We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect....”
Review of Hotel La Vila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Vila
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Soller
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2012

A traditional hotel in a fantastic location, Hotel La Vila is a beautiful little hotel. The building itself is wonderful and the rooms are classically furnished and very comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and the freshly squeezed orange juice to die for! We ate in the beautiful garden one evening and the entire experience was fantastic. The food was superb, the service excellent and the wine delicious. I couldn't recommend the restaurant highly enough. I can sympathise a little with the previous review re the toiletries/soap but it is such a minor thing it didn't take away from our stay at all. The only thing missing in this hotel is a pool/terrace where one could relax during the day. However, Toni and his team do an amazing job and it was a pleasure to deal with them from the point of making the booking to paying our bill at the end. La Vila and Soller bewitched me and I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms looking out on to the garden are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TASSmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

Set in the main square of picturesque Soller it would be hard for this hotel not to have a lot of ambience. The decoration is to a high standard . However there are several things which let the hotel down. Toiletres were cheap (we had 4 shampoos for some reason, no shower gel or conditioner) there is nowhere to put down the soap so the bathroom stand ends up a sticky mess. Breakfast was a bit of a lottery. Omelettes excellent but poached eggs a watery mess served for some reason in a bowl rather than on toast. The restaurant has a reputation for excellence. We chose not to eat here after the breakfast experience. There seemed to be an assumption that adding a twisted slice of orange to everything (even an omelette) turns it into high cuisine. This could be such an excellent little hotel with not too much more effort, but for us this was a 'could do better' experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheScullys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavila, Owner at Hotel La Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Thank you for your review.

About your comments, i would like to say that our prices are in the same level as most of 3 star beach hotels, but we offer a much higher quality. I am sorry that the breakfast was not totally of your taste, but for example, we offer fresh squeezed orange juice, which is not offered in most of 5 star hotels. The staff for breakfasts is not the same as for the restaurant, so unfortunately you missed what would have been a lovely experience in our restaurant. And reading other reviews, i see that clients are very happy with our breakfast. Again, i am sorry that u were not, because i want all our clients to be happy.

About the rooms, clients use for shampoos and these things the corners of the bath, like most of us do in our homes :-) But thanks to your comment, i might install a shelf there. And again, there are very important things of high quality: like latex mattresses (again, you don't find them in most of 5 star hotels) or hand crystal made lamps. Towels and sheets are of very good quality too..

That's all i would like to say. Thank you for your comments and for staying with us!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Great traditional hotel in a prime location. Staff, service & food are second to none, a good place to unwind & explore the real Majorca. Easy access to Palma & Port de Soller by train or tram. The food may seem a little expensive but you certainly do get what you pay for - well worth it. Quiet on an evening but as we stayed only five nights with visits to Palma & Port de Soller it was just what we needed. Great place to explore the Tramuntana mountains from.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glennkeetley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavila, Owner at Hotel La Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Thank you very much!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

wanting something different ,and having passed through Soller previously ,we could not have chosen a better place to stay and have recomended to many people on our return . From the moment we arrived we were given a warm and friendly welcome and showed to our room facing the square which is what I had requested . From the moment of opening the wooden shutters I knew we had made the right decision . The rooms are in keeping with the rest of this unique hotel and spotlessly clean and comfortable and the air conditioning is spot on and quiet . We stayed here for 10 nights and it was a delight to have breakfast served in the square and watch the world go by . We ate here 8 out of the 10 nights . and you pay for what you get in life and the dining experience is fantastic but I would have liked to see the addition of vegetables to some of the dishes . All the staff should be praised for their service and attention to detail in what they do , and this high level was maintained throughout our stay from them all . Pure quality and they make the hotel what it is . So if you want something diffent this is an excellent centrally located hotel for porta soller and palm .Soller gets alot of tourist and I can say from siing in the square that it is admired by many and so it should be. Nigel and Angela uk

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavila, Owner at Hotel La Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Thank you so much for your very nice words!! I am very happy to see that you appreciate all our efforts :-) We all hope to see you again in the future!! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous 10 day stay at La Vila. Our room overlooked the gorgeous square. Everything about our stay was 'spot on', friendly staff, clean rooms, exceptional service. We hope to return soon. Thanks for everything. Les & Al Edington.

Room Tip: No lifts- so rooms on the 1st floor are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesedington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavila, Owner at Hotel La Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Thank you very much for your nice words!! It was a pleasure to have you here among us!! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The Hotel La Vila is the kind of place that comes to mind when looking for a small traditional European hotel. The owner, Toni, does a superb job of making you feel comfortable without being obtrusive.
The hotel faces onto the town square, so there is always activity to see. There are also rooms facing the garden at the back if you are looking for something quieter.
The room was extremely clean. The lighting in the bathroom was a little under-powered (my only criticism). WIFI was free.
The hotel has a very good restaurant. The 4-course tasting menu is recommended.
The complimentary breakfast was excellent with a nice choice of items.
The staff are very helpful and friendly.

One of the toughest decisions is whether to rent a car or not? We were in Soller for a week and didn't need a car for the first 5 days. On Day 6 we took a bus into Palma to pick up a car at the airport so that we could visit some beaches for the last couple of days.

Getting a taxi to Soller costs 50+ Euros, so the money we saved driving to the airport at the end of our stay helped to offset part of the car rental. Overnight parking in Soller wasn't a problem in May but is probably tough at the height of the tourist season.

In summary, my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: The front of the hotel to see the action in the square and the magnificent church. The back of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We have dined and breakfasted at La Vila several times and it is very good, in fact it just gets better. During this visit we were presented with a 4 course tasting menu: it was absolutely superb and really does rank as being one of the better restaurants in Soller. As well as the food the staff were helpful and convivial and the situation in the busy square is ideal.

Room Tip: Sit in the square and watch the world go by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paddysinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavila, Owner at Hotel La Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Thank you very much for you nice review!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soller hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Guia
Hotel El Guia
#23 of 37 in Soller
97 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Los Geranios
Hotel Los Geranios
#6 of 8 in Port de Soller
203 reviews
1.3 mi away
Finca Ca N'Ai
Finca Ca N'Ai
#14 of 37 in Soller
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Avenida
Hotel L'Avenida
#3 of 37 in Soller
566 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#12 of 37 in Soller
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ca'n Abril
Ca'n Abril
#21 of 37 in Soller
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Vila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Vila

Address: Plaza Constitucio 14, 07100, Soller, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Soller
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Soller
#15 Romantic Hotel in Soller
#18 Luxury Hotel in Soller
Price Range: £101 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Vila 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Vila is a boutique hotel housed in a spectacular 19th-century art nouveau townhouse, completely refurbished in 2005. It offers all the elegance and decor of its original art nouveau glory. It has 8 double rooms, each with private bath and offering the latest modern conveniences. All rooms have quiet and efficient heating / air conditioning. A small sample of services are: welcome cocktail, daily room cleaning, morning newspaper, 24 h front desk, hiking excursions.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Alpha Holidays Limited, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Vila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Vila Soller, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing