We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, tiny letdowns”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Isla Baja Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Isla Baja Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Garachico B&B and Inns
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great hotel, tiny letdowns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I agree with a reviewer I have just read before posting this myself - I have rated this hotel as excellent as there were so many good points to it, it would have been rude not to, however there were a couple of tiny flaws that should be fixed if possible.
Our flight didn't arrive until 7pm Saturday, so by the time we had got the hire car and made the drive over it was later than I had predicted, so there was no one at all to let us in. It's not an easy place to find anyway - luckily I had been looking on Google Streetview so knew what to aim for. The extremely helpful bar lady from the bar in front of the hotel and the restaurant owner next door managed to get in touch with the hotel manager for us, who had to drive down to let us in. Apparently the room key had been left with the coffee shop, but as we were later than expected they had shut up and gone home. Tip - Provide an accurate arrival time in advance and leave your phone number just in case...
We had rented a loft suite - room 7, which was amazing. I cannot fault the ability to be able to lie in bed in the morning with the terrace doors open, watching and listening to the ocean. The room was nicely decorated, and there was a separate kitchen area that was bigger than I expected, although you had to use a piece of card to keep the fridge door shut. The downfall to the room was the bathroom. The walls were peeling in places and the drains smelt awful whenever anyone took a shower. Small things like the towel rail falling off or the bathroom furniture being old and shoddy felt like a real letdown compared to the rest of the suite.
The other major downfall was the WiFi. never worked in the room although we did report it, and even reception in the public areas was sketchy.
Breakfast in the indoor courtyard was pleasant although fairly basic continental fare.
Overall I would definitely recommend staying here, but take note of the minor flaws and plan round them.

Room Tip: The loft suite has a large terrace with table and chairs for four as well as two sun loungers. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lewis_the_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    14
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
EDINBURGH
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Rated the Isla baja suites excellent because it would be churlish to do anything else - but there were shortcomings.
Firstly the suites ticked 'all the boxes' - beautiful suites in a lovely setting overlooking the water and centuries-old Canadian pine doors and shutters. Suites are very large and well equipped and also clean. Its a great place to be - if you want small , quirky and non commercial.

Shortcomings - reception is open for only the minimum of time and information about locked doors etc is minimal. We planned our arrival to be between 12 and 2pm when reception is open but it was closed anyway and we sought out a waitress from the Patisserie downstairs who gave us a room key.
Breakfast is perfunctory and served by said waitress.
Wifi works downstairs but is advertised as good everywhere. NOTE TO MANAGEMENT - the d-link range extender will not work unless you run some cat 5 cable to the main router..!!
Our toilet in suite 5 gave some problems - we reported it but to no avail. For 2 days we were fine using a large pot of water to flush. From previous reviews I see this is not a new problem. Management needs a bit of fresh impotice.

Having said all that we are very grateful to have found this gem of an establishment at a reasonable cost - so thanks very much we enjoyed staying here.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have some road/sea noise but well worth it. Rooms 5 ,7
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GGMLimekilns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
354 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Pros: Located in beautiful village, by the sea, with pastry shop and beautiful restaurants in the same building. Easy to park on the streets.

Cons: Heating needed during winter months; Greater service should be provided from reception. To have someone assist for check in in case something is needed. Redundant of failing wifi as experienced by other reviewers.

Stayed in Suite No1. Beautiful suite with very VERYlarge loft area (bedroom and living room), large and functional kitchen (including dishwasher), and modern bathroom. Cathedral ceilings in the loft. No heating, so in February, room was cold. Proximity to a church with ongoing clocks may be annoying for light sleepers. Reception is only open from 9am until 14:00. Outside those hours, one will need to inform reception of arrival times. Take this into account if you are used to concierge service for booking activities or restaurants. Note that the booking on Expedia does not complete payment and payment was required upon leaving. Amazing restaurants around. Great location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarySL00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights with 2 adults and one toddler (2 years). The suites are spacious and beautifully decorated and there is enough space for 3 people and all their stuff. They put a baby cot for us in the room and having a little kitchenette is also super convenient with a small child. The location of the suites is excellent and everything you need is in walking distance and if you are lucky you even find a parking spot in front of the door. The breakfast in the morning was good and besides that having a cafe in the courtyard is always a plus.

There are just a few little things: I have to say that a kettle in the kitchen would have been nice – what else do you want to do in the morning than make a coffee or tea? (Well, the microwave did this job as well.) The cleaning lady doesn't do the dishes for you and even if I don't mind that, a towel would be nice to be able to dry them (there were only serviettes in the room). Also the internet never worked for us. And a tip for families: Try to check which room you are getting - the ones facing the street can be a bit noisy if your child has to go to bed early. Our room (No. 3) to the side street was facing a music school and they were rehearsing on two evenings until about 23:00 (nice music though).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lachiara79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Beautifull suites. Great luxurious feelings. Nise suites. One bedroom with very good double bed and great view on the ocean. One sitting room with fully equiped kitchen facilities with couch, sofa and confortable chairs as well as a dining table.
The windows in the thick walls have seats so that one can sit at the window and look outside. In the room we had, there was no terrace doors so the only posibilitie to enjoy the outside were these window seats...
Service on sundays is very limited. Breakfast in the pattiserie is great. Wifie-Internet service was not available (except in the pattiserie area) - to be repaired soonest according to the owner.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a balcony or terrace. Rooms in front have ocean view but are very noisy, both in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renze K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

We spent 10 days in one of the Isla Baja suites in January 2013. The accommodation (suite no. 4) was extremely spacious, well furnished and elegant. It was also kept spotlessly clean.

We arrived at about 4pm, and the reception office closes at 2pm for the day. The manager/proprietor had left the key with a waitress, and we were surprised to find on entering that there was no terrace. We had booked through Travel Republic, and had paid in advance for a room with terrace, which was on a higher rate. Since the management was not available, we were unable to raise the issue on arrival, and once we had settled in and unpacked, we were reluctant to go through the process of moving, especially since there was a language problem. I have raised this matter with Travel Republic and await a response.

We were also disappointed at the lack of internet access. The suites are advertised as having wifi, including the public areas, but this was simply inadequate. We were unable to make internet connection once during our stay, except by hanging around the door of the San Roque Hotel, down the street - not very dignified. We raised this with the manager, who explained that the "technical people" were going to arrive that day to put it right. The next day we were given the same story, but nothing happened.

We were also a little disappointed that, with more than 20 TV channels, the only one in a language other than Spanish was Discovery Max - no UK news on TV or wifi.

These failings are a pity, because the suites are excellent in many ways, and Garachico itself is a gem.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poundhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

The small town of Garachico is not touristic, only for day tourists traveling around the North side of Tenerife. However it is friendly, has nice restaurants and quite a few artisanal shops. There is not really a beach, yet there are natural lava pools. Our hotelroom/appartmentsuite (nr6!) had a beautifull view on the (rough) sea 15m away and offered a lot of space (2 rooms, hallway, bathroom). We stayed there for 2 weeks during Christmas with our 5 year old daughter.

The Good:
- spacious rooms, we had a double room (best rooms are on 2nd floor, nr6 and 7/lava mare room)
- really nicely and warm decorated with eye for detail. For all ages.
- great breakfast and for a little extra fresh patiserie de luxe!
- nice hotelowners, do not speak English well, as many in Garachico speak Spanish.
- real feeling of living in a small-town, nice people around
- spectactular sea view / lava pools view
- nice restaurant @ lava pools.. 25m away with sea view (for drinks, simple food and some patience with the waiters)
- best Icecream ever, only 25m as well (across the restaurant)
- only 25 minutes from Puero de la Cruz, for some shopping and tourism and Loro Parque and HIDDEN mega large public swimming pool(s) (check Google)
- beautifull car-trip to Vulcano/Teide via the Northern mountain-route via Buenavista

The bad:
- Hotel can be noisy (traffic, old building sometime we could hear our neighbours below speak)
- Not really a balcony (our room nr 6 had a window with seats, yet some rooms have a balcony)
- Garachico is nice, yet quite. Which is a good or maybe for some a bad.
- no swimming pool, no beach (50m, nobody there), lava pools can be dangerous / yet als adventurous. With our daughter (5) we used to car to drive to beaches nearby and on the south side (visiting Siam Park!).

We had a great holliday and recommend a visit to Garachico and Isla Baja Suites and bakery!

Room Tip: nr 6 is a nice double room on 2nd floor. The 'lava Mer' room is beautifull as wel with large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andriesvanvugt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garachico
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Roque
Hotel San Roque
#1 of 5 in Garachico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Quinta Roja
Hotel La Quinta Roja
#2 of 5 in Garachico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Rural El Patio
Hotel Rural El Patio
#3 of 5 in Garachico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gara Hotel
Gara Hotel
#4 of 5 in Garachico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
5.7 mi away
Melia Hacienda del Conde
Melia Hacienda del Conde
#51 of 387 in Tenerife
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Baja Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Baja Suites

Property: Isla Baja Suites
Address: Calle Esteban de Ponte 3, 38450 Garachico, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Garachico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Garachico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Isla Baja Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Isla Baja Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Baja Suites Tenerife/Garachico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing