We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly placed and beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Casona de Revolgo
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfectly placed and beautiful”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at La Casona de Revolgo for 2 nights (5th & 6th October) before heading home via Santander (Brittany Ferries). We wanted somewhere within an hour of Santander and this was perfect, only 30 minutes away. The Casona is not situated in the absolute centre of the town, however, it is less than a 5 minute walk away. The advantage of the position of La Casona de Rovolgo is that you can usually park outside or within sight of the Casona as it is situated on a lovely village square.
The Casona is a beautiful little hotel, very clean and tastefully decorated and furnished. The staff are friendly and welcoming.
We had a lovely supper and breakfast, both of which were good value for money as well as being fresh and delicious.
If you like the natural cidre produced in Cantabria and Asturias you will love that produced by the owner of the Casona de Revolgo, its crisp, clear and simply gorgeous.
We will be staying again next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    107
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
114
160
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sawston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Wonderful large, clean rooms, very friendly welcome, hydro massage bath in room - very relaxing. Staff speak good English and are enormously helpful. Great buffet breakfast with good choice and reasonably priced, optional evening menu.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I had been with the family on an extensive, slightly quixotic tour of Galicia, staying with various friends. We had driven 4000km and seen many wonderful beaches, villages and cities. Heading back towards the ferry at Santander, we decided we wanted to stay nearby so we would have only a short drive before boarding. (The queues for driving into the ferry can be quite tiresome but still better than the summer airport experience.) All our Spanish friends recommended Santillana del Mar as an interesting and picturesque place to stay. I found this hotel by looking at a certain hotel review site, specifically looking for a family room for four. They were very flexible and the price was more than fair.
The room on the top floor was spacious enough for four, bathroom was fine and the kids of course loved the jacuzzi. (Bubbles everywhere!) The breakfast was actually very nice, though I had seen negative remarks so they seem to have upped their game.
My only complaint was that our room was ridiculously hot and it was not a simple matter to open the skylight in the bathroom to try to evacuate the heat. (It involved perching precariously on the side of the bath and sink and heaving against the skylight.)
The location was great with excellent parking and a nice view of the park where some local sort-of bowling competition was going on. It was also near some riding stables which became a real highlight of the whole trip for the kids.
Considering the time of year, I didn't find the town crowded by tourists and it was no difficulty in walking in to restaurants with kids and getting a table at lunch or dinner. No hesitation in going there agian next time I use the ferry to or from Santander.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Santillana del Mar is full of tourists - certainly when we were there - but this lovely, charming hotel is a few moment's walk around the corner, meaning it has a quiet, restful atmosphere. It is situated opposite an attractive municipal park.
The hosts are wonderful, going out of their way to make our stay a comfortable one and accommodating any special requests, whether it was giving recommendations or practical advice about seeing the rest of Cantabria. Their attitude really made the hotel what it was.
The room was a good size, with a wonderful whirlpool bath/shower (bliss!) and comfortable bed. Shutters ensured a very good night's sleep. The air conditioning was a marvel - so quiet that we could keep it on all night (and I am a VERY light sleeper so they get extra brownie points for this!). The windows were double glazed, so although we could hear a lot of children outside playing in the park, once the windows were shut effectively we could hear nothing.
The best thing about the hotel (apart from the charming staff) was the breakfast. A superb buffet of meats, cheeses, fruit and local cakes, with plenty of tea, coffee and juice to boot. Having survived so far on a pastry and a coffee, this was a welcome surprise.
In the evening, the breakfast room is transformed into a restaurant, offering a very good value 'menu del dia' - two courses plus dessert and a glass of wine - for EUR13.00. I had the homemade soup, followed by salmon and a delicious homemade dessert which was marvellous, topped off by a glass of white wine (fabulous wine at unbelievable prices!). Seeing as the centre of town can be crowded and noisy, it was a pleasant break to be able to have a quiet meal in relaxed surroundings where we didn't have to constantly beckon to the waiting staff to remember us!
In addition the hotel is ideally placed for travelling to attractions nearby (Comillas, the caves of Altamira). Free WiFi (if only British hotels would catch on to this!) meant we were able to plan each day effectively too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsPaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
277 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

In a small, well attended hotel. Friendly people trying their best to please. Hotel needs better A/C
and appointments. Rooms and bathrooms are small and with architectural details that make them very tight.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chichenuxmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

What an absolute gem of a hotel. Ideally situated, and no problem with parking [early June] Very high quality comfortable quiet accommodation........and we loved the hydro massage bath! Very friendly helpful staff. Incredible value for money.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor at the front, and was excellent - quiet with a view to a small park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NM
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

October 2011 spent three days at Casona de Revolgo in Santillana del Mar, Spain. The small hotel (found when I searched for "casas rurales") is just a block from the entrance to the historic town of Santillana del Mar. The historic building housing the small hotel was lovely. Everything was clean and neat. The staff were very helpful. The breakfast was excellent and included in the price of the stay. Although Santillana is a major tourist spot with the French and the Spanish, this location was calm and relaxing.

We really enjoyed walking through the town at night when almost all of the tourists were gone.

The Casona faces El Parque de Revolgo, a quiet park, sourrounded by other historic buildings. From here we visited not only the charming town of Santillana, but also the Neo Cueva of Altamira. The original cave with remarkable prehistoric paintings on the ceiling is no longer open, but I have been in it many times. In the neocueva, however, I saw more things than I every saw in the original thanks to well-trained guides. We also had a lovely time driving up the Desfiladera de la Hermida in the Picos de Europa and visiting sites along the way to the equally lovely town of Potes.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcintrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santillana del Mar
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Marques
Hotel Casa del Marques
#3 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cuevas I-II
Hotel Cuevas I-II
#8 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa del Organista
La Casa del Organista
#1 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Felisa
Hotel Felisa
#1 of 1 in Queveda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Costa Esmeralda Suites
1.9 mi away
Posada la Leyenda
Posada la Leyenda
#27 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casona de Revolgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casona de Revolgo

Property: La Casona de Revolgo
Address: Parque de Revolgo 3, 39330, Santillana del Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santillana del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Santillana del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Casona de Revolgo 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently opened country hotel, built on the ruins of a magnificent 17th-century building, which served as a mediaeval tavern and coaching inn. Its location, in the heart of the mediaeval old town of Santillana del Mar, set back from the main road and surrounded by green, open spaces, guarantees a peaceful, comfortable stay. Exquisite decor and friendly, family service. Hidromassage bath , free wifi , air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Casona de Revolgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing