We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great location”
Review of Parador de Baiona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador de Baiona
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Baiona
Certificate of Excellence
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
250 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Really great location”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I loved this place especially for it's location. The view is fantastic and really close to Baiona center. Also restaurant is good but little bit expensive. Breakfast is rich with the opportunity to have saulty or sweety food.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FashionWineDotMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    349
    106
    37
    14
See reviews for
247
619
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level Contributor
371 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The setting for this Parador is stunning, no question about that. And, as a result it is one of the busiest Paradors in the summer. While the grounds are utterly amazing, the inside of this Parador is very average.

If you can try to start your stay before Aug 1. After Aug 1 you have to take the half board option, effectively locking you into taking your dinner at the hotel. It’s an expensive meal and compared to what is available outside the hotel, it’s much better to avoid the half board option.

One annoying thing about this Parador is that you can only get wifi in certain common areas, specifically the dining hall and the lounge surrounding the front courtyard. This is incredibly annoying as we paid more than 250 euro/night…you would think they could get the wifi going. As a matter of fact, the first day we were there the wifi did work in our room and then it mysteriously disappeared. Other days it would connect briefly (with a strong signal and then cut out).

Re. the rooms: I agree with the previous reviewers –the bathrooms are nicely update and fairly luxurious, but the room décor is average at best. If they could just update the paint and the bed covers, it would go a long way to making the room look more upscale. But they look pretty ho-hum and out of date with the current set up. Too bad because the woodwork in the room (closets and doors) is beautiful and is clearly of quality.

Beware that the rooms with views vary in terms of the quality of the view that you have. Our room had one small window looking to the bay, not centered and would have been lovely if it had another window. Our friends had a view that was cutoff by some sort of wall that jutted out next to the window. The hotel building does not look to be historic/original (as the external walls of the castle do for example) and I am unsure why the did not build in more windows when they built it. The site is gorgeous, and the ramparts look original. But the Building does not look original.

As for the beds, I have found that the busier the Parador, the more worn the mattress. My room at Fuente Dé and Pontevedra had a very comfortable firm mattress. My mattress at Baiona and at Santiago de Compostela were too soft and overly worn. Huge dips on the side where people tend to sit on the mattress. At the price I paid, they could replace the mattress more often.

Common spaces: If you want a really elegant hotel, you will be disappointed by the interiors…they just don’t live up to the stunning location and grounds. Compared to other Paradors we stayed in (Santiago and Fuente De) the furniture and art in the common areas of this hotel are pretty cheesy—I think they could do a much better job with the interior design of this hotel. The furnishings in the lounges and the hallways do not look historic, nor do they look modern. They just look frumpy, mismatched and out of date. And a lot of the artwork on the walls is really cheesy.

This place is busier than the other Paradors we visited so the service is not as nice (no white linen at your bedside). Breakfast is crowded and the food is not replenished as fast. No hot chocolate and the espresso machine was on the blink (but it got fixed when one of the Sra’s on duty whacked it a few times). You can take breakfast on the terrace or next to the inner courtyard and avoid the bustle of the buffet. If you sit on the terrace, take care to sit well under the umbrellas to avoid the very aggressive seagulls.

Other annoyances: The tennis court is a joke! What a beautiful setting for a court, but what a wreck it was. The hardcourt was torn up and had boatlads of loose gravel…we had lots of falls that week. Net is sagging and it badly needs some TLC. They should repair this because it is dangerous as is.

Final annoyance: the most horrible muzak is piped into all the common areas! It’s really awful stuff. It would be much better to play NOTHING to play this awful elevator music.

Bottom line: I loved the special environs of this hotel but wish they would spiff it up a bit. At the prices we pay, they could do more.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pyegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed here for one week; 2 adults and 3 children in 2 rooms.
The hotel is built on the grounds of an old fort and the original defensive Walls remain. These provide a lovely walk for guests, and for every tourist who wishes to walk up from the town. It was a bit intrusive to be stared at while playing tennis(badly) with the kids...
Facility wise: the breakfast was excellent; lunch was good but very few choices and never changed. The swimming pool was good; not too chilly and plenty of loungers. The tennis court surface was breaking up which would not suit anyone who can actually play tennis. We would have been perfectly happy but for the fact that the bedrooms we had were terribly noisy. We could hear the people in the rooms across the corridor and we had one totally sleepless night due to a television next door. Ringing reception was not very productive...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellenorIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

“We're canceling the rest of our vacation" I said to my husband as we drove past one massive stone gate and approached a second one, leading up to the castle that loomed ahead of us, felling like we’d been a time-warped to the 15th century. We were approaching the Parador Conde de Gondomar-- situated in a strategic peninsula, known as either Monte Boi or Monterreal, guarding the Ria of Baiona, which explains its previous life as a fortress.
The sense of awe continued inside the front door, I expected Queen Isabel herself to descend from the massive stone staircase that faced the front desk.
The interiors continue to dazzle and throughout our four-night stay we were enchanted with the ambiance, the service, the room, laundry (delivered in a wicker basket).
Breakfast was a feast-cured meats, cheeses, yogurts, eggs, breads, pastries, fruits, churros, constantly replenished by the attentive staff.
Dinners at the restaurant were as expected from the Paradores—spectacular. The main restaurant more upscale, right out of Gourmet magazine with a regional touch. There is “lighter” fare at Enxebre La Pinta, a two-minute walk from the hotel’s front door, where the views out to the ocean and the sunsets are spectacular. Sit outdoors while you enjoy a glass of Alvariño, gazing at the sea. Wine is 0.30 more than a Coke!
The only problem we encountered is restaurants’ schedule. In the Parador—as in all of Spain--do not open until 8:00, not accommodating diverse touristic preferences.
I cannot recommend highly enough a stay at this Parador and hope my travels take me there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tropicalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
139 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This place is amazing, more on the outside than the inside. For anyone who has been there, the exterior feels like Carmel, California, but with ramparts of an ancient fort to punctuate the spectacular scenery. The hotel itself doesn’t quite live up to the standards of the setting and the exterior – service is kind of spotty with a bunch of things that don’t work quite right. In our room the wireless internet worked sometimes but not others, so at times we joined what seemed like a lot of people sitting in a lounge near the lobby to get online. In the lobby you will hear the worst Muzak ever – it’s horrible and it never seems to stop. As in all paradors that I’ve been to, lights turn on automatically when you enter a hallway, but there’s one spot with a couple of invisible steps where the light doesn’t come on and it’s actually a bit dangerous. There is a tennis court, but it’s perhaps the worst tennis court I’ve ever played on. Don’t use this court if you are looking for a serious game. Having said that, the place is still amazing. Walking the length of the ramparts – about 1.5 or 2 km – is really pleasant and unbelievably beautiful. Sitting outside anywhere on the property is wonderful. I think that if you are used to luxury and are considering coming to this place, you will like it if you weigh the spectacular environment more than you weigh the various problems with the service. If service problems drive you crazy then you should probably stay away, but know that you will be missing an unbelievably beautiful spot. In other words, your loss.

There are a couple of things to know about booking the place. If you reserve a room in August you must pay half board, i.e. breakfast and lunch or dinner. The price of the meal is high, so starting your reservation on July 31 instead of August 1 spares you that requirement and saves a lot of money. Prices are also much higher on weekends than on weekdays, at least at this time of year.

There are two ways to book a room in a parador and you can find them both online in the US. One is to call the Parador office in Spain (www.parador.es/en); they speak English and are very helpful. (You can’t do much on that web site besides find the number to call in Spain.) If you book through the office in Spain you can cancel your booking up to five days before your stay without paying anything; after that you will forfeit what you have paid. Another way is through a US parador agent (www.paradorsofspain.com) that will give you the option of paying with a US credit card, in dollars, which means you don’t have to pay a foreign exchange fee if your credit card requires that. (By the way, it’s not hard to get a card that doesn’t have a foreign exchange fee and it can save a lot of money on a trip overseas. It’s important to know before you go if your card will charge foreign exchange fees.) The agent in the US is excellent and very helpful but there is one annoying thing on the web site that it is important to know about. If you pay in dollars your rate is locked in, which is good, but if you then change your reservation there can be a hefty fee. The web site says there is no cancellation fee, but there is a “service fee” that can really add up - $50 or 7% per booking, whichever is more. You have to look carefully to find this on the web site – it says in bigger letters that there is no cancellation fee and in smaller letters that there is a service fee that somehow is considered different from a cancellation fee. (It sure seems like the same thing to me but they say their lawyers made them do this.) There is a good reason for the service fee – they have to bear the cost of the foreign exchange transaction and then they have to change it back in order to give you a refund. So they face real costs, but I would be happier about it if it were better advertised. Anyway, it’s good to be aware of this up front. Another important thing with the US representative is that you have to cancel within three days or lose everything.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for a room with a view, but some of them don't have such a great vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andnobodyknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here for three nights. The location and buildings are amazing and we had a wonderful view of waves crashing onto rocks from one room and a calmer sea view of the bay over the swimming pool from the other.

The rooms were very comfortable and well equipped as you'd expect from a parador and we enjoyed lounging by the pool. Breakfast was a bit of a shambles - hence 4 rather than 5 stars. Sometimes coffee was brought quickly to the table, sometimes we didn't get any until we'd nearly finished eating and had to chase down staff to get any. The buffet was lovely - but replenished rather sporadically so on our last morning there was quite a scrum when they brought out a tortilla as there hadn't been any left on other mornings.

If you breakfast outside on the terrace you need to leave someone guarding any food - the seagulls hover and swoop down to take food as soon as tables are empty. One woman lost 2 croissants when she got up (probably looking for coffee).

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank traveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Arrived after a long day's travel so a bit disappointed that check in took about 20 min, there seemed to be 5 staff sharing 1 computer! Our room in the old part of the building was spacious and comfortable with a lovely big bathroom, but having asked for a double we got a twin, and it only had one window, too high to see out of (if you stood on a chair you could see into the courtyard). There were no doubles available, and if we wanted a twin room with a view we had to pay extra. We instead spent the extra on wine from the terrace bar and enjoyed the view from there. The setting however is amazing, you can walk the walls (inner and outer if you're so inclined) of the fortress, amazing views, worth exploring and a lovely little beach at the bottom.The communal rooms, lounges bars etc are very impressive, like staying in a stately home, or 'school' if you're my husband. Walked into Baiona and having made it past the people proffering English menus and expensive paella we found a lovely little tapas bar up the hill a little and had a great meal. Breakfast was included, and offered a vast buffet and good coffee.
Overall a great location and atmospheric building, perhaps a little expensive considering the service and lack of view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view when booking, and if you want a double bed you may need to double/triple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frootbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baiona
2.8 mi away
Talaso Atlantico
Talaso Atlantico
#1 of 1 in Oia
411 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Ababides
8.0 mi away
Pazo Los Escudos Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Nagari Boutique & Spa
19.4 mi away
Augusta Spa Resort
Augusta Spa Resort
#5 of 75 in Sanxenxo
1,239 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hesperia Vigo
Hesperia Vigo
#4 of 44 in Vigo
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Baiona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Baiona

Property: Parador de Baiona
Address: Rua Arquitecto Jesus Valverde, 36300 Baiona, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of Pontevedra > Baiona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Baiona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Baiona 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the walled enclosure of Monte Real protected by the sea and flanked by a pine wood, this Parador rises up in a priviledge location. Regal drawing rooms with decorative features from other ages form a distinguished interior in which the spectacular stone staircase of the entrance hall stands out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Parador de Baiona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Baiona Hotel Baiona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing