We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castle in the Sky”
Review of Parador de Cardona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Parador de Cardona
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cardona
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Castle in the Sky”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

First, the good...the hotel meets expectations for castle like ambiance. The many sitting areas throughout are charmingly decorated. Our suite had a large room with canopied king bed, ample amenities, a parlor and an adjacent room with separate entrance and curtain enclosed twin beds. Very sweet and picturesque. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the wine recommendation perfect and not exorbitantly priced. I recommend the bed and breakfast option. The offerings are delicious and endless.

Now, the cautions. The hotel is not well marked. All signs along the road add the word "tourisme"to the name. At the very top of a narrow, practically vertical road with sharp switchbacks you come to an open park spot that looks like a tourist overlook. Keep going up and you eventually see the red H sign for hotel. Reception welcome service not particularly warm and charming. No porter for bags at checkout. Wifi in room is spotty. If you come prepared for these things, and your car has good brakes, you will enjoy this parador.

Room Tip: Rooms 401 & 402 would be perfect for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debtodeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    317
    95
    25
    12
See reviews for
184
563
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I could take a lot of time writing in detail about this parador but just take it from me that if you get a chance to stay here just go for it!
My 2 teenage sons and I shared a 3 bed room, very handy, had a superb dinner in the banqueting hall and a huge and relaxed breakfast the next morning before exploring the castle itself.
Cant wait to return

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stazza2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

First impressions of this hotel are breathtaking. You see it in the distance and it is like something from King Arthur and Camelot! On arrival we weren't disappointed. We had a beautiful room that was large and airy with lovely views. There are lots of beautiful public areas where you can sit and read or play cards etc. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was excellent. Breakfasts were amazing with lots of choice. As Amigos members we enjoyed our welcome drinks on the outside terrace area on the sixth floor. This area is a private space for guests only. As the castle is open to visitors you can climb a tower from this private area to get magnificent panoramic views of the area. The hotel has a sauna which you can book into free of charge. The only niggles we had with the hotel were that the free wifi coverage didn't work very well on an Apple ipad but was ok with an android (maybe the thick castle walls had something to do with this?). Also the signage to the free car parking wasn't great and was quite confusing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our family of 4, 2 children and 2 adults, had two twin rooms overlooking the town and salt mines. While the denuding of the salt mines left a little to be desired, the castle and town were charming and amazingly clean. My kids enjoyed the walk down to town (10 and 12 years old). It was a Monday so it was quite in town. We had a light lunch at the castle and then a lovely dinner in the old dining room. The special salad and fish were scrumptous and the desserts, across the board, were great. The furniture in the castle is a bit dog-earred but overall, it was a great, if slightly expensive experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RWBucklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My daughter booked this parador as a surprise for my Birthday. Although the castle is spectacular we were disappointed that there was not any wireless internet anywhere, it was especially disappointing for my Grandson. Also the carpets in the corridors were dirty and badly stained.

Room Tip: Make sure that wi fi is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 542Lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed for 1 night at the Parador de Cardona and it didn't disappoint... how many other places can you stay in a castle?! Our room overlooked the courtyard of the castle and to the town of Cardona beyond - gorgeous. The room was spacious and comfortable and still retained some of the character of the castle while having modern amenities.

The terrace bar was a great place for a beer at sundown (make sure you check out the 360 degree view from the tower) and the restaurant offered a good selection of tasty food.

The only problem we had during our stay was how to actually find the door! We arrived by car and although we were able to follow the signposts up to the castle, finding the entrance was more difficult than I imagined! Drive to the public car park, then drive through the archway (it looks like you're entering the castle and shouldn't be driving there!) and then bear left up a cobbled drive - it's signposted to the Parador Restaurant... but there's a handful of car parking spaces up there, or you can at least drop off your luggage before parking the car in the main car park.

But with that being the only negative experience during our stay I would definitely recommend it - a real one-off place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikkip378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here last week for one night. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. You have free run of a castle, and how many times do you get to say that. The rooms take up a lot of the space, so the castle does not feel as big as it looks. The views from the castle tower are amazing. Actually, the views from everywhere are amazing. The food in the restaurant was also well worth it. The rooms themselves were big with modern amenities. There was even good (and free) wi-fi. Well worth the visit.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view facing the city or countryside if possible, as opposed to the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kipp C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardona
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bremon
Hotel Bremon
#3 of 3 in Cardona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vilar Rural de Cardona
Vilar Rural de Cardona
#2 of 3 in Cardona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#3 of 4 in Solsona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hotel La Freixera
Hotel La Freixera
#1 of 4 in Solsona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hotel Mon Sant Benet
Hotel Mon Sant Benet
#1 of 1 in Sant Fruitos de Bages
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hotel La Vella Farga
Hotel La Vella Farga
#1 of 1 in Lladurs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Cardona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Cardona

Property: Parador de Cardona
Address: Castell De Cardona, S/N | Cordona, 08261 Cardona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Cardona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cardona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Cardona 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de Cardona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Cardona Hotel Cardona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing