We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor qualitt for the money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Quinta Roja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Quinta Roja
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Garachico
Certificate of Excellence
Spain
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Poor qualitt for the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

My stay was one night in a superior room and I was disapointet. Yes, the location is great, the stuff is friendly and the breakfast is smal but tasty.
The map of the inside of the hotel is full of mistakes. On german and in english, but we all make them so ...
The staircases a dark so be careful.
In the room you will find old canarian windows but its dark, very dark, as you can see just outside if you open them.
They need few reformations.
The rooms smell.
There is a yacuzzi on the rooftop but it was closed and what I could see dint invite to get into it.
You have mudic equipment in the room, so thats nice.
Mind the steps when you leave your room.

To make it short:
Its a nice hotel but for what you pay its poor what you get for your money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melly1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    70
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
24
155
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tenerife
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed for two nights 12th and 13th August 2013 at the Hotel La Qunta Roja. The hotel is old and built in true Canarian style with a cool courtyard as the heart of the building. Cool plants and loungers all round the courtyard at ground and upper level, give a feeling of tranquility. Helpful staff and friendly breakfast staff all eased us into the unwinding process. Excellent choice from the cold buffet breakfast, with home made preserves and ripe figs on offer from the owner's finca.

We were on the first floor with windows overlooking the square. The village was all dressed in colourful ribbons waiting the fiesta that week. We had quiet nights, but when the fiesta was in full swing that probably wouldn't be true! You would probably then have to go and join in and stay up late!

Garachico is an historic place and the hotel in a pedestrian area, but the village car park was easily accessed. Wheelchair users would have to arrange for a driver to stop nearby, closer than the car park, as the way is cobbled and might not be comfortable. There was a telephone in the room and an up to date shower room, bidet and modern plumbing. The room was large and had a high ceiling all done in intricate wood paneling. It was my birthday during the break and we had and excellent meal in Aristides Restaurant very close to the hotel. Garachico is visited by many coach trips, but they are parked out of the main area where the hotel is situated. Plenty of little craft shops, cafes are there for the exploring. The council has built a modern swimming pool on the promenade very close to the hotel, but rock pools and sea water inlets provide a cooling place at the end of hot days.

I live in the south of the island and the climate is less hot that where I live, but very humid and one day humidity reached 95% whereas in the south it is around 60/70% normally. The village is under a mountain which attracts low cloud, but we did see blue sky and sunshine too.

There is a bus service running from Peurto de la Cruz through Garachico to Beuna Vista Norte, so you need not rely on a car.

I would certainly like to revisit this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want to open your window on to the square ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cristina_H44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Build around a quadrilateral court yard furnished with easful whicker chairs and palms ,this lovely mansion, recently refurbished , offers a most quiet and comfortable base in the delightful coastal town of Garachico. We were there for the walking up the verdant ravines which rise steeply from the coast to the plateau below Tiede.In the evening it was a a pleasure to sit in the Qunita Roja courtyard sipping an apperitif before strolling off down one of the narrow lanes off the main sqaure to find an excellent fish meal from one of the many family run restaurants nearby.
Breakfast here were first class, eaten on a terrace shade by more palms .

The hotel is run discreetly and charmingly. Anyone sojourning in northern Teneriffe should stay there.

Room Tip: Any - depending on the size you want.All have en suite showers or baths.Our room overlooked a side s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

The hotel is beautiful, and in a great location in Garachico. We took the advice of other reviewers and booked a junior suite on the first floor. It was very spacious, spotlessly clean, with a king sized bed made up of two singles pushed together, with a sun room looking over the square. Shame that the weather was foggy and overcast for three days! Only niggles with the room were: no English TV, the flow from the shower was rather weak, and wireless reception in the room was also disappointing. The staff were all very pleasant and responded happily to our enquiries and questions, but were not very forthcoming with information. It was only on the last day of our 6-day stay that we accidentally discovered the sun terrace and sauna, for example! We were also not offered the option of tea rather than coffee at breakfast, and again only realised that tea was available when we saw teapots on other guests' tables! Overall, a very pleasant stay, however.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

This old palace has been restaured with such care and love for details that invites you to stay inside its walls enjoying the calm and beauty of everything, after having started the day with a truly delicious breakfast! The roofterrace with its sauna and lazy chairs are wonderful to relax before going out for dinner.
We slept upstairs with our two little kids in a junior suite and it was perfect. Despite not having restaurant or swimmingpool, we found the hotel perfect. Garachico offers you all the rest, and it is worth going out to enjoy a good meal or a swim, everything is just around the corner!
Es una joya en la que te sientes como en casa, todo el personal es tan atento y discreto, y si no fuera porque hay tanto que ver y disfrutar fuera uno ni saldría de la Quinta Roja.
We definitively recomend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virblanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monks Risborough
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Fabulous hotel; huge room with plenty of storage. massive double beds. so, so comfy.
right on the main square where evenings from 18.00 mums, dads and all sizes of children come and play. Super family atmosphere. Downside? no hotel restaurant, BUT the breakfasts are great. restaurant at the front door (across the square) and an even better one in the street directly behind the hotel highly recommended.

All the other reviews are accurate.

Room Tip: first floor is quieter with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynt72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
298 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

This hotel occupies a stunning historic building on an old square in Garachico. We had a lovely junior suite with a sun room. Very spacious and comfortable.
The manageress was charming and helpful and the team recommended restaurants for us every night.
It was a great base for our walking trip.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbirdandgrizzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garachico
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Roque
Hotel San Roque
#1 of 5 in Garachico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Rural El Patio
Hotel Rural El Patio
#3 of 5 in Garachico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gara Hotel
Gara Hotel
#4 of 5 in Garachico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Melia Hacienda del Conde
Melia Hacienda del Conde
#43 of 386 in Tenerife
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hotel Spa Villalba
Hotel Spa Villalba
#1 of 5 in Vilaflor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Quinta Roja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Quinta Roja

Property: Hotel La Quinta Roja
Address: Glorieta San Francisco s/n, 38450 Garachico, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Garachico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Garachico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Quinta Roja 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Quinta Roja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Roja
La Quinta Garachico
Garachico La Quinta
Hotel La Quinta Roja Tenerife/Garachico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing