We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador de Santillana del Mar
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Santillana del Mar
Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Central”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here on our return to Santander airport and found it to be central and handy.The parador itself was one of the dearest and a little frayed around the edges.It did seem to play second fiddle to the other parador.The staff were not so friendly and although travelling independantly we felt that a large biking group staying there received better treatment and more attention.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPRedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    79
    39
    11
    0
See reviews for
38
97
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

we have ben a couple of times to this hotel we stay in the anex which has the parking underground and in the hotels forcourt great. the town is steeped in history with loads to see within walking distant of the hotel no need to move the car.good tapas bars around .the breakfast is first class and with spanish bacon.

Room Tip: get one over looking the front entrance [better wi fi]
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

A bit of a strange relationship with the Paradore Gil Blas in Santillana. Both are defined as paradores but in fact currently the Paradore de Santillana across the square is operated as an anex. The Gil Blas has the restaurant and bar and the car parking is shared by both paradores. That said the Paradore de Santillana has its own character and in some ways is the better for it. It's the quieter of the two sitting behind the main town square away from the tourist groups and any passing vehicles. The limited number of rooms used also means the hotel itself is quieter and less hectic. Breakfast taken at the Gil Blas proved to be a bit of a challenge, whilst the food in the buffet was good quality the single waitress had a hard time coping with the numbers wanting items from the menu and delivering teas and coffees etc. The town of Santillana itself proved to be a delight the old cobbled streets and characterful buildings provide a backdrop that is unrivalled with a wide selection of bars and restaurants. Staff at the Paradore de Santillana were helpful and pleasant willing to provide information and as much help as they are able.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed just before taking the ferry. What a charming stopover. Beautiful little town, touristy yes, but still well worth the visit
Oddly, had to eat in the neighbouring parador, but that wasn't too hard. The town is full of restaurants, quaint houses and a myriad of Kodak moments.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Superharrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana del Mar, responded to this review, 2 July 2016
Dear Superharrio:
We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our Parador

We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you deserve.

We trust that, on future visits, everything will be to your satisfaction.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Right in front of another Parador (better rated), this one is a very charming place. In a late medieval town, close to Santillana Zoo, and Altamira caves, this Parador is awesome. Rooms are nice, clean and confy, the staff was very nice and accommodating.
The little town is incredible, especially at night. Lots of restaurants and bars where to have a sidra and pintxos. Go for it!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OArias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I have never been before in any other paradour, this has been my first experience and therefore I cannot compare it with any other paradour, but I have a strong positive feeling towards this hotel.
Breakfast was fantastic with an incredible choice of meat and yogurt. Rooms were very authentic. Location excellent in the middle of town.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoryScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Being a frequent visitor to Paradors, we were not surprised, but pleased with the general atmosphere here. The accommodation excellent, the food good and the staff very friendly. As with all Paradors, it is spotlessly clean and comfortable and near the famous Altamira cave system, which is very interesting. The coast is lovely and lots of small sandy beaches abound. Apparently President de Gaulle stayed here on a Spanish visit, not a bad judge...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wishyouwerehere17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santillana del Mar hotels
0.0 mi away
Parador de Santillana Gil Blas
Parador de Santillana Gil Blas
#4 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Marques
Hotel Casa del Marques
#2 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casona de Revolgo
La Casona de Revolgo
#5 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Casa del Organista
La Casa del Organista
#1 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
394 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casona Los Caballeros
Casona Los Caballeros
#17 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Altamira
Hotel Altamira
#10 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Santillana del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Santillana del Mar

Property: Parador de Santillana del Mar
Address: Plaza Ramon Pelayo s/n, 39330, Santillana del Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santillana del Mar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Santillana del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Parador de Santillana del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly built manor house respects the traditional local architecture and harmonises perfectly with the style of this lovely town. Comfortable rooms and a pleasant atmosphere add to the peace and tranqulity of this hotel. The restaurant and bar, in the Parador Santillana Gil Blas, offer a chance to try the most traditional dishes in Cantabrian cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Parador de Santillana del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Santillana Hotel Santillana Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing