We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Road to it looks like the end of the world......but what a nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador de Jarandilla de la Vera
Certificate of Excellence
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Road to it looks like the end of the world......but what a nice place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

On our trip to South of Spain we stayed overnight at this Parador. It was an hour trip from the highway over small roads but is was really worth it. Fantastic Parador with great rooms. We enjoyed the swimming pool and a dinner in the inner courtyard of the Castle, very well served and with a great choice of wines
Very friendly staff that do their upmost best to speak English.
Great breakfast served in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    213
    78
    20
    9
See reviews for
130
330
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Great service and friendly staff.Rooms everything you'd expect from a Parador but the most striking feature for us was the internal large courtyard with its sun, shade , water feature and tables to enjoy a quiet drink or lunch.. Totally magical but the parador's photos cannot conjure up the feeling of this area with the storks intermittently clacking above.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rjcritchley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Although I have been living in Spain for years and have stayed in the four other Paradors in this province of Extremadura, I never seemed to get round to visiting Jarandilla. We went towards the end of May. The majority of the Paradors are located in historic buildings, this one is a castle and an inviting one. It is on a small rise above the town with the range of mountains as a backdrop. We stayed in the old, castle part in a room overlooking the courtyard with its beautiful palm trees and tables and chairs set out in the fine weather. The room itself was good-sized, nicely furnished and with very comfortable beds. The bathroom was big and modern. We loved the breakfast-room which was bright and airy. Breakfasts were served till 11.15 a.m. and even then the lovely staff were in no hurry to get the guests out of their way. We had dinner on our first evening - it was excellent and so was our lunch on our last day. There is a lovely garden attached to the Parador with the added benefit of a swimming pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annielarubia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
696 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

My review of this parador is coloured by the fact that our visit coincided with the local Corpus Christi celebrations when a party occurred adjacent to the hotel with the most unbearable din continuing at full volume until 3.36 am. This isn't the hotel's fault and, to be fair the staff who seemed to hate the noise too did advise us though they claimed it would finish at midnight. It was dreadful!

That apart, this is a delightful place to stay with storks nesting on the turrets, the most beautiful upstairs rooms looking down onto the courtyard and comfortable well appointed rooms. And the breakfast was generous and delicious with plenty of local produce. Just avoid that one weekend in the year!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We made this Parador an overnight stop after flying into Madrid airport. What a delightful place to stay. You go through the gateway and enter into the castle courtyard. Our room was a good size, clean and comfortable. We loved the view of the castle turret from our window, made even more special by the storks flying around.The evening meal was excellent, we really enjoyed the roasted kid. Morning brought an extensive breakfast buffet with several items locally sourced.The town of Jarandilla de la Vera itself is not anything special but is in a pretty setting. It has a number of very pretty villages near by. We visited Cuacos de Yuste and Yuste monastery, both places having connections with Charles I, as does the Parador. We would have liked to stay another day to explore the area, but we were moving on to Caceres.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ES1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
172 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Excellent deal at €160 for 2 including breakfast and dinner. Massive breakfast selelction with local specialities. Service in the restauarat was a little slow but the food was good. This is a great stopover for us on our tour of Western Spain. The reception staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. The courtyard is particularly impressive and there are large elegantly furninshed lounges to realx in.

Room Tip: All seem very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seangriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed at this Parador in February 2013 just for one night, it was our second experience of a Parador so far and overall it was a positive one but not as good as the Parador Trujillo experience.
As with most Paradors the building is grand and impressive. It wasn’t busy at all so we had a speedy check-in. There was no up-selling of other services but also not much general information given about the facilities, not even the opening and closing times of the bar and restaurant.
The room was clean and adequately furnished, we had a Jacuzzi bath, which was great but sadly some of the jets weren’t working. We didn’t make a fuss though as we were only staying for one night. Unfortunately we were also under stocked with toiletries but managed to grab the missing gels from the housekeeping trolley that was parked in the corridor.
This Parador is advertised as 4 start so during the winter you’d expect proper duvets to keep you warm during the night instead of the usual bed sheet but that wasn’t the case. We weren’t informed that we could get duvets if requested. We had air con/heating in the room but having it switched all night is not so pleasant so we soldiered through without.
In the evening we attempted to go out for a meal but as it was raining we stopped by reception to ask if they knew if the restaurant we chose was open (it was a Monday evening). The receptionist kindly answered that yes it should be open. It wasn’t. In hindsight we felt disappointed that the receptionist didn’t even offer to call the restaurants to check for us if it was open. A really minor thing but you’d expect that from a 4 star hotel. We ended up coming back and having a snack at the Parador bar. We were the only customers inside so the service was super quick and very pleasant. Prices were not bad either with around 6 euros for a large portion of tapas. We ordered a selection of 5 and we couldn’t finish them.

Room Tip: check your Jacuzzi bath is working properly
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jarandilla de la Vera
23.9 mi away
Parador de Plasencia
Parador de Plasencia
#1 of 8 in Plasencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hospederia Valle del Jerte
13.0 mi away
Hotel Balneario Valle del Jerte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Rural Villa Xarahiz
Hotel Rural Villa Xarahiz
#1 of 2 in Jaraiz de la Vera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
23.8 mi away
Hotel Palacio Carvajal Giron
12.0 mi away
Hotel Rural Llano Tineo
Hotel Rural Llano Tineo
#1 of 2 in Villanueva de la Vera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Jarandilla de la Vera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Jarandilla de la Vera

Property: Parador de Jarandilla de la Vera
Address: Avenida Antonio Garcia Prieto 1, 10450 Jarandilla de la Vera, Spain
Region: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Caceres > Jarandilla de la Vera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jarandilla de la Vera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Jarandilla de la Vera 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de Jarandilla de la Vera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing