We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very old and beautiful castle - perfect place for a weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador de Jarandilla de la Vera
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very old and beautiful castle - perfect place for a weekend”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed in Parador de Jarandilla de la Vera 3 nights enjoying it a lot. The parador is around 230km from Madrid. It is a very old and beautiful castle with an amazing patio, where you can sit and have something to drink or eat.
There is an outdoor swimming pool; unfortunately, open only till 8pm; would be really nice to have a swim a bit later in the evening.
There are also few shared lounge rooms, including a huge balcony, where you can read or just relax. The restaurant is good; service too.
Worth seeing is Monasterio de San Jeronimo de Yuste, which is around 10km from the Parador. I would recommend to drive around Jarandilla (in the la Vera area) as the land and landscapes are really nice.
Fully recommended especially for a weekend trip!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mikesk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    216
    79
    20
    9
See reviews for
130
337
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Jarandilla de la Vera is a bit out of the way but the hotel, and the region, are well worth a visit. It is one of the few Paradors in which all the rooms seem to be located in the original palace and the building really is wonderful. The entry, the courtyard with its huge stone balcony, the grounds and the way the pool has been situated in them. It really is very good! On the downside, out room was a bit small for three and we were told there were no larger ones available. We were on an inexpensive, fixed price, rate so if you need a larger room it might be better not to use this rate. As it was, we spent less time in the room and more in the spectacular public areas of the hotel, which were never crowded. Jarandilla is quite a small town but there are a couple of good places to eat and it is a lovely area for nature lovers. We stayed three days and found plenty to do. There are some good walks and clean, clear gorges or swimming in very nearby. The hotel pool is also large and beautifully situated. Service was above average for a Parador. A great destination for both domestic and overseas travelers.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiesinspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay in this castle. Lovely spacious room; delightful pool area with bar; magical courtyard and excellent lounges. Variable food in the restaurant - my main course choice was excellent but my husband's was not good. My only quibble would be that the access from bedrooms to the pool area is not good - you may have a fairly long corridor leading from your bedroom to the lift and then you need to walk out through the main entrance, where cars drop off, back into a castle turret staircase and down to the garden.
A very nice touch was to serve fruit kebabs to people who were around the pool at 6pm. Also the oranges in reception.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeminab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfville, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The parador is excellent with friendly staff, excellent food, nice and beautifully located swimming pool. Our room (standard) was very nice and spacious. The (small) town is not especially interesting but there are several very interesting villages nearby on the slopes of the mountains - as is Jarandilla itself. Hiking possibilities for those who like it.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcos de la Frontera
Level Contributor
151 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

arrived at the Parador on a Friday night and when booking in the receptionist told me we were getting an upgrade to a superior room. the room had a king size bed, jacuzzi and both rooms were large and comfortable. the lounges are of pure luxury with a log fire and first quality sofas to relax in. on the coffee table are buttons to press and the barmaid arrives to take your order, the first time I have seen this! there is a lovely balcony off this lounge looking down onto the plaza of the Parador. outside there is a large swimming pool in the garden. breakfast was standard for the Paradors and the evening meals the same, nothing out of the ordinary but served by friendly staff. the bar area is basic but the remainder of the Parador is so well fitted out that it is a real pleasure to stay there

Room Tip: ask for a room with view onto the valley and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iberia9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at this converted Spanish castle for a few days, during a road trip from Seville to Oviedo. The parador's exteriors and public rooms are fantastic, and quite historical (this was after all the Emperor Charles V's last stop on his way to retirement at a nearby monastery). Our room was in the extension that was added on when the castke was converted into a parador, and it was very spacious, clean and had fantastic views of the castle's entraceway. It is some distance from the main thoroughfare, but the drive to get there is amazing as well since you pass through some of the nicest countryside and small villages in Spain. We used this as a base to explore some of the nearby towns of Caceres and Plasencia, it was convenient, yet out of the way. The breakfast buffet was some of the best food we had on our trip, and it was a truly delightful experience to be able to stay there.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the castle have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
326 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I have very mixed feelings about this hotel. The castle and the entrance to the hotel are very impressive and have lots of character, as does the lounge and balcony overlooking the courtyard. Our room however was disappointing, basic and lacked character. The paint on the walls had been scraped to give what I assume to be an "old feel" but looked tacky. The bathroom on other hand was large and modern with an excellent shower.

We had hoped to eat dinner on the romantic terrace (where it is not possible to reserve a table) but sadly it was raining so we were confined to the dining room, which is elegantly decorated. Our meal was mediocre and disappointing. My husband had croquettas to start - they were supposed to be a mix of cheese, chicken and ham, but they all tasted the same. My cherry cheesecake was an artificial mixture with no taste of cherry. I would definitely not eat here again!

The hotel bar lacks ambiance. The swimming pool is great. Parador is centrally located so it is a very short walk to other restaurants and shops, albeit there are other more attractive towns nearby.

One final comment. I asked the receptionist whether there were any nearby rock pools that I could swim in. I was told there were none - amazing because everywhere we drove we came across lots!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretGranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jarandilla de la Vera
23.9 mi away
Parador de Plasencia
Parador de Plasencia
#1 of 8 in Plasencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hospederia Valle del Jerte
13.0 mi away
Hotel Balneario Valle del Jerte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Rural Villa Xarahiz
Hotel Rural Villa Xarahiz
#1 of 2 in Jaraiz de la Vera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
23.8 mi away
Hotel Palacio Carvajal Giron
12.0 mi away
Hotel Rural Llano Tineo
Hotel Rural Llano Tineo
#1 of 2 in Villanueva de la Vera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Jarandilla de la Vera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Jarandilla de la Vera

Property: Parador de Jarandilla de la Vera
Address: Avenida Antonio Garcia Prieto 1, 10450 Jarandilla de la Vera, Spain
Region: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Caceres > Jarandilla de la Vera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jarandilla de la Vera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Jarandilla de la Vera 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Parador de Jarandilla de la Vera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing