We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We could not stop taking pictures”
Review of Parador de Baiona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parador de Baiona
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Baiona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We are so glad we included one night at this beautiful property during our short stay in Galicia. The hotel itself is beautiful, spacious and wears its history well. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. This Parador truly presents as a 5 star hotel. Our room was comfortable and spacious with a breathtaking view of the ocean. We spent much of our time walking around the grounds, including to the beach and could not stop taking pictures! We only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank debdono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

The views are difficult to beat: you are right on the water, on top of a cliff, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, literally across the Islas Cíes.

We had a huge, fantastic room (210) with windows on two sides, just above the bar patio (noise was never a problem; the only noise we could hear was the water when it rained).

Our bed was a bit too soft for our liking, but the staff took care of that to our satisfaction as soon as we told them.

Generally speaking, all the staff was friendly and professional -especially their concierges, always ready to help (and give useful advice).

Don't miss the main staircase leading up to the "Salón Condal" (the Duke's room), open only to guests, with a great balcony to sit and relax (both usually empty).

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Luisa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights while visiting family. The hotel is immediately impressive, as other reviewers have already stated. The walk around the walls provides stunning views, although notices do advise that you need to watch your step. Inside the hotel is equally as impressive, with rooms decorated in keeping with the building. Breakfast buffet had a good selection of hot and cold items. Food in the hotel bar and the Taverna provided a good variety and was well cooked. The service is a little laid back, but this did not spoil our experience and we would certainly stay here again if we were in the area. This is the first Parador we have stayed in and we are now keen to visit others.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This Parador is one of the most beautifully situated properties we have visited in the past 10 years. The location is idyllic. The area is wonderful. The ride from the Parador along the coast to Portugal is absolutely beautiful. The condition of the ancient Celtic Sites provide a significant view of that culture. I can't say enough about this location. The restaurant food was average however the wait staff out standing.

Room Tip: Be sure to obtain a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Fabulous location inside a fortress and on a promontory surrounded by beaches & coves. The Parador itself is modern and of the usual high standard - more expensive than most but still good value. The town has a small, old centre and a large marina. Certainly the best spot along this stretch of Montevedra's coast.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel even provides its own sight-seeing, occupying its rocky promontory, with battlements, beaches and footpaths. It looks the part of an old castle despite being quite modern, with huge airy rooms. Service is friendly, quiet and efficient. We thought menus looked dull and ate out except for the very good, generous and diverse breakfast. A really relaxing and enjoyable treat without breaking the bank (thanks to the 5-day card)

Room Tip: Buy the Parador 5-day card to get best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GrandpaTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Marvellous views, great service and dinner access to attractive footpaths along the fortress and ocean. Additionally, Baiona offers a wide choice of Tripadvisor recommended restaurants. A tour along the ocean to the south, takes you to the ruins of Celtic village, overlooking the Mina River into Portugal.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank theodeby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baiona
2.8 mi away
Talaso Atlantico
Talaso Atlantico
#1 of 1 in Oia
446 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Ababides
8.0 mi away
Pazo Los Escudos Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Nagari Boutique & Spa
6.7 mi away
Hotel Glasgow
Hotel Glasgow
#1 of 1 in Viladesuso
79 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pazo de Mendoza
Hotel Pazo de Mendoza
#6 of 7 in Baiona
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Baiona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Baiona

Address: Rua Arquitecto Jesus Valverde, 36300 Baiona, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of Pontevedra > Baiona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Baiona
Price Range: £70 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Baiona 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the walled enclosure of Monte Real protected by the sea and flanked by a pine wood, this Parador rises up in a priviledge location. Regal drawing rooms with decorative features from other ages form a distinguished interior in which the spectacular stone staircase of the entrance hall stands out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Parador de Baiona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Baiona Hotel Baiona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing