We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casona de Revolgo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Casona de Revolgo
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

we stayed for a week in may.Lovely large clean room with all required amenities.Lovely welcome from Patricia.Eduado the owner speaks very good English and is a very friendly guy and very helpful.Breakfasts were good but the evening meals were not our cup of tea.To be fair the menus were much the same in all of the eateries.Its easy to park at the hotel and it is situated opposite an attractive park.Only downside for us was the noise in the park late at night from visiting teenagers staying in other hotels.This happened 4 times out of 9.Outside influences we know.All in all an excellent choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennywrenSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduardo F, Gerente at La Casona de Revolgo, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear guests:
Thank you for sharing your experiences with other travellers.
As you could see the hotel is placed in a really quiet garden , but this time one students group decided to practice outdoors games from 10 :00 to 12:00 pm.
It is really unbelievable but ..."legal" :)
Anyway i Know you enjoyed your week in our Hotel and hopefully i we will see you soon again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    102
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
104
156
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Over looking the central park and walking distance to all the attractions of beautiful Santillana Del Mar, La Casona de Revolga offers comfort in stylish decor while maintaining the ambiance of this historic town. The very helpful and friendly owner personally came to the tourist information centre to escort us to the hotel. Very reasonably priced and a great breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at La Casona de Revolgo for 2 nights (5th & 6th October) before heading home via Santander (Brittany Ferries). We wanted somewhere within an hour of Santander and this was perfect, only 30 minutes away. The Casona is not situated in the absolute centre of the town, however, it is less than a 5 minute walk away. The advantage of the position of La Casona de Rovolgo is that you can usually park outside or within sight of the Casona as it is situated on a lovely village square.
The Casona is a beautiful little hotel, very clean and tastefully decorated and furnished. The staff are friendly and welcoming.
We had a lovely supper and breakfast, both of which were good value for money as well as being fresh and delicious.
If you like the natural cidre produced in Cantabria and Asturias you will love that produced by the owner of the Casona de Revolgo, its crisp, clear and simply gorgeous.
We will be staying again next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Wonderful large, clean rooms, very friendly welcome, hydro massage bath in room - very relaxing. Staff speak good English and are enormously helpful. Great buffet breakfast with good choice and reasonably priced, optional evening menu.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I had been with the family on an extensive, slightly quixotic tour of Galicia, staying with various friends. We had driven 4000km and seen many wonderful beaches, villages and cities. Heading back towards the ferry at Santander, we decided we wanted to stay nearby so we would have only a short drive before boarding. (The queues for driving into the ferry can be quite tiresome but still better than the summer airport experience.) All our Spanish friends recommended Santillana del Mar as an interesting and picturesque place to stay. I found this hotel by looking at a certain hotel review site, specifically looking for a family room for four. They were very flexible and the price was more than fair.
The room on the top floor was spacious enough for four, bathroom was fine and the kids of course loved the jacuzzi. (Bubbles everywhere!) The breakfast was actually very nice, though I had seen negative remarks so they seem to have upped their game.
My only complaint was that our room was ridiculously hot and it was not a simple matter to open the skylight in the bathroom to try to evacuate the heat. (It involved perching precariously on the side of the bath and sink and heaving against the skylight.)
The location was great with excellent parking and a nice view of the park where some local sort-of bowling competition was going on. It was also near some riding stables which became a real highlight of the whole trip for the kids.
Considering the time of year, I didn't find the town crowded by tourists and it was no difficulty in walking in to restaurants with kids and getting a table at lunch or dinner. No hesitation in going there agian next time I use the ferry to or from Santander.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Santillana del Mar is full of tourists - certainly when we were there - but this lovely, charming hotel is a few moment's walk around the corner, meaning it has a quiet, restful atmosphere. It is situated opposite an attractive municipal park.
The hosts are wonderful, going out of their way to make our stay a comfortable one and accommodating any special requests, whether it was giving recommendations or practical advice about seeing the rest of Cantabria. Their attitude really made the hotel what it was.
The room was a good size, with a wonderful whirlpool bath/shower (bliss!) and comfortable bed. Shutters ensured a very good night's sleep. The air conditioning was a marvel - so quiet that we could keep it on all night (and I am a VERY light sleeper so they get extra brownie points for this!). The windows were double glazed, so although we could hear a lot of children outside playing in the park, once the windows were shut effectively we could hear nothing.
The best thing about the hotel (apart from the charming staff) was the breakfast. A superb buffet of meats, cheeses, fruit and local cakes, with plenty of tea, coffee and juice to boot. Having survived so far on a pastry and a coffee, this was a welcome surprise.
In the evening, the breakfast room is transformed into a restaurant, offering a very good value 'menu del dia' - two courses plus dessert and a glass of wine - for EUR13.00. I had the homemade soup, followed by salmon and a delicious homemade dessert which was marvellous, topped off by a glass of white wine (fabulous wine at unbelievable prices!). Seeing as the centre of town can be crowded and noisy, it was a pleasant break to be able to have a quiet meal in relaxed surroundings where we didn't have to constantly beckon to the waiting staff to remember us!
In addition the hotel is ideally placed for travelling to attractions nearby (Comillas, the caves of Altamira). Free WiFi (if only British hotels would catch on to this!) meant we were able to plan each day effectively too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsPaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
277 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

In a small, well attended hotel. Friendly people trying their best to please. Hotel needs better A/C
and appointments. Rooms and bathrooms are small and with architectural details that make them very tight.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chichenuxmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santillana del Mar
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Marques
Hotel Casa del Marques
#2 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa del Organista
La Casa del Organista
#1 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.9 mi away
Posada la Leyenda
Posada la Leyenda
#23 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Felisa
Hotel Felisa
#1 of 1 in Queveda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Altamira
Hotel Altamira
#10 of 27 in Santillana del Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Costa Esmeralda Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casona de Revolgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casona de Revolgo

Property: La Casona de Revolgo
Address: Parque de Revolgo 3, 39330, Santillana del Mar, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santillana del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Santillana del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Casona de Revolgo 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently opened country hotel, built on the ruins of a magnificent 17th-century building, which served as a mediaeval tavern and coaching inn. Its location, in the heart of the mediaeval old town of Santillana del Mar, set back from the main road and surrounded by green, open spaces, guarantees a peaceful, comfortable stay. Exquisite decor and friendly, family service. Hidromassage bath , free wifi , air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your La Casona de Revolgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing