We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful interior”
Review of Hotel La Vila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Vila
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Soller
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This hotel is perfectly placed on the square right in the centre of Soller. Small hotel done with class. The staff were really friendly and it was lovely to return after a long day sight seeing to a very clean and tidy room. My room overlooked the garden and it got the afternoon sun and my shutters were always pulled to to keep it cool, a nice touch.A return visit is a must.But please don't tell everyone, let it be our secret.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
4  Thank lesleysilverwings25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavila, Owner at Hotel La Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

Thank you Lesley for your nice words!! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Vila
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

Had a really nice 4 night stay at this hotel in May 2012.It was very easy to get to the hotel by train and bus .The hotel staff was very helpfull and the room was kept perfectly clean during our stay. Breakfast was very good ,so was the coffee.
The restaurant was excellent ! We had 2 perfekt dinners : 1 menu with wine menu and one a la carte and would love to return.The best food and the best lokal wines ,we had in Spain.
We surely recommend this hotel and would like to go there again.

Room Tip: Room 1 : nice in the afternoon and evening with the summing of the city right in front of you, but...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenmarkAnne_Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel which is comfortable and beautifully decorated. Our room ,overlooking the square, was noisy but it was fun watching all the activity. The staff were friendly. We had to cancel our parking place in the hotel car park because it wasn't wide enough for a Vauxhall Astra. The best place to park is at the Port de Soller end of town where the roads are slightly wider. I think we'll use public transport the next time. Most of the walks we did were on bus routes and most walkers managed well without a car. We were disappointed with the tasting menu (with wine) at the hotel. i think they must have been short staffed as the service was dreadfully slow. The wine was Spanish which was a shame as Mallorca produces excellent wine which we would have enjoyed tasting.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElspethOrkney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

The staff and owner were very friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts which were pretty well taylor-made from a menu which was impressive anyway for such a small hotel. The whole building was beautifully renovated and the photos on the site don't do it justice. Our room was very comfortable and quiet(at the back of the hotel overlooking the garden). We don't travel lightly and we were on the top floor but one of the staff leapt in to help us carry our bags upstairs.

We did book a parking space which was very useful, as parking did seem to be problematic in Soller otherwise.

The position of the hotel on the main square was very convenient and added local colour. In fact it provided an excellent base for touring this part of the island; by road, on foot and using the period tram and train. We couldn't think where we would have rather stayed and would definitely like to return.

Room Tip: Atmosphere overlooking square but we had a lovely quiet room at the back. If yiou have difficulty wi...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavila, Owner at Hotel La Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Thank you so much for your nice words!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

As most of the other reviews state this is an excellent hotel, very clean and tidy, with very good staff and high standards. The food is good and they are prepared to change the choices if you are vegetarian, for example - as long as you give a little notice. We had a room overlooking the Placa - excellent for people watching! We had never been to Mallorca before but were overwhelmed by the fabulous scenery! We loved the Soller tram and train - Port de Soller well worth a visit. Walking in the area was good - you can do a simple stroll or join one of the organised walks in the area. We just got some information from Soller Tourist Office by the Tram/Train station and wandered out for a few hours on our own. La Vila is an excellent base and we hope to return next year.

Room Tip: Rooms either overlook the Placa or the garden - I think the garden rooms may be a little quieter but...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavila, Owner at Hotel La Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Thank you very much for your nice comments!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed at La Vila on 17th/18th April and loved it. The hotel has so much detail, beautiful floors and ceilings. Our room was at the front and had a balcony, my husband was worried it would be noisy overlooking the square, but it there was nothing to worry about. There was balcony doors and shutters but as it was low season it was quiet by about 10ish! There is plenty for breakfast, fresh orange juice, tea or coffeee and a choice of two items from the menu. Plenty to set up you for the day.Unfortunately we didnt have time to eat at the restaurant, but there are lovely bars/restaurants in the square. The square is the centre of Soller and on a lovely sunny evening its great to people watch. All in all a lovely quaint/quirky hotel, can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Front balcony rooms have great views over the square
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavila, Owner at Hotel La Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Thank you very much for your very positive comments!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Very much enjoyed our stay at La Vila.

The room was comfortable (though at the top of a few flights of stairs- not so easy after a long day's walking!). We asked for a room facing the garden after reading other reviews, so it was quiet. Lovely view, but no balcony.

When we were there the restaurant wasn't open until the Thursday, but there are numerous restaurants around the square, all offering fairly good value meals in the evening. The breakfasts were good, with delicious freshly squeezed orange juice, though we did feel we'd had a lot of scrambled eggs by the end of the week (to be fair, there were other choices). The Ensaimadas were wonderful.

On the last evening we had a "taster menu" in the hotel, which was excellent.

The staff were all really friendly and helpful.

It is worth booking a parking space if you hire a car. It's 7 euros a day, which is relatively expensive, and also quite small. However, there seems to be practically nowhere to park within the town otherwise.

Just one point- the "welcome cocktail" mentioned on the hotel website didn't appear.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJWSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soller hotels
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Soller
Gran Hotel Soller
#17 of 37 in Soller
380 reviews
2.7 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
849 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#24 of 37 in Soller
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Guia
Hotel El Guia
#29 of 37 in Soller
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Avenida
Hotel L'Avenida
#3 of 37 in Soller
543 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Los Geranios
Hotel Los Geranios
#6 of 8 in Port de Soller
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Vila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Vila

Address: Plaza Constitucio 14, 07100, Soller, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Soller
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Soller
#15 Romantic Hotel in Soller
#16 Luxury Hotel in Soller
Price Range: £98 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Vila 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Vila is a boutique hotel housed in a spectacular 19th-century art nouveau townhouse, completely refurbished in 2005. It offers all the elegance and decor of its original art nouveau glory. It has 8 double rooms, each with private bath and offering the latest modern conveniences. All rooms have quiet and efficient heating / air conditioning. A small sample of services are: welcome cocktail, daily room cleaning, morning newspaper, 24 h front desk, hiking excursions.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Vila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Vila Soller, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing