We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views”
Review of Parador de Baiona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador de Baiona
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Baiona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We arrived here on day 5 of our walking the Camino de Santiago. The views are beyond spectacular. The grounds are lovely to walk. The rooms? Average or below. The beds were terrible, and the pillows should be tossed out and the should purchase new ones. The Decor on the rooms was tired and could be refreshed. It was clean, but I felt a bit like I was staying in a low budget hotel room. There is no Wifi in the rooms, only in the common area, but at least it's free.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brink9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,169)
There are newer reviews for Parador de Baiona
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 1,169 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

We did not stay at this hotel, but you can also pay to go into the grounds. (1 Euro each) It's a gentle 10-15 minute slope up to some of the best views I have seen of the Galacia region! There is a small church, where they still perform weddings, and a large hotel, which you can enter as a tourist.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
1  Thank ade1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Great position and a sympathetic renovation for the hotel. We got a good deal and thought that the rooms were adequate - clean, comfortable and plenty of space . Easy walk into town and nice views from the ramparts. We ate in the Tapas bar which is in the grounds of the hotel - food was good and cheaper than the more formal restaurant and with a better view. Breakfast was excellent.
The only minor criticism was the poor coverage of Wi-Fi through the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohhdear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

What a position to have an hotel. Fabulous views everywhere. Walk around the Parador on the walls surrounding it for a truly wonderful experience. However, we were very annoyed because, having arrived at lunchtime from a very boring and hot drive from Santiago, we were told there was a wedding in progress. First of all, as we were meeting friends for dinner, we decided to use our half board option for lunch. We located the empty restaurant and, as it was a beautiful hot, sunny day, chose to sit on the terrace. Immediately we were told we could not sit there because the wedding party would be along shortly. Ok, so we found the bar and, again were told we could not sit outside. Remember this is a very expensive hotel and to be denied acccess to the outside was infuriating. I went to reception and voiced my displeasure, only to be told of a second restaurant in the grounds where we could sit outside. Why had no-one suggested this before? Search me! Anyway, this alternative was wonderful as the views were far superior to the Parador itself and the food was great. Fab bedroom and ensuite and, although we were on an inclusive Brittany Ferries car tour where you usually end up in the poorest rooms, we still had a great view (albeit over a tiled roof!).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nannup11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This was the first Parador we stayed in and it is in a stunning location with great interesting historic places to explore around the grounds and some nice beaches. We had upgraded to a sea view room and were expecting something quite special due to the stunning location, but, when we were shown to our room, at the extremity of the hotel, there was a only a very obstructed view of the sea and no sweeping views of the bay. We asked if there was a chance of a room with a better view or an upgrade to a better room & were taken to the other extremity of the hotel to a twin room with one window & a different obstructed view of the coastline not the bay. Decided to cut our losses and stay in room number 2 but we were quite disappointed with both the rooms we were shown.

The rooms have great bathrooms but the decor is a little tired and outdated. There is no WiFi available in the rooms only in the common areas - which is a little behind the times.

Breakfasts here are quite extensive with lots of choices, try to get there before 9am as it's very busy after that & the refills for the buffet can be a little slow.

We had lunch at the Terrace bar & it was a bit ordinary.

We had dinner one night in the restaurant - very posh with great service & really lovely food. We had A la Carte but there is a fixed price set menu as well which is quite good value.

We had a lovely time exploring Baiona & the fort which luckily kept us out of our very average room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidaybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I loved this place especially for it's location. The view is fantastic and really close to Baiona center. Also restaurant is good but little bit expensive. Breakfast is rich with the opportunity to have saulty or sweety food.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FashionWineDotMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The setting for this Parador is stunning, no question about that. And, as a result it is one of the busiest Paradors in the summer. While the grounds are utterly amazing, the inside of this Parador is very average.

If you can try to start your stay before Aug 1. After Aug 1 you have to take the half board option, effectively locking you into taking your dinner at the hotel. It’s an expensive meal and compared to what is available outside the hotel, it’s much better to avoid the half board option.

One annoying thing about this Parador is that you can only get wifi in certain common areas, specifically the dining hall and the lounge surrounding the front courtyard. This is incredibly annoying as we paid more than 250 euro/night…you would think they could get the wifi going. As a matter of fact, the first day we were there the wifi did work in our room and then it mysteriously disappeared. Other days it would connect briefly (with a strong signal and then cut out).

Re. the rooms: I agree with the previous reviewers –the bathrooms are nicely update and fairly luxurious, but the room décor is average at best. If they could just update the paint and the bed covers, it would go a long way to making the room look more upscale. But they look pretty ho-hum and out of date with the current set up. Too bad because the woodwork in the room (closets and doors) is beautiful and is clearly of quality.

Beware that the rooms with views vary in terms of the quality of the view that you have. Our room had one small window looking to the bay, not centered and would have been lovely if it had another window. Our friends had a view that was cutoff by some sort of wall that jutted out next to the window. The hotel building does not look to be historic/original (as the external walls of the castle do for example) and I am unsure why the did not build in more windows when they built it. The site is gorgeous, and the ramparts look original. But the Building does not look original.

As for the beds, I have found that the busier the Parador, the more worn the mattress. My room at Fuente Dé and Pontevedra had a very comfortable firm mattress. My mattress at Baiona and at Santiago de Compostela were too soft and overly worn. Huge dips on the side where people tend to sit on the mattress. At the price I paid, they could replace the mattress more often.

Common spaces: If you want a really elegant hotel, you will be disappointed by the interiors…they just don’t live up to the stunning location and grounds. Compared to other Paradors we stayed in (Santiago and Fuente De) the furniture and art in the common areas of this hotel are pretty cheesy—I think they could do a much better job with the interior design of this hotel. The furnishings in the lounges and the hallways do not look historic, nor do they look modern. They just look frumpy, mismatched and out of date. And a lot of the artwork on the walls is really cheesy.

This place is busier than the other Paradors we visited so the service is not as nice (no white linen at your bedside). Breakfast is crowded and the food is not replenished as fast. No hot chocolate and the espresso machine was on the blink (but it got fixed when one of the Sra’s on duty whacked it a few times). You can take breakfast on the terrace or next to the inner courtyard and avoid the bustle of the buffet. If you sit on the terrace, take care to sit well under the umbrellas to avoid the very aggressive seagulls.

Other annoyances: The tennis court is a joke! What a beautiful setting for a court, but what a wreck it was. The hardcourt was torn up and had boatlads of loose gravel…we had lots of falls that week. Net is sagging and it badly needs some TLC. They should repair this because it is dangerous as is.

Final annoyance: the most horrible muzak is piped into all the common areas! It’s really awful stuff. It would be much better to play NOTHING to play this awful elevator music.

Bottom line: I loved the special environs of this hotel but wish they would spiff it up a bit. At the prices we pay, they could do more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pyegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baiona
2.8 mi away
Talaso Atlantico
Talaso Atlantico
#1 of 1 in Oia
439 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Ababides
8.0 mi away
Pazo Los Escudos Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hotel Glasgow
Hotel Glasgow
#1 of 1 in Viladesuso
79 reviews
10.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Nagari Boutique & Spa
2.0 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#1 of 2 in Nigran
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Baiona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Baiona

Address: Rua Arquitecto Jesus Valverde, 36300 Baiona, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of Pontevedra > Baiona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Baiona
Price Range: £80 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Baiona 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the walled enclosure of Monte Real protected by the sea and flanked by a pine wood, this Parador rises up in a priviledge location. Regal drawing rooms with decorative features from other ages form a distinguished interior in which the spectacular stone staircase of the entrance hall stands out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Parador de Baiona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Baiona Hotel Baiona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing