We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive stay - not to be repeated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parador de Santillana del Mar
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We travelled down the North Coast of Spain and as a treat stayed at the Parador in Santillana del Mar. It seems 'tired' and the room was nothing special. The main hotel is located in the village square, but there is also an annex with underground parking. We did not find the staff to be friendly or helpful. The evening meal was one of the most expensive and to be honest, I am not convinced it was worth it. There are other restaurants in the area to try which are in walking distance.

The town itself is interesting, named for Santa Juliana whose remains are in the Colegiata, a Romanesque church and former monastery. But...the village is a honeypot and becomes extremely busy with tourists. Many shops disappointingly are selling so called 'souvenirs' - the same that can be found anywhere!

Overall, I think there are other better value places to stay in the area, allowing access to the surrounding points of interest.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blossomcat41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

A nice parador. The rooms are fine but what really makes it is the location. The breakfast was typical parador with plenty of choice. The staff were also typical - they don't smile much- but helpful and polite which is the most important bit. We've stayed here several times because it is convenient and we still love it.

The corridors can be a bit noisy because of the lack of carpets but you get that in most Paradors.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KLCKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here on our return to Santander airport and found it to be central and handy.The parador itself was one of the dearest and a little frayed around the edges.It did seem to play second fiddle to the other parador.The staff were not so friendly and although travelling independantly we felt that a large biking group staying there received better treatment and more attention.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RPRedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

we have ben a couple of times to this hotel we stay in the anex which has the parking underground and in the hotels forcourt great. the town is steeped in history with loads to see within walking distant of the hotel no need to move the car.good tapas bars around .the breakfast is first class and with spanish bacon.

Room Tip: get one over looking the front entrance [better wi fi]
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

A bit of a strange relationship with the Paradore Gil Blas in Santillana. Both are defined as paradores but in fact currently the Paradore de Santillana across the square is operated as an anex. The Gil Blas has the restaurant and bar and the car parking is shared by both paradores. That said the Paradore de Santillana has its own character and in some ways is the better for it. It's the quieter of the two sitting behind the main town square away from the tourist groups and any passing vehicles. The limited number of rooms used also means the hotel itself is quieter and less hectic. Breakfast taken at the Gil Blas proved to be a bit of a challenge, whilst the food in the buffet was good quality the single waitress had a hard time coping with the numbers wanting items from the menu and delivering teas and coffees etc. The town of Santillana itself proved to be a delight the old cobbled streets and characterful buildings provide a backdrop that is unrivalled with a wide selection of bars and restaurants. Staff at the Paradore de Santillana were helpful and pleasant willing to provide information and as much help as they are able.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed just before taking the ferry. What a charming stopover. Beautiful little town, touristy yes, but still well worth the visit
Oddly, had to eat in the neighbouring parador, but that wasn't too hard. The town is full of restaurants, quaint houses and a myriad of Kodak moments.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Superharrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2016

Dear Superharrio:
We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our Parador

We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you deserve.

We trust that, on future visits, everything will be to your satisfaction.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Right in front of another Parador (better rated), this one is a very charming place. In a late medieval town, close to Santillana Zoo, and Altamira caves, this Parador is awesome. Rooms are nice, clean and confy, the staff was very nice and accommodating.
The little town is incredible, especially at night. Lots of restaurants and bars where to have a sidra and pintxos. Go for it!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OArias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santillana del Mar hotels
0 mi away
Parador de Santillana Gil Blas
Parador de Santillana Gil Blas
#5 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Marques
Hotel Casa del Marques
#2 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Organista
La Casa del Organista
#1 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Felisa
Hotel Felisa
#1 of 2 in Queveda
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial de Santillana
Hotel Colonial de Santillana
#9 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
83 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Altamira
Hotel Altamira
#14 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Santillana del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Santillana del Mar

Address: Plaza Ramon Pelayo s/n, 39330, Santillana del Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santillana del Mar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Santillana del Mar
Price Range: £61 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parador de Santillana del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly built manor house respects the traditional local architecture and harmonises perfectly with the style of this lovely town. Comfortable rooms and a pleasant atmosphere add to the peace and tranqulity of this hotel. The restaurant and bar, in the Parador Santillana Gil Blas, offer a chance to try the most traditional dishes in Cantabrian cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Parador de Santillana del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Santillana Hotel Santillana Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing