We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Posada in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Posada Herran

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Herran
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Posada in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

It's about a 10-minute walk into Santillana but that wasn't issue for us. This is a family home that has been restored and converted into a Casa Rural. Even with the family's young children, it's still quiet, and the owner, Lidia, takes very good care of the guests. The rooms are appointed nicely and there's a comfortable sitting area on the first floor.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheri12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    32
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
57
138
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

What everyone else has written is true. I was a skeptic as 33€for one night seemed too good to be true, but is everything as written. Also we didn't useable GPS to get here but followed the city signs towards the zoo then saw numerous signs for the B&B.
Don't be nervous....ITS A FIND!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank crazy-traveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clutton
Level Contributor
327 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

A lovely, spotlessly clean B&B within a 10-12 walk in to the centre of town. On the edge of open countryside with a lovely garden where you can sit. Plenty of parking. Bathroom was newish and had a very good shower. Fridge available for guests was very useful...also microwave, kettle and BBQ in the garden. The owner could not have been more delightful and gave us some excellent advice on where to go and visit places we would otherwise not have known about...they weren't in the guide books! We would definitely stay here a gain if we were in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pammie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here after ferry trip to Santander. Good base to visit Santillana as it is a short walk 10 - 15 mins from the old town. Has its own parking. A bit difficult to find, but once you find Herran it is well signed. No English spoken, but the odd word and sign language works fine. Very clean and comfortable. Not immediately clear, but you can make hot drinks in the lounge. Great value.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lusky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Booked here to stay one night after getting off Santander ferry. Beautiful little place, immaculately clean and comfortable. Friendly owners - don't speak English but no problem. Usual Spanish breakfast - toast, cake, cheese etc. Great coffee. Lovely garden and quiet surroundings. A real bargain for the price, would recommend it to anyone but we would never have found it without the satnav!

Room Tip: Twin bed room very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cutchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Well located on the edge of a lovely town (about 15 mins walk) which is handy for the ferries at Santander or Bilbao but hidden in the back streets and not easy to find. Worth the effort though, this is a beautifully kept house. No facilities but it isn't a hotel and the owner, who doesn't speak English, is very friendly. There is adequate parking, a lovely garden and the whole place is very clean. Excellent value for money including a very unusual breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Recently stayed for 3 nights, which we booked after reading reviews.
Warm welcome; comfortable bedroom; spotless bathroom;good breakfast.
All for about £35 per night.
The best value B&B we've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Be prepared to use a least basic Spanish
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santillana del Mar hotels
0.7 mi away
La Casa del Organista
La Casa del Organista
#1 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa del Marques
Hotel Casa del Marques
#2 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casona de Revolgo
La Casona de Revolgo
#5 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cuevas I-II
Hotel Cuevas I-II
#8 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Colonial de Santillana
Hotel Colonial de Santillana
#9 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Altamira
Hotel Altamira
#10 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Herran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Herran

Property: Posada Herran
Address: Diseminado Herran 32, 39360, Santillana del Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santillana del Mar
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Santillana del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Posada Herran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing