We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casona Los Caballeros
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Santillana del Mar
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We spent three nights in July and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was cosy and the loungue areas were beautiful. Breakfast was very good and the staff very attentive. It´s a charming place very good located in an amazing village. The architecture is unforgettable !!!

Room Tip: Superiors are biggers and with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank odonnellmary537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

We spent a couple of nights here at the end of a month's campervan trip before getting the ferry home from Santander. It was great - plenty of parking, large room and lovely bathroom and good breakfast. The owners, Jose and Maria, were very welcoming and helpful. Jose is speaking reasonable English after only a few months of lessons but the others do not, so if your Spanish is limited, do have a phrase book handy. The setting is peaceful and the garden is lovely to relax in. The approach to the hotel, down some suburban roads and country lanes, may be tricky for those with large motorhomes or caravans. We thought the La Huerta del Indiano restaurant in Santillana wonderful - set menu of 3 courses plus bread and wine 15 Euros each plus friendly professional service and relaxed terrace / garden situation. It is possible to walk to Santillana from the hotel - it's a couple of kilometers - go 50 yards down the lane from the hotel turn left at the rectangular hotel sign and walk along the country lane to the town.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MajaTyneside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Looking for a quiet environment where you can relax? In search of quality rooms and service. Then you need to come here! The Fernandez Caballero family (Maria Antonia, Chelo, and Jose Manuel) will make you feel right at home. The house dates back to 1703 and the atmosphere is outstanding in this oasis The rooms are spacious, very clean, and you will not miss a thing. The walled garden will let you relax and enjoy serenity under the warm Spanish sun.
And you're only 10-15 minutes from the center of town. So you're not subject to all the traffic noise you find elsewhere.

Room Tip: Take any room, they are all fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This hotel is very pleasant with large rooms, quite big enough for extra children's beds - we had two. Quiet and peaceful although not much to do in the immediate environment without getting in a car. Very kind and helpful staff. My only criticisms would be that the beds were quite uncomfortable, particularly for the 4 star, expensive hotel that this is and that there should have been more fresh foods at breakfast- such as croissants- most of it seemed processed.
In all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehtnax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2009

This is the perfect place to stay while visiting Santillana del Mar as it is just far enough away to provide a quiet respite from the crowds but close enough to be in the midst of this lovely spot within 5 minutes. We spent 3 nights and were very impressed by the facility and the professionalism of the staff. José was extremely helpful in recommending restaurants and coffee spots frequented by locals, as well as short day trips in the area. Not being big breakfast eaters, we chose not to have breakfast at the hotel, but walked about 5 minutes to a bar for our cafe con leche each morning. Our room was huge and bright and the whole facility is very well done. It is easy to find and easy to drive to with a huge parking lot; a real treat compared to staying in Santillana del Mar.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matitx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. It's a beautiful old mansion that has recently been gut-renovated and is extremely clean. The rooms were spacious & comfortable, and the bathrooms were very nice with great hairdryers. The property is surrounded by rolling hills & pastures & they have lots of nice nooks to curl up with a book in.

The service was excellent, and the owners went out of their way in helping us during our stay with recommendations of where to go, restaurants, etc.

We preferred this property over the ones directly in the medieval village, as the village gets crowded during the day & at Caballeros you feel like you're getting away from it all and have a lot of privacy & serenity. It's a 3 minute drive or a 15 minute walk to the center of the village.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kikik1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Michel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santillana del Mar
1.1 mi away
La Casona de Revolgo
La Casona de Revolgo
#3 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
353 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Museo Los Infantes
Hotel Museo Los Infantes
#10 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
247 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cuevas I-II
Hotel Cuevas I-II
#8 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Posada la Leyenda
Posada la Leyenda
#22 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
217 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Altamira
Hotel Altamira
#14 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
249 reviews
8.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Balneario Puente Viesgo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casona Los Caballeros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casona Los Caballeros

Address: Vispieres, 39360, Santillana del Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santillana del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Santillana del Mar
Price Range: £68 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casona Los Caballeros 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm colours in the walls and the tapestries are a contrast to the sober stone walls of this 18th century manor house with a coat of arms. Today a pleasant, cosy rural hotel, it has recently expanded both the number of rooms and services available to guest. Fresh flowers in the rooms and, for breakfast, natural juices and country toast. The traditional, serene, classical decoration creates a calm, restful environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casona Los Caballeros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing