in Soller and the hotel!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Wannes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Charm, sophistication, elegance, and hospitality are plentiful here, as well as comfort and convenience. Those are such cliche buzzwords in this industry, but these words are actually not good enough to describe this inn. It is the perfect place to plant yourself while enjoying the spirit and atmosphere of this quiet little island town. [True, barely any English is spoken at this establishment, but surprise - this property is in Spain, where the primary language is Spanish or a regional version of it.] It's cozy and personal enough to feel like you're a treasured guest in someone's home, yet you don't feel uncomfortable as if you're in somebody else's space - it's your own place for the duration of your stay. The whole place - from reception parlor to music room to terrace, to individual rooms - is tastefully decorated with personality, not showroom sterility. Clean Clean Clean! But just-right shabby so you don't feel like you're going to disturb, break or ruin anything. Plenty of nooks and seating in the common areas to hang out, use wifi, listen to music, or read a book. We were in the Romantic Room, which was very large and sunny and overlooked the narrow, cobblestoned, tile-roofed street - which was quite loud when traffic came through one weekend morning!!! From the terrace in back I could look up and see the private terraces of the other guest rooms, and I think next time I would go for one of those. Service was EXQUISITE and PERFECT. You won't see but 1 or 2 people at any time.... they have everything choreographed to ensure everything is just right for you without you ever having to ask for anything, wait for anything, or be aware of all that goes on for your benefit (kinda like Disneyworld, but not in such a creepy way). You go down to the sunny terrace (or indoor dining on one of Majorca's rare bad weather days), are instantly served coffee, juice, and just the right amount of fresh, local breakfast. You see the kitties scampering about, but they know to keep out of the guests' way. You hear the train from Palma and the tram from the port quietly arriving at the station that is literally across the back lane, and catch glimpses of people as they arrive and depart. When you return to your room it will have been magically refreshed. Then you can venture a few steps into the remarkable and quietly active town centre, or head to the port. For a special and chic meal go to Ca'n Boqueta - it's a lovely little walk from the the inn, if you don't get lost and you're not wearing high heels. Ca'n Isabel will definitely enhance and be a part of your happy Soller experience.

Room Tip: Potential morning traffic noise in front room, but was large and sunny with separate tub (in middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLeopards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Fantastic service and lovely large red theme room. Very accommodating hosts served breakfast in the picturesque garden with resident kittens running around. Cool air conditioned foyer and lounge room with jazz in the background was the perfect setting to read, cover emails and relax. Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GMH0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This very charming small boutique hotel is a real find in Soller. The fantastic decoration of the entrance is a true indicator what you will find in your rooms. The rooms are so nicely decorated that you want to spend all your time there. Ours was named as white room and had a large terrace overlooking the mountains and the Soller train station. I should also mention the ultra delicious breakfast and the very candid and helpful staff. Ca'n Isabel makes your trip to Soller unforgettable. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ceren U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

At first I was nervous about how to get there without renting a car from the airport, but Ca'n Isabel was the ideal spot for our Mallorcan honeymoon. One quick & cheap bus ride Palma city center drops you right off in Soller, just blocks away from this B&B. (I definitely consider this more of a bed & breakfast than a hotel, but it was a very nice "surprise" to find it had that charm!)

Reading other reviews it looks like the lady who runs it doesn't know English, but since I speak Spanish I had a lot of fun talking with her. She lit up when she heard I spoke Spanish and gave us a TON of great information about what to do and where to go, even before showing us our room! She definitely runs the WHOLE place; she checked us in, cleaned the room, made the breakfast, washed the laundry... we only saw one other employee during our stay there. Such personal attention you'd never get in the States, it was great and added to the feel of wonderful Soller!

The hotel garden, where breakfast is eaten, has a gate that leads right out to the "main square" of Soller, and all it takes is crossing the tram tracks to pick up the tram leading to Port de Soller, where, if you're like us, you're likely to spend most of your days. I'm so glad I trusted other Trip Advisor reviews about this place, (what sold me was the location, since we weren't renting a car I needed transport to be easy).

We booked the "terrace and white room" on the top floor which is the way to go for SURE. A very comfy double bed, old fashioned yet charmingly updated suite, with a PRIVATE rooftop terrace where, although the walls prevent you from seeing much of the town, you can sit on the lounge chairs and sip a glass of wine and listen to the church bells toll and the children playing down below. (Use some towels on the lounge chairs... they are definitely "outdoors" furniture). I couldn't have been more pleased with all the accommodations.

Don't even get me started on the amazing breakfast in the garden. They have it set up for as many couples are staying the night, so whenever you wake up make your way down there, (the earlier the better for getting to the Port!) and you'll find an array of meats, cheeses, yogurt, french bread, pastries, fruit, jam, toast, eggs, juice and coffee. No, it's not a buffet, that's what each couple will find waiting at their table! Hats off to the lady running the show!

I can assume it would be a different experience not knowing any Spanish, but even if you miss out on her bubbly personality and travel suggestions due to a language barrier, you're sure to love the accommodations so long as you're with someone you can plan and laugh with.

Room Tip: I'd go with the "terrace and white room". I think it was just a few euros more, but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curse10kaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This romantic bolt-hole in down a small side street in Soller may be perfect for a weekend with a girl you've just met or your wife who you've been married to for 40 years, but for two blokes riding in the hills of Mallorca - even when they'd pulled apart the double bed in our compact boudoir, it was one of my poorer choices. Alicia, who appears to be the owner, cook, receptionist, chambermaid - in fact, the only person you ever see there - seems pleasant enough, but doesn't speak a word of English, so any thoughts you may have had about asking anything at all - forget it. (I'm not sure who the 'Sebastien' was who answers the emails in immaculate English when you book; maybe someone on a correspondence course but he was nowhere to be seen).

So, everything is done is sign language which whilst amusing for the first 10 minutes, becomes so annoying, that in the end you just say yes to anything. No reason why she should speak anything other than Spanish I suppose, but if you're running a B&B and you're the only person running it,(and this is definitely a B&B - you don't get anything else… There's a nice rather formal garden for breakfast, but in the evening, it's like returning to the Marie Celeste) it would help with the atmosphere if anyone at all knew what you were talking about. It seems that fairly quickly each of the couples (and they're all couples) give up, so it's a bit like we'd all taken a vow of silence and were either nudging each other to other to attempt to ask Alicia why there are sofa-cushions on the beds instead of pillows or gesturing at her like a game of charades for something we wanted, that she in turn, would have to guess might either be a cab, a silver cake-stand of jams or another tiny weeny Sylvanian Family omelette on a saucer.

If peace and quiet are your thing, make sure you get a room on the back of the house as despite the deafening silence in the reception; that quaint street that the house is on is in reality the main road out of Soller, so our room on the front was filled with the noise of the locals wringing the necks of their tiny scooters as they raced past, followed by those Spanish trucks with 2 stroke lawn-mower engines which look like they cost about £40 new, trying to see if they could wheeze up the hill at 30kph in first gear without blowing up. It's a cacophony that you wouldn't mind on some ring road in Kinshasa but here, particularly when it really gets resonating off the walls just after 6am, is enough to make you reach for the Bazooka.

All in all, it's a sweet place to stay for a couple, for a couple of nights, if you're on the back, but I'd stick to the hotels with somewhere else to go other than your room, a pool or a garden that you could kick back in… This being sandwiched between the tram on the back and the road on the front, isn't as relaxing as you might be looking for.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back, or a good set of ear-plugs... Avoid the first floor front. It's not jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 900cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soller hotels
0.2 mi away
Ca'n Abril
Ca'n Abril
#21 of 37 in Soller
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
S`Ardeviu
S`Ardeviu
#26 of 37 in Soller
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Vila
Hotel La Vila
#23 of 37 in Soller
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel El Guia
Hotel El Guia
#24 of 37 in Soller
98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Finca Ca's Sant
Finca Ca's Sant
#8 of 37 in Soller
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Soller
Gran Hotel Soller
#16 of 37 in Soller
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca'n Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca'n Isabel

Address: Calle Isabel II 13, 07100, Soller, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Soller
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Soller
Price Range: £93 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ca'n Isabel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ca'n Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca'n Isabel Soller, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing