We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Parador de Baiona
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bahia Bayona(Pontevedra)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Arce(Baiona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,316)
Filter reviews
1,316 results
Traveller rating
715
411
129
42
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
715
411
129
42
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstunning locationamazing viewsoverlooking the baythe atlantic oceanbar terracesuperior roomgreat settingold fortressreception staffseafoodhalf boardwithin the wallscommon areaseasy walkthe air conditioningroom was largebreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 1,316 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I loved this place especially for it's location. The view is fantastic and really close to Baiona center. Also restaurant is good but little bit expensive. Breakfast is rich with the opportunity to have saulty or sweety food.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FashionWineDotMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The setting for this Parador is stunning, no question about that. And, as a result it is one of the busiest Paradors in the summer. While the grounds are utterly amazing, the inside of this Parador is very average.

If you can try to start your stay before Aug 1. After Aug 1 you have to take the half board option, effectively locking you into taking your dinner at the hotel. It’s an expensive meal and compared to what is available outside the hotel, it’s much better to avoid the half board option.

One annoying thing about this Parador is that you can only get wifi in certain common areas, specifically the dining hall and the lounge surrounding the front courtyard. This is incredibly annoying as we paid more than 250 euro/night…you would think they could get the wifi going. As a matter of fact, the first day we were there the wifi did work in our room and then it mysteriously disappeared. Other days it would connect briefly (with a strong signal and then cut out).

Re. the rooms: I agree with the previous reviewers –the bathrooms are nicely update and fairly luxurious, but the room décor is average at best. If they could just update the paint and the bed covers, it would go a long way to making the room look more upscale. But they look pretty ho-hum and out of date with the current set up. Too bad because the woodwork in the room (closets and doors) is beautiful and is clearly of quality.

Beware that the rooms with views vary in terms of the quality of the view that you have. Our room had one small window looking to the bay, not centered and would have been lovely if it had another window. Our friends had a view that was cutoff by some sort of wall that jutted out next to the window. The hotel building does not look to be historic/original (as the external walls of the castle do for example) and I am unsure why the did not build in more windows when they built it. The site is gorgeous, and the ramparts look original. But the Building does not look original.

As for the beds, I have found that the busier the Parador, the more worn the mattress. My room at Fuente Dé and Pontevedra had a very comfortable firm mattress. My mattress at Baiona and at Santiago de Compostela were too soft and overly worn. Huge dips on the side where people tend to sit on the mattress. At the price I paid, they could replace the mattress more often.

Common spaces: If you want a really elegant hotel, you will be disappointed by the interiors…they just don’t live up to the stunning location and grounds. Compared to other Paradors we stayed in (Santiago and Fuente De) the furniture and art in the common areas of this hotel are pretty cheesy—I think they could do a much better job with the interior design of this hotel. The furnishings in the lounges and the hallways do not look historic, nor do they look modern. They just look frumpy, mismatched and out of date. And a lot of the artwork on the walls is really cheesy.

This place is busier than the other Paradors we visited so the service is not as nice (no white linen at your bedside). Breakfast is crowded and the food is not replenished as fast. No hot chocolate and the espresso machine was on the blink (but it got fixed when one of the Sra’s on duty whacked it a few times). You can take breakfast on the terrace or next to the inner courtyard and avoid the bustle of the buffet. If you sit on the terrace, take care to sit well under the umbrellas to avoid the very aggressive seagulls.

Other annoyances: The tennis court is a joke! What a beautiful setting for a court, but what a wreck it was. The hardcourt was torn up and had boatlads of loose gravel…we had lots of falls that week. Net is sagging and it badly needs some TLC. They should repair this because it is dangerous as is.

Final annoyance: the most horrible muzak is piped into all the common areas! It’s really awful stuff. It would be much better to play NOTHING to play this awful elevator music.

Bottom line: I loved the special environs of this hotel but wish they would spiff it up a bit. At the prices we pay, they could do more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pyegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed here for one week; 2 adults and 3 children in 2 rooms.
The hotel is built on the grounds of an old fort and the original defensive Walls remain. These provide a lovely walk for guests, and for every tourist who wishes to walk up from the town. It was a bit intrusive to be stared at while playing tennis(badly) with the kids...
Facility wise: the breakfast was excellent; lunch was good but very few choices and never changed. The swimming pool was good; not too chilly and plenty of loungers. The tennis court surface was breaking up which would not suit anyone who can actually play tennis. We would have been perfectly happy but for the fact that the bedrooms we had were terribly noisy. We could hear the people in the rooms across the corridor and we had one totally sleepless night due to a television next door. Ringing reception was not very productive...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellenorIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

“We're canceling the rest of our vacation" I said to my husband as we drove past one massive stone gate and approached a second one, leading up to the castle that loomed ahead of us, felling like we’d been a time-warped to the 15th century. We were approaching the Parador Conde de Gondomar-- situated in a strategic peninsula, known as either Monte Boi or Monterreal, guarding the Ria of Baiona, which explains its previous life as a fortress.
The sense of awe continued inside the front door, I expected Queen Isabel herself to descend from the massive stone staircase that faced the front desk.
The interiors continue to dazzle and throughout our four-night stay we were enchanted with the ambiance, the service, the room, laundry (delivered in a wicker basket).
Breakfast was a feast-cured meats, cheeses, yogurts, eggs, breads, pastries, fruits, churros, constantly replenished by the attentive staff.
Dinners at the restaurant were as expected from the Paradores—spectacular. The main restaurant more upscale, right out of Gourmet magazine with a regional touch. There is “lighter” fare at Enxebre La Pinta, a two-minute walk from the hotel’s front door, where the views out to the ocean and the sunsets are spectacular. Sit outdoors while you enjoy a glass of Alvariño, gazing at the sea. Wine is 0.30 more than a Coke!
The only problem we encountered is restaurants’ schedule. In the Parador—as in all of Spain--do not open until 8:00, not accommodating diverse touristic preferences.
I cannot recommend highly enough a stay at this Parador and hope my travels take me there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tropicalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This place is amazing, more on the outside than the inside. For anyone who has been there, the exterior feels like Carmel, California, but with ramparts of an ancient fort to punctuate the spectacular scenery. The hotel itself doesn’t quite live up to the standards of the setting and the exterior – service is kind of spotty with a bunch of things that don’t work quite right. In our room the wireless internet worked sometimes but not others, so at times we joined what seemed like a lot of people sitting in a lounge near the lobby to get online. In the lobby you will hear the worst Muzak ever – it’s horrible and it never seems to stop. As in all paradors that I’ve been to, lights turn on automatically when you enter a hallway, but there’s one spot with a couple of invisible steps where the light doesn’t come on and it’s actually a bit dangerous. There is a tennis court, but it’s perhaps the worst tennis court I’ve ever played on. Don’t use this court if you are looking for a serious game. Having said that, the place is still amazing. Walking the length of the ramparts – about 1.5 or 2 km – is really pleasant and unbelievably beautiful. Sitting outside anywhere on the property is wonderful. I think that if you are used to luxury and are considering coming to this place, you will like it if you weigh the spectacular environment more than you weigh the various problems with the service. If service problems drive you crazy then you should probably stay away, but know that you will be missing an unbelievably beautiful spot. In other words, your loss.

There are a couple of things to know about booking the place. If you reserve a room in August you must pay half board, i.e. breakfast and lunch or dinner. The price of the meal is high, so starting your reservation on July 31 instead of August 1 spares you that requirement and saves a lot of money. Prices are also much higher on weekends than on weekdays, at least at this time of year.

There are two ways to book a room in a parador and you can find them both online in the US. One is to call the Parador office in Spain (www.parador.es/en); they speak English and are very helpful. (You can’t do much on that web site besides find the number to call in Spain.) If you book through the office in Spain you can cancel your booking up to five days before your stay without paying anything; after that you will forfeit what you have paid. Another way is through a US parador agent (www.paradorsofspain.com) that will give you the option of paying with a US credit card, in dollars, which means you don’t have to pay a foreign exchange fee if your credit card requires that. (By the way, it’s not hard to get a card that doesn’t have a foreign exchange fee and it can save a lot of money on a trip overseas. It’s important to know before you go if your card will charge foreign exchange fees.) The agent in the US is excellent and very helpful but there is one annoying thing on the web site that it is important to know about. If you pay in dollars your rate is locked in, which is good, but if you then change your reservation there can be a hefty fee. The web site says there is no cancellation fee, but there is a “service fee” that can really add up - $50 or 7% per booking, whichever is more. You have to look carefully to find this on the web site – it says in bigger letters that there is no cancellation fee and in smaller letters that there is a service fee that somehow is considered different from a cancellation fee. (It sure seems like the same thing to me but they say their lawyers made them do this.) There is a good reason for the service fee – they have to bear the cost of the foreign exchange transaction and then they have to change it back in order to give you a refund. So they face real costs, but I would be happier about it if it were better advertised. Anyway, it’s good to be aware of this up front. Another important thing with the US representative is that you have to cancel within three days or lose everything.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for a room with a view, but some of them don't have such a great view. The way the place was built, most rooms have only one window, which is really lame. Obviously this place was built a while ago. Some rooms have a view that is partly of the scenery and partly of a wall and it would probably be possible to avoid such a view if you ask. We had three rooms and one of them was for three people; it was bigger than the rooms for two and had two windows. it also cost more. But it might be possible to get one of those rooms even if you are only two people. if you don't mind paying extra it would be worth asking.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andnobodyknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews