We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (935)
Filter reviews
935 results
Traveller rating
275
394
197
41
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
394
197
41
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverdining roomamazing viewsold townwalk into townsmall balconycar parkpublic areasexcellent breakfastmedieval castlequiet at nightbeautiful locationone night staysteep walktapasebro deltabalconies overlooking
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 935 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2017

This Parador has improved dramatically since our stay a couple of years ago. The staff were professional, friendly and helpful (which was not the case before!) There had obviously been some redecoration too which improved the feel of the place.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesús H, Manager at Parador de Tortosa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Thank you very much Christina for your visit and comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon and can enjoy the improvements that we will make.
Jesús Hernández.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Sadly, I had a reservation at the Parador de Tortosa but decided to cancel and move to a hotel, after my dealings last Satúrday afternoon with a most unpleasant Front-office manager in the Parador de Tortosa.
This appalling woman made several huge mistakes in dealing with me, as an agrieved customer.
(Caveat: I advised her that I travel extensively and only ever write positive reviews when requested, however, I would be prepared to change my policy for her, if she continued to aggressively lie to me, when I was 100% correct. She refused to listen... )
Anyway, I urge the senior executives of the wonderful Paradores network to please remove that lady (with initials V.G.) from any client-facing duties.
Yes, she is an attractive lady and I am sure that she is competent in some aspects of her role.
However, she has a well-practised and appalling manner in her handling of upset clients, IMHO.
(The senior executives in the Parador network may wish to look at why she is able to treat clients in such a manner, especially overseas guests in her country?. My corporate advice is to also look at her weak manager and 'motivate' him - he who simply chose to ignore this situation, where a client was obviously distressed, by refusing to speak to me nor to call me on my Spanish mobile phone as I had strongly requested.)

Another utterly spectacular Parador, located in a wonderful part of Spain!

(My request to the senior executives: please let me know when you have taken action and rectified your Customer Service issues in Tortosa, after which time I will return and stay.)

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank _michaelowen888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesús H, Manager at Parador de Tortosa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thanks for your visit; although he did not stay at the Parador because he had a reservation, which according to you did not correspond to what he had booked, you contacted the plant yourself and ratified the reservation you had. This situation happened one day that the Parador was complete and therefore did not allow to change the type of room, something that you did not want to admit and began to threaten the person who was attending with dismissing it. Something that your own woman understood and returned to reception to apologize to the person who attended them, which is to be thanked, mainly for the bad time that you put you through.

Jesús Hernández.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

This hotel is built in the grounds of an old castle on the hill above Tortosa.
If you are reasonably fit you can access the old town easily on foot. The old town has many restaurants and old buildings to explore, most of which can be done in a day.
The hotel has a nice pool area set amongst the garden. The rooms are very large as are the bathrooms...for european standard...and most rooms have balconies although they are not very private. The restaurant in the hotel is amazing to look at, being like a dining hall from an old castle however the food is average and overpriced.
There is car parking on site but it can be a bit of a trek to your room so make sure to pack a small bag as there is nobody onsite who seems to want to offer assistance in this area.
The staff are friendly and there is a nice bar with tapas and a beer garden onsite.
All in all a nice place but you really need a car to stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6over
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesús H, Manager at Parador de Tortosa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you very much for your visit and comments, we hope you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Jesús Hernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

The hotel is a development/restoration of a castle fortress at the top of an extremely steep hill overlooking the town of Tortosa. Wonderful views of the mountains and across the River Ebro. Room was generous sized with good bathroom and a little balcony with a brilliant view. Good food, friendly staff, nice pool and we enjoyed a very pleasant two nights here.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesús H, Manager at Parador de Tortosa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you very much for your visit and comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Jesús Hernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

This was our last Parador stay nearing the completion of our one month tour of Spain and Portugal. We were fortunate to get a complementary upgrade to one of the two room suites - thank you. The room had an outside balcony area with table and chairs offering views onto the Ebro River and town of Tortosa below. A minor let down was the bed - although this was a 4-poster the size was rather small.
There is an out door pool which is accessible by stair only - so potentially a problem for those less able to negotiate stair cases. The pool size and surrounding sun terrace areas are excellent - again providing commanding views onto the town and surrounding countryside below.
The walk into town takes around 15 to 20 minutes - this is all downhill (so coming back means negotiating uphill pathways).
There is ample parking.
The restaurant is excellent. We dined there both evenings. The menu selection is adequate offering a sampling of local dishes as well as more traditional fare. The breakfast buffet (served in a separate location) is again very good - though getting a decent coffee was oddly problematic. The coffee (both from machine and table served) was disappointing. Something to do with the local water - perhaps?
Would we consider coming back? Definitely.

Room Tip: All front facing rooms have balconies. The suites have a separate living area.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank spmmik53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesús H, Manager at Parador de Tortosa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thank you very much. We already answered by the channel of Paradores.
Jesús Hernández
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews